When are GAA people going to realise that this is not celebrating it is hooliganism and has to stop invading the pitch is someday soon going to lead to a disaster. tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 12/08/2010 13:04:15 744097 Link 0 |
hurler40 ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 12/08/2010 13:07:43 744103 Link 0 |
I thought the fences were removed in the first place for health and safety. Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 12/08/2010 13:12:22 744112 Link 0 |
tinrylandman MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13845 - 12/08/2010 13:13:57 744114 Link 0 |
tinrylandman ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 12/08/2010 13:18:49 744124 Link 0 |
Another thing strikes me on this. Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 12/08/2010 15:30:38 744365 Link 0 |
pitch invasions are dangerous, no doubt. regardless whether there built into the evacuation procedures in the advent of a fire or structure collapse or not they are dangerous. but its niave of the GAA to nit pick over this. one rule for croker and one for the rest wont work. obviously you cant stop people entering club pitches but if its going to work then they will have to do it from county grounds up. it wont work otherwise IMO. seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 12/08/2010 15:40:38 744380 Link 0 |
I disagree with fences of any kind inside sports groungs BUT put up BIG signs outside and inside Croke Park stating that "anyone who enters the field of play does so as their own risk and is not laible to claim against the GAA in event of an injury". Print these disclaimers on tickets and in the food outlets and concourses throughout the ground. I have no sympathy for anyone who pushes their way through other fans, stewards, guards to run on to the pitch tradition or no tradition. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9838 - 12/08/2010 15:42:59 744391 Link 0 |
cant understand you guys cavan man and tinryland man.just as well ye lot dont get to all ireland final day.fences and barriers belong to the past .interesting point that hill 16 is still terrace though. what will happen if dublin win all ireland.thousands heading for fence?this is another example of not listening to grass roots. hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 12/08/2010 15:47:40 744398 Link 0 |
Another thing strikes me on this. thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 12/08/2010 15:56:04 744417 Link 0 |
Of course spell the things correctly before putting them up, I blame these glasses. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9838 - 12/08/2010 16:01:12 744431 Link 0 |
I'm in two minds about the whole thing. Up until recently I was totally against the efforts to stop people from going onto the field. However, I think some of the constant plamás has sunk in by now. Cilldara_2000 (Kildare) - Posts: 57 - 12/08/2010 16:17:54 744462 Link 0 |
no matter who wins the all ireland of all the teams left (football and hurling) there is going to be an outpouring of emotion. a fence around the hill WONT stop an invasion. IF there was no pitch invasion - me thinks the gaa will have their big overhyped stage in center field surrounded by big signs with SPONSORS names across it - ya thats right, how much more will they get if that happens. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11945 - 12/08/2010 16:20:58 744472 Link 0 |
Derry_ledd hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1852 - 12/08/2010 16:28:22 744489 Link 0 |
doublehop roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 12/08/2010 16:29:06 744493 Link 0 |
yew_tree why does an outpouring of emotion have to mean a pitch invasion? Also I think you're a bit extreme with the them and us when it comes to the GAA. Are you not a member of the GAA yourself? doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 12/08/2010 16:47:51 744536 Link 0 |
Yew Tree makes another solid point. As well as insurance companies driving this, there are quite probably sponsers willing to pay big money to have their logos emblazoned all over the presentation. There's nothing wrong with that. But really, I don't think anybody should be naive enough to think that health and safety concerns are driving this campaign. Those may be secondery concerns, but money is likely to be the main motivator here. Like almost every other facet of life - it's all about the money. Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 12/08/2010 17:34:56 744609 Link 0 |
Was never at a concert in Croke Park but was at the Special Olympics ceremony. Is there not thousand of people on the pitch ton these occasions ? How do they exit the ground ? If the G.A.A. are worried about thousands exiting the ground onto Jones's Road then why not close this gate and direct supporters to another exit by the use of stewards and gardai at barriers ? Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 12/08/2010 18:14:22 744667 Link 0 |
Ehh, why is it just the Hill being fenced?........Is that stuipid orange building site mesh not placed all around the barrier to stop people in the stands from getting out too?......Ehh, I dont think the people in the stands just sit there quietly either after winning a championship final!!!!! Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/08/2010 18:46:49 744695 Link 0 |
Is there any of this health and safety craic at concerts? There is a hell of a lot more squashing, shoving and general danger at a big concert. What happens? The people who don't mind any of this go to the front, the people who slighly mind it hang back a bit and others who dont like it dont go at all. jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 13/08/2010 13:12:08 745259 Link 0 |