http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0811/1224276547634.html premierfan (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 12/08/2010 11:18:03 743937 Link 0 |
It will only be an issue when louth are playing P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 12/08/2010 11:21:57 743942 Link 0 |
there was never an issue with fans on the pitch until the last few years by where ireland has become an overhyped health and safety republic where before long everyone will be walking around wrapped in cotton wool. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11945 - 12/08/2010 11:28:04 743950 Link 0 |
Remember Mcgeeney when receiving Sam and he had to keep shouting " Get Back " some1s goona get hurt! think the GAA needed Kerry to win the all ireland this year as the fans wouldnt have the same pssion to go on the pitch or Tyrone probably! Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 622 - 12/08/2010 11:43:10 743974 Link 0 |
Premierfan, my view has changed over the last year. I was all in favour of crowds running on to Croker after the game - tradition and all that. jos33 (Dublin) - Posts: 243 - 12/08/2010 11:44:36 743976 Link 0 |
jos33 MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13845 - 12/08/2010 11:50:45 743982 Link 0 |
As much as I wouldn't like to see it, it does need to be done. If crowds continue to rush onto pitches, then sooner or later there will be an accident or god forbid a casualty At least the GAA are being proactive in this issue instead of the usual: waiting for something awful to happen first. 3SeptemberRoad (Kerry) - Posts: 99 - 12/08/2010 11:51:17 743984 Link 0 |
if we stop people driving on our roads we will prevent accidents, if we stop wearing levis we will prevent the deaths of cotton pickers, if we stop people going onto the pitch ocroke park we will stop some vauge accident in the future. better still close croker and the world will be a safer place! ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 12/08/2010 11:58:24 743994 Link 0 |
ochonlir MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13845 - 12/08/2010 12:04:07 743999 Link 0 |
Well said Yew Tree. Insurance companies drive all this health and safety stuff in order to maximise profits. Profits are the issue here, and peoples safety is only a factor insofar as it impacts on profits. Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 12/08/2010 12:08:04 744005 Link 0 |
As Bravado as it sounds if Monaghan won the All-Ireland ( I know its wishful thinking!), I would only feel it right to run onto the pitch as would many of our supporters...My father was at the Massive Down All-Ireland in the 60s which had a record attendance...Its part of the GAA culture to run onto the pitch glorifying our footballers....Is the GAA starting to lose its identity??? MonsFreshPrince (Monaghan) - Posts: 83 - 12/08/2010 12:12:25 744008 Link 0 |
MesAmis you are right that people on the pitch dont have to exit using Jones Road but I read that they nearly all tend to. I know that Jones Road gets very congested even before games. jos33 (Dublin) - Posts: 243 - 12/08/2010 12:16:07 744012 Link 0 |
jos33 MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13845 - 12/08/2010 12:21:02 744025 Link 0 |
I think it's an excellent article which at last points out that at the end of the day the responsibility lies with us the supporters to do the right thing and stay off the pitch. I doubt anyone who was in Cardiff for the Grand Slam victory last year or say in Gaints Stadium in '94 had their enjoyment of being present at the event ruined by the fact they didn't run onto the pitch afterwards. Anyone who talks about Nanny state rules or this being overblown health and safety nonsense is way off the mark. We are talking about 82,000 people in a very small and built up area. The last line is definitely right time for us all to grow up. doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 12/08/2010 12:31:22 744052 Link 0 |
People seem to forget that it was overcrowding and dilapidated facilities that caused these disasters. It's unfortunate that the view from hill 16 will be impaired because a few juveniles, drunks, and half wits want to run out on the pitch.... somebody mentioned tradition?.... tradition me a***e! Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 12/08/2010 12:35:13 744058 Link 0 |
Surely it is safer to allow fans on to the field in some sort of orderly fashion then to try hold back a huge crowd. That is where any injuries will occur. The GAA are going to have to compromise on this. Either that or stop treating their fans like free thinking human beings like the soccer authorities do. roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 12/08/2010 12:35:20 744060 Link 0 |
The GAA are going to have to compromise? They have already compromised by retaining the Hill as a terrace when safety concerns demanded it be seated. Also if you've been to stadiums outside this country they don't go for this city centre location because they realise the dangers involved. they build a big stadium with a lot of space and car parking around it out on the edge of town. That we have held on to the sacred turf of Croker and that fans have the option of a terrace are compromise enough. It's a sad-state of affairs that a fence needs to be built but it's not the GAA's fault that fans keep trying to get on the pitch and cause the confusion that follows. doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 12/08/2010 12:51:02 744084 Link 0 |
This country is gone health and safety mad dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 12/08/2010 12:54:27 744087 Link 0 |
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 12/08/2010 12:57:25 744093 Link 0 |
How dare ye suits in croke park try and fence patrons of gaa in like animals .after hillsborough mckensie report called for removal of all bariers in interest of crowd safety.leinster final problems were a unique set of events likely to never occur againn.those fans who threw bottles belong to another code and jumped on louth bandwagon.For some time highly paid members of stadium croke park have been calling for fences,wonder why?are they real gaa people or are they only interested in balance sheets to justify huge salarys.we have had to endure soccer and rugby promoting their games for last few years using our croke park to do so at expence of our own codes.heads in crokepark should be more concerned with development of gaa than killing our traditions.as a boy coming onto pitch was the thrill of lifetime. please dont destroy our tradition. hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 12/08/2010 12:58:23 744094 Link 0 |