Tipperary - Greatest hurling county of all time?

Noel Skehan has won 9. They all count. The record holder.
Puddersthecat , 11/08/2010 at 16:29

I disagree pudderscat he couldnt make the team all the experts dont count his 3 they only count Doyles and Rings as they won them on the pitch Skehan never even touched the sliothar to win those 3 and Doyle retired after Ring even though he had the chance to win his 9th as a sub but out of respect for ring he chose that option!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 11/08/2010 16:39:03    743442

Thurles...did you see our Minors on Sunday? Meowwwwwwwww

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 11/08/2010 16:39:17    743443

what a great achievement by Tipp

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 11/08/2010 16:41:35    743445

thurlesblues
County: Tipperary

742140 Tipperary are the only hurling county to win an All Ireland in every decade since the GAA began.
Now can any of the other hurling counties say that.
Also Declan Ryan of Tipperary won an All Ireland medal in 3 decades!!

That will end this year

snowchance10 (USA) - Posts: 149 - 11/08/2010 16:42:38    743448

Tipp are rubbish. They haven't even won 30 all irelands.
PROC_Hurler , 11/08/2010 at 16:36
I think yer the ones who are rubbish Proc after the hammering ye got last Sunday yer a laughing stock an embarassment to cork hurling and Gerald McCarthys words came home to roost after yer ridiculous striking by a team thats over the hill long ago! And dont mention May 31st I told you we were not interested our focus is September not May!! In the history of hurling games between Cork and Tipp ye have beaten us 2 times more than ye have beaten us so if wer rubbish so are ye,but when we are not good enough we dont start striking and blaming our inadequacies on our manager! Yer finished for another 7 years my man at least

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 11/08/2010 16:43:13    743449

Tipp are rubbish. They haven't even won 30 all irelands.
PROC_Hurler , 11/08/2010 at 16:36

I bet wel have 30 won before ye win yer 31st PROC wel have 26 this year!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 11/08/2010 16:45:05    743454

Thurles...did you see our Minors on Sunday? Meowwwwwwwww
Puddersthecat , 11/08/2010 at 16:39

Yes I did puddersthecat ye were up against nothing
tha Galway keeper was a disgrace

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 11/08/2010 16:47:21    743458

thurlesblues

742140 Tipperary are the only hurling county to win an All Ireland in every decade since the GAA began.
Now can any of the other hurling counties say that.
Also Declan Ryan of Tipperary won an All Ireland medal in 3 decades!!

That will end this year
snowchance10 , 11/08/2010 at 16:42

I dont understand this point as wev already won one last decade and this decade is starting whats your point??

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 11/08/2010 16:50:36    743465

thurlesblues

looks like Johns Doyles and rings 8 all ireland medals record wont be broken or even equalled now!

I think he is after Skehan's record of NINE medals.
10/08/2010 20:16:08

Skehan won 3 of his on the bench get your facts right!

I won mine on the bench, it is still an all Ireland medal the same as the others, it doesn't say "on the bench" on the back of it.

Unless it says that on Jimmy Doyle's 6th, in 1971.................................

back to school.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/08/2010 18:44:58    743621

That's it Pat get him going I think he's afraid of you... yourself and slayer have the knowledge to pick him to bits....

Thurlesblue makes out he played for tipp minor in the early 80's yet seems to know little about tipperary hurling (the little they did) in the time frame.... I don't know if i was playing against teams with the likes of nicky english and pat fox (minor around then too) they's pop into my posts at some stage... that lads a spoofer!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 11/08/2010 19:09:50    743641

That's it Pat get him going I think he's afraid of you... yourself and slayer have the knowledge to pick him to bits....

I can't pretend to know anywhere near as much historically as Patrique, he certainly is able to quote facts from every decade, not just one or two.

A lot of what thurlesblues says is hilarious, but does not add up. Remember a lot of what he says could have been picked up in pub talk, wikipedia or google. While I love the never ending defending of Tipp & proclamation that Tipp are the greatest hurling county of all time, his mantra has become a little tiresome. A good comedian always needs new material ...............

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6488 - 11/08/2010 19:16:25    743650

tb as Hag and Cheese rightly points out only deals in ifs,we could keep reeling off facts if we were that way inclined,but the genuine people dont boast about what their counties or players have won,no more than the players themselves dont talk about what they have won

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 540 - 11/08/2010 20:31:01    743715

Thurlesblues and PROC have finally met! Could be interesting. Neither know what they are on about. They deal in librarian stuff, quoting stat after stat without demonstrating any knowledge or understanding of the game.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 12/08/2010 08:09:55    743802

I was wondering if we should also take into account the All Ireland Club Championships as well, seeing as though the clubs appear to be the heartbeat of the GAA - please don't shoot down me in flames I'm a relative newcomer to the GAA and just wondered how important this was in such arguments of greatness.

From what I can tell the most successful clubs in this are from Leinster (Ballyhale - 5 and Birr - 4) and the Tipp as a county only have 3.

There are actually 2 Kilkenny clubs with 3 or more as James Stephens also have 3 I think.

Stujey (Dublin) - Posts: 11 - 12/08/2010 09:10:47    743831

Watch out Dell, Thurlesblues is on your tail, 29 posts out of 71 on one thread, unbelievable.

Thankfully Patrique continually makes a show of him.

Sisco87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 759 - 12/08/2010 09:25:03    743837

we may have been the greatest hurling county 40 years ago but not anymore despite our poor all ireland record in the last few decades the game is in a healthy state in tipp hopefully the seniors and under 21s can get into the final this year it would be great even to win one of them

moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 12/08/2010 10:00:25    743864

Name be the bad tipp teams that have beaten kilkenny teams in finals!!!

Also how dose 2002 not have any think to do with it there still a lot players in and around the kilkenny panel that played back then I think there were 8 or nine in 2003 alone not sure about the panel Kilkenny lads might be able to answear that also the same manager.... therefore part of the basis of the 5 in a row challenging team.....

Get your twisted logic around that!!!
10/08/2010 21:16:13
hags and cheese the tipp team in 1971 were a poor team and still beat the cats

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 12/08/2010 13:27:10    744142

hags and cheese I didnt play minor with Nicky but I played the year before with Noel Sheehy and Colm Bonnar are ye all satisfied now!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 12/08/2010 13:32:25    744159

I wonder what hags and cheese will have to say for himself when Tipp win the senior and u 21 all irelands I wonder will there be a humble admission of nonsense and hot air from him??

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 12/08/2010 13:34:29    744162

I wonder will there be a humble admission of nonsense and hot air from him??

ha ha might as well be seeing as we don't get one from you :-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6488 - 12/08/2010 13:42:54    744175