Hill 16 to be fenced in

Thanks to no help from you Fitzerb!!

Down Exile (Down) - Posts: 214 - 11/08/2010 09:25:49    742825

Why not make the Hill all seater. Why allow any risk at all. The bit about having a terrace for the atmosphere is nonsense. I went to a match in London a few years, it was a cracking match, a great atmosphere, the score ended 6-4, cant remember to whom, but excellent value for money and a thrilling contest and above all it was safe. With a terrace you could still have a bore of a match, though unlikely in Gaelic Games admittedly, and have thrilling games too of course but its not safe, with all seater you can have bores to be sure but also thrilling matches and it is safe. it is a no brainer
luke

lukekehoe (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 11/08/2010 09:52:22    742851

Cavan_Slasher

If there was a procedure where people were allowed onto the pitch in an orderly fashion after the final.....................say if the Dubs win...................the euphoria of the occasion will take over !!

Contradicting yourself there i think. IMO pitch invasions have to be stopped. Quite simply, there is no way of allowing people onto the pitch in an orderly fashion as pitch invasions are all disorderly and chaotic. You are right, the euphoria of the occasion does take over and that is why it is highly dangerous. A stampede of people all tryin to get onto the pitch as quickly as possible?? It has to be stopped

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 11/08/2010 10:29:05    742885

Every time there is a pitch invasion, pick a randomer and fine them. Then pick another randomer and fine them. If you fine enough randomers, they'll eventually learn their lesson.
Do it from round 1, get the Gardai or PSNI to enforce it as a public order offence or some safety issue and don't let people off. That way, the message seeps through.

The AFL had a similar problem. They introduced and enforced a fine for pitch invaders during or after games and now, miraculously, the problem has gone away.

also, the barriers aren't a problem. Have been to 3 games in Germany where they still use barriers to control crowds and there is no trouble. A mix of seating and barriers is the way to go - especially around those savages in the ridiculous Hill16. I wish they just get rid of it and finish the stadium!!

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 11/08/2010 10:33:46    742890

What happens when the people in Hill 16 on All-Ireland final day see people from other parts of the ground getting on the pitch. This will cause a lot of anger and frustration and make the stewards and gardai's job even harder to try to deal with the crowd. Its bad enough that people in the lower end of the Hill will now have a poor view thanks to this fence going up. I find it nuts that the GAA have said that its mainly the hill 16 crowd that push onto the field when its much easier for the crowds from the stands to get on. You'll have people trying to bypass the gates and simply hop over the sides of the stand - knocking into other people as they do so.

Another irish solution to an irish problem

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 11/08/2010 10:41:00    742898

LUKEKEHOE

your miles awa bud comparing to soccer as at thos soccer matches the 1s who create the atmosphere are actually standing it may have seats but they dont sit in them they stand up and if lazy people like you that ant stand and watch a match for 70 minutes have people standing up in front of them on hill16 if it were seated would then be complaining about that.the hill is the best thing about croke park even tyrone people agreed with that ater the match the last day so why dont you try standing on it for a massive 70 minutes and witness the atmosphere

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2010 11:56:55    742979

diablodekingdom

do i scent sour grapes.savages in hill16 finish the stadium please would you listen to yourself the hill makes croke park ye dont have a right to talk as kerry people only turned up there if they get to the final.you sound like somebody who is jealous of the dubs having a support base unlike your on county

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2010 11:59:42    742985

From what i saw the Louth fans that attacked the ref came from the canal end, cusack & hogan parts of the ground.

Makes a mockery of fencing 'just the hill '

Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 11/08/2010 12:02:17    742987

some people on here sound as bad as the gaa staements that hill16 leads the pitch invasions and the rest follow,that sounds like a 5year old child being easily led like seriously are the people in the stands sheep when the hill goes they follow if your going to put a barrier up it in the intrest of fairness it should be te whole way around the stadium and not just in front of the hill.i didnt see them rushing to put up a barrier in front of the terraces in castlebar after what happened at the connaught final why do they never comment on that there was supporters actually fighting on the pitch but no talk of fencing them in

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2010 12:05:05    742995

well said meath bhoy.what is going to stop them same areas of the ground doing the same thing on allireland final day or is it allowed for people from the stands to invade the pitch are they nothing going to be a risk to safety

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/08/2010 12:09:14    743001

Meath_bhoy

742987 From what i saw the Louth fans that attacked the ref came from the canal end, cusack & hogan parts of the ground.

If I told you once I told you a thousand times - dont exaggerate

Louth fans didn't attack the ref! They did some sort of lunatic breakdance which involved flailing, charging about, air shoulder charges and pulling faces, actually it was like a bad thriller remake!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 11/08/2010 12:39:28    743040

Louth fans didn't attack the ref! They did some sort of lunatic breakdance which involved flailing, charging about, air shoulder charges and pulling faces, actually it was like a bad thriller remake!

Hahahaha....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/08/2010 13:19:41    743090

the gaa said the reason they are fencing off hill16 is because they believe that if they stop people from the hill then everyone will stay where they are. the simple fact is that is not going to happen. i cant see any supporter caring if people from hill 16 are running onto the pitch or not.

WICKLOW.DUDE (Wicklow) - Posts: 28 - 11/08/2010 13:27:54    743102

Sorry jimbo I'm wrong i couldn't put me finger on it till now!

It was the louth Version of the HAKA

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 11/08/2010 14:38:01    743210

hill16no1man

diablodekingdom

do i scent sour grapes.savages in hill16 finish the stadium please would you listen to yourself the hill makes croke park ye dont have a right to talk as kerry people only turned up there if they get to the final.you sound like somebody who is jealous of the dubs having a support base unlike your on county

Fair enough the Dubs do go to a lot of games, but then again, you'd probably get a lot more Kerry fans travelling to Croke Park if it was in Tralee. You'd also probably get more people from Donegal going to matches if Croker was in Ballybofey and more Mayo lads would show up if it was in Castlebar. Unusually, the stadium being in your own county makes it easier for you to get there, so don't give me that lark about "only turning up for the final". On the day of a match, it takes 5+ hours to get from Kerry to Dublin and 5 hours back. The Dubs can barely be on time when they have to walk from Drumcondra.

The hill does not "make" Croke Park. As far as I can see Hill 16 tickets are the bottom of the barrel for every game apart from Dublin games. On all-ireland final day last year, you couldn't give them away. Most of the sound on match days comes down from the stands - or to put it another way, from to 70,00 people NOT in Hill 16.

And yes, finish the stadium. It should be completed all the way around and there should be a seats in the hill plus a dart station somewhere in the stadium to help us poor culchies get to the trains so we can go home....

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 11/08/2010 16:06:40    743381

who are you callin' a culchie?

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 12/08/2010 12:20:52    744023

ochonlir

744023 who are you callin' a culchie?

I'd imagine culchies

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13819 - 12/08/2010 12:29:22    744047

Meath_bhoy

742987 From what i saw the Louth fans that attacked the ref came from the canal end, cusack & hogan parts of the ground.

Jaysus you are some whinger...wat age are you...10...

Sludden was no more attacked...you sound like you watch to many Westerns Ahhh they came in from the back ..then the left...wipeout...yeehah...

Stick to finding wheres Wolly will ye

MonsFreshPrince (Monaghan) - Posts: 83 - 12/08/2010 12:30:53    744051

MonsFreshPrince
County: Monaghan

744051 Meath_bhoy

Jaysus you are some whinger...wat age are you...10...

Sludden was no more attacked...you sound like you watch to many Westerns Ahhh they came in from the back ..then the left...wipeout...yeehah...

Stick to finding wheres Wolly will ye

?????????????????????

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 12/08/2010 12:40:11    744065

The GAA should hold their heads in shame, they are dancing to the beat of the PAID officals in Croke Park who dont want to have to deal with pitch invasions at all, and they used this attack on Sludden which was thoroughly deserved by the way!) as an excuse to put up unsafe fencing on the Hill, which has been proven to be alot less safe than pitch invasions.
The whole episode proves the fact that they are not concerned with crowd safety at all but just dn't want the hassle of putting on extra training and stewarts to deal with a pitch invasion safely

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 12/08/2010 12:46:53    744075