Hill 16 to be fenced in

I really dont understand why people are so desperate to run onto the pitch after the match.

If people stay off the pitch there will be no need for a fence. It is quite simple. I think the players give up so much, i think the least supporters can do is give the players and squad the time to enjoy their moment. I usually go to the Hill / Nally and dont run on to the pitch. i think most people would stay in their seat or terrace if that was the majority were doing. People on this website are supposed to be GAA supporters, if you really support your team, you would allow them to have a lap of honour. Simple solution, stay off the pitch = no fence = lap of honour and prolonged celebrations, its a win win situation.

dublass (Dublin) - Posts: 25 - 08/08/2010 20:14:57    740230

God for bid there was an incident the G.A.A will have some explaining to do.Hopefully it never happens though...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 08/08/2010 20:18:45    740234

as usual the gaa blame hill16.first you get searched and have to pass bout 50 stewards and garda to get into the the hill why dont people in the stands get the same harrassment on there way into the stadium.now they put a fence up in front of the smallest section in croke park and say that its going to stop pitch invasions,will it not block peoples view off watching the match like? next he will move the all ireland finals to pairc ui chaoimh so he wont have to travel up to hand over the cup

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/08/2010 20:53:17    740276

loyal its not about overcrowding, its the fact that in a big match like the final, the there will inevitably be a surge to get onto the pitch at the final whistle and with no way to get out there will of course be a crush.

Gandalf (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 08/08/2010 21:01:00    740286

Annoyed by this decision. As an Tyroneman/Ulsterman I'd be supporting Down for the rest of the championship however after this farce I would nearly hope the Dubs win the all-ireland and there is a massive pitch invasion led by the Hill.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 09/08/2010 09:35:35    740416

Louth get to a final for the first time in 50 odd yrs..and what happens, a few idiot Louth supporters have the rest of the country suffer in their All Ireland celebrations..more tragic is Louth probably wont be in another final for another 50 yrs.. yet the reprecussions of their fans actions are going to be felt for yrs to come!..my cousin won an All Ireland with Meath, and said meeting members of his family on the field right after full time whistle are memories he will never forget..shame its gone!

maco (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 09/08/2010 09:40:45    740418

The manager of Croke Park was on the radio this morning. His main concern is that people coming on to the pitch from the hill leave via jonses road and that too many people will be using that exit. This seems to nail the concerns around people getting injured going onto the pitch itsel and is more of a logistics issue. if this is the case then surely a process for sheperdinfg people to different exits could be designed and if explained properly could be a success and we could end the moaning

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 09/08/2010 10:04:02    740448

Truth is Croke Park has not been designed for 20,000 people on the pitch after a match otherwise they would have a different exiting and design strategy. It is a real problem at the Jones Road side after a big match as there is just not enough space to deal with the crowds coming out there. The Guards are already trying to direct people from the Nally and Hill away from the main exits from the Hogan stand with little success. There was real problems here last year and some people were crushed.

The Leinster final problem is a 'Red Herring' and has nothing to do with supporters on the Hill. Croke Park know if they box in the Hill the normal exits can take the crowds that come on the field from the Lower stands. Quite simple really. Its just a pity that they are using the Louth supporters as a scapegoat to try to push throught this crowd control problem that is ongoing.

Fining supporters wont work in Ireland as it does in Oz as we're all mad. Insurance claims are the main issue GAA HQ are worried about. The Fence is going up lads...they've started.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 748 - 09/08/2010 10:47:41    740487

no matter if they think it will work or not it is still blaming an area of the ground that holds 15 thousand for a pitch invasion the stadium holds 82 thousand how is it going to stop the other 67thousand from getting onto the pitch if you are going to erect a barrier it should be in front of the stands aswell but as usual the hill gets treated unfairly

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2010 10:52:23    740494

ninajaysmith

so u are saying its fair to let people from the stands onto the pitch as it will be safer and not people from the hill.there will be over 60thousand on the pitch if thats the case surely that idea will be a risk to peoples health and officials safety just as much as if the people from the hill getting on the pitch

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2010 11:02:25    740513

I agree with dublass. Scenes after Dublin won in 1976 and 1983 were amazing. No-one could get onto the pitch and the team went around pitch afterwards. Was only kid on Hill in '76 but it's one of my best memories.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 09/08/2010 11:17:10    740536

Wont work. Whichever of the four remaining teams goes on to win Sam will be out on the pitch and they fully deserve it too. I can understand somewhat why the G.A.A. are doing it but speaking just for Kildare alone, after our disappointment 12 years ago the people of the county will not be able to stop themselves from entering the pitch should they win. I may be wrong but i highly doubt I am. just let it happen

Rattler2010 (Kildare) - Posts: 117 - 09/08/2010 11:29:11    740552

hill16no1man

740494 no matter if they think it will work or not it is still blaming an area of the ground that holds 15 thousand for a pitch invasion the stadium holds 82 thousand how is it going to stop the other 67thousand from getting onto the pitch if you are going to erect a barrier it should be in front of the stands aswell but as usual the hill gets treated unfairly

hill16no1man - at least half that number are in the upper levels therefore cannot get onto the pitch anyway (unless they brought the climbing gear with them). So that leaves 33.5k most of whom have the manners to do what they are asked.

decks013 (Tyrone) - Posts: 87 - 09/08/2010 11:52:28    740586

noe does anyone think if dublin win the AI that a scabby little fence will stop the hill invading the pitch me thinks not i can see it getting pulled down and it will cause mayhem and the gaa will be fully to blame along with the louth people

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 09/08/2010 11:54:43    740591

The Louth people who entered the pitch after the Leinster Final did not do so from Hill 16 so there is no point in blaming them. The fencing issue has nothing to do with Louth at all. The G.A.A. are putting up the fence for safety issues as after the last few A.I. Finals there were too many people, who had been on the field, exiting the stadium by Jones Road which led to dangerous congestion outside. Hill 16 is being targeted because this is the area which leads the way in these pitch invasions and they probably feel that if they can prevent patrons from this area getting onto the field then people from the stands will not go onto the field either.

The dangers of a crush on Hill 16 is an other issue entirely and something which needs to be talked about. This probably would not occur if the crowd on Hill 16 could be convinced that they were better staying on it and that the winning team would bring the cup to them, but i doubt it will happen !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 09/08/2010 12:08:51    740613

hill16no1man

There'll be at most 20,000 on the pitch. People from the Upper levels, premium won't have access, as well as that the beaten fianlists supporters aren't going to want to come onto the pitch.

The question is still there. Why the Hill?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13803 - 09/08/2010 12:57:13    740682

If they are going to fence it in why dont they fence it all.

Is it the plebs they want to fence in?

Years ago they had the Hill fenced in too. The Canal End was terraced at that time and it also was fenced(with barbed wire etc.)
Yet I do recall supporters scaling those fence.
I dont know if the Cusack was fenced but the Hogan was never fenced.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 09/08/2010 13:05:11    740694

MesAmis

740682 hill16no1man

There'll be at most 20,000 on the pitch. People from the Upper levels, premium won't have access, as well as that the beaten fianlists supporters aren't going to want to come onto the pitch.

The question is still there. Why the Hill?

I highlighted the reason why above.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 09/08/2010 13:06:45    740696

Putting up fences will lead to deaths. Simple as

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 09/08/2010 13:11:36    740702

delboydub

does anyone think if dublin win the AI that a scabby little fence will stop the hill invading the pitch me thinks not i can see it getting pulled down and it will cause mayhem

Thats when the snipers sitting on the roof of the cusack and hogan stands will get the signal to pick off anyone entering the field

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 09/08/2010 13:21:49    740723