Hill 16 to be fenced in

Not a good idea at all.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/08/2010 19:09:15    739516

Scenario lads -- Hill 16 crowd is fenced in and prevented from getting onto the field BUT people from all other areas where there is no fencing rush onto the field. I can see a push to cross the fence and a crush ensuing where many people at the front are crushed. Add on the fact that many late comers to the Hill have a lot of drink on board and a team like Dublin that has not won Sam since 1995 and what do you have -- catastrophe !!

P.S. This is not an anti Dub post. They would have the most supporters in Hill 16 and thats why i mention them !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/08/2010 19:26:20    739537

Joseff thats one sick post.Your such a ( D**K)...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 07/08/2010 19:38:12    739546

I really hope they know what theyre doing here. Irish people seem to have a real problem with laws and this may just make people even more determined to get onto the pitch. All it takes is enough idiots to try and push their way onto the pitch and there could be a real disaster. God help us if anything like that ever happens

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 07/08/2010 19:41:00    739550

I was gonna post something about putting a cage around the hill including overhead so that the dubs couldnt climb out. Then i read Joseff's post. Genuinely sickened at the visiousness of it. Sick, sick post

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 07/08/2010 19:44:13    739553

CAVAN SLASHER good point if it was fenced off and the dubs did win they would go mental to get on to the pitch it would be total chaos.

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 07/08/2010 19:48:45    739562

its good for employment

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 07/08/2010 19:49:18    739564

This is a crazy idea, have they even looked into the option of getting people onto the pitch safely, like making an announcment near the end that everyone will be allowed onto the pitch in due time and asking for fans to have a little patience and then the stewarts could open the gates.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 07/08/2010 19:51:44    739571

I never said what sort of gas to be put in. I was going along the lines of Hydrogen, this would solve all the terrible accents

Yours In Sport,
Joseff

joseff (Louth) - Posts: 964 - 07/08/2010 20:06:23    739591

why not fence the whole place in

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/08/2010 20:17:55    739603

whiterbannnas

739553 I was gonna post something about putting a cage around the hill including overhead so that the dubs couldnt climb out. Then i read Joseff's post. Genuinely sickened at the visiousness of it. Sick, sick post

Yeah, I liked it too!

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 07/08/2010 20:32:37    739623

Terrible idea wont keep supporters off,ive been going to parnell park for most of my 16 years.Gates opened at half time and full time never seen anyone get injured

dubs4eva (Dublin) - Posts: 484 - 07/08/2010 20:39:56    739633

Whats the thinking for putting it "railway end" only. GAA decision makers must have their eyes closed after games if they think that this is going to sort out pitch invasions. It will reduce the amount of people by about 15%, therefore having no real effect on the fact that the pitch will be invaded as they come from all sides. Crazy decision as it labels the people in the standing areas as animals wheras it assumes that the people in the stands wont invade. By in large these are the same people who could have ended up with a ticket anywhere.

Also, it'll bleedin f**k up my view!!!!!

Podge8395 (Dublin) - Posts: 38 - 07/08/2010 20:44:11    739638

They will be more accidents if they go ahead with this stupid plan.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/08/2010 21:38:16    739694

For the Football final last year did they not just open the gates?

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1847 - 07/08/2010 21:53:03    739716

Dellboypolecat,

I agree with you as it is anti Dublin !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/08/2010 21:58:25    739727

This Idea is a joke and a great tradition has been ended. Certain posters always say invasions are all fun and games until someone gets hurt blah blah well that never happened until these clowns from Louth were allowed to play in a final. We'll see how quickly a person gets injured on that fence. God forbid a Dublin win with that cage on the pitch. This idea disgusts me, the people are the GAA and we get caged in, in our stadium that we bought and paid for? Disgrace, disgrace, disgrace, that has made me so angry.

I remember the 95 final there was a man watching from the roof of the Nally Stand, nobody batted an eyelid, normal behaviour. ireland in 2010 is soft and has wrapped itself in cotton wool. The young lads moving to London these days are soft and wont last in a city of 10 million. This halth and safety fence ncapsulates all that and frankly make me feel sick.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 08/08/2010 08:12:18    739736

I dont agree with a fence, but i think it was 2002 when Dublin won a leinster and there was a fence on the hill. I am not a fan of the idea of a fence, but i felt the celebrations for the players and fans went on way longer. Laps of honour, cheering and singing from the hill. I absolutley loved it. With pitch invasions, i feel it is an an anti climax.
Pitch invasions =Collect the cup and that is it.
No pitch invasions = collect cup, head back to do lap of honour, loads of cheering and singing. Much better craic.

I dont understand how most people dont figure out how much more fun it is NOT to invade the pitch. But i am not a fan of the fence but maybe it will maybe show people how much longer the celebrations can go on.

dublass (Dublin) - Posts: 25 - 08/08/2010 10:48:10    739769

As much and all as I like to go onto a pitch after a game, there are health and safety fears. Also, people on the Hogan stand, especially the upper tiers don't really get a view of the Cup presentations.
Players should be allowed to take in a lap of honour. Australia I believe do have legislation and anyone that comes onto the pitch can be fined. If that was brought in with Croke Park it would act as a deterrent.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8867 - 08/08/2010 11:03:39    739775

I would not like to be the poor Garda or official trying to take names of all those who invade the pitch after an All-Ireland Final. You would need a few to carry that notebook !! As for wrong names etc !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 08/08/2010 11:39:06    739795