United Ireland? Yes or No

PomeroyPlunkett

No im not towing the line, you're right. And your correct on the state of the Irish economy as well. That however, is as far as me and you will ever agree. But I dont see any room for optimism at the moment regarding the economy. Taxes will undoubtedly go up for higher income earners, and this will be required to plug the massive hole in the public finances. People talk about a recovery, Cowen and co talk about the negativity of the media etc, the truth is this country is NOT turning a corner. Tax takes are down month after month, jobs are still being lost, and our brightest young graduates are forced abroad to work. You see if Anglo had of been let sink, the billions going into it now could be used to shore up the other banks. I think Anglo is getting around 25bn. In about 9 months our entire GDP is worth around 25bn. So what do you do? You cant expect public servants to work for nothing, thats why we're borrowing massive sums of money to finance current spending, which is an extremely dangerous thing to do. Anglo should have been let go. They wer'nt lending to the ordinary man on the street, most Irish people had nothing to do with the bank, they were specialist property lenders among a select few. However we're burdened with this soviet style bailout, and as long as taxpayers money is going to the banks, and not back into the economy, we'll be as we are for quite some time.

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 09/08/2010 15:56:19    740966

The northern boys are so smart and hip they could buy and sell the 'free staters'

Bigapple (Kerry) - Posts: 495 - 09/08/2010 16:09:05    740987

Wests_Awake

740547 YES. A united 32 county Ireland. An in my lifetime please.

I hope your in your early teens and leading a very healthy lifestyle

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/08/2010 16:13:00    740992

Hurlinspuds I don't know what you're struggling with. Ideologically I support a united Ireland, I think it's right that Ireland is one country. However I'm much better off financially living in the UK. If you still can't quite grasp what I'm saying let me know and I'll try to explain further :)

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 09/08/2010 18:08:14    741143

Just noticed this thread lads,and although a lot of Unionists would have mellowed in their attitude towards Ireland it still at this time would be a firm no to a united Ireland.

jackieblue (Antrim) - Posts: 521 - 10/08/2010 10:55:12    741567

jackieblue

741567 Just noticed this thread lads,and although a lot of Unionists would have mellowed in their attitude towards Ireland it still at this time would be a firm no to a united Ireland.

Yes jackie but what about Pemropy Plunketts aspirations to have a United Ireland within the bosom of the United Kingdom. Surely a win win for everyone? We can be there location of choice for stagg parties and in return we get a nice subsistence and cushy public sector jobs for all?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/08/2010 11:07:56    741602

As it stands

No

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/08/2010 11:08:39    741604

What about the reunifcation of Meath?

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 10/08/2010 11:23:14    741622

Pomeroy, your words:
"Facts speak for themselves. I hope the few years of indulgences and reckless spending were worth the misery that is currently the norm down there and will be for the foreseeable future. Thank God I'm not a part of it is all I'll say." I presume by it you mean the republic? Oh yeah, you're a nationalist alright.
You then stated: "As for the question, I think a united Ireland is on the cards but thankfully never in our lifetime. The ROI is a complete and utter shambles, every single aspect of the UK is better." Every aspect or just economics? A fine nationalist.
And finally: "abhainn I'm well aware the North is dependant on Westminster. That's why I don't want to leave. What ROI wouldn't give to be subsidised by Westminster now eh." I wouldn't take a cent off of them as ireland, but you're obviously happy to do so. I live in the UK and am happy to do so with great people and i'm grateful for work but there's a difference emigration and surrendering your sovereignty.

Please read these lines and tell me if you're a nationalist/republican. And for the last time: This thread did NOT ask about economics. It asked if you were for or against uniting ireland. You said you're for it but you also said the lines above. So what is it pomeroy?!
I hope it's not law you're studying.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 10/08/2010 11:48:11    741653

Yes. Anyone who has said no is a sell-out in my book and have caused a lot of people to spin in their graves.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 10/08/2010 12:01:43    741683

Brolly
County: Monaghan

741683 Yes. Anyone who has said no is a sell-out in my book and have caused a lot of people to spin in their graves.

Its the your kind that have brought the country to the position it is in today.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/08/2010 12:06:41    741699

paddyogall

741699 Brolly
County: Monaghan

741683 Yes. Anyone who has said no is a sell-out in my book and have caused a lot of people to spin in their graves.

Its the your kind that have brought the country to the position it is in today.

Not even getting into an argument with 'your' kind either paddy u sell out. Its my answer to the thread question.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 10/08/2010 12:11:49    741710

right ok .. i have heard a lot on here about wanting a united ireland , the fact is people past and present have fought and died and languished in prisons like kilmainham , h.blocks , portloais. .. so on and so forth and paid the ultimate price for the unification of this country .. lokk at our sports our music and culture .. its thriving , the passsion that is shown is a testament and steely determination as a people and a nation .
we should always take into consideration and thought about the sacrificies that have been made .. so we would have a better ireland united and free .. and always remember the people befores us u were never afraid and stand up and be counted against injustices that have been committed ... i will also say be proud of our nation or people our culture and sports , and be never afraid to say u want a united ireland .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 10/08/2010 12:31:43    741742

hurlinspuds

What is the link between Nationalism and Republicanism

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/08/2010 13:30:19    741823

ta32

741742 right ok .. i have heard a lot on here about wanting a united ireland , the fact is people past and present have fought and died and languished in prisons like kilmainham , h.blocks , portloais. .. so on and so forth and paid the ultimate price for the unification of this country .. lokk at our sports our music and culture .. its thriving

What is OUR music and culture.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/08/2010 13:31:50    741826

No.

Hanley2 (Longford) - Posts: 420 - 10/08/2010 13:46:21    741864

They're separate. Republicanism is an ideology that promotes anti-monarchism, equality, and democracy. It accepts all people in the nation, regardless of creed or colour. Nationalism is a form of self identity, pride in the nation, its people, and its culture/heritage. With nationalism comes a form of hostility to foreign intervention in your country.

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 10/08/2010 14:05:05    741899

Okay Hurlinspuds you still don't understand but I'll persevere. Do I want a united Ireland? Yes. Do I want it at the minute with the mess the Republic is in? No. Am I glad that I'm currently part of the UK and not Ireland? Yes. If Ireland gets itself to a state where it can afford to accommodate the North would I support a united Ireland then? Yes. According to you I'm a Unionist, the first and only Unionist who ideologically is in favour a united Ireland it seems

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 10/08/2010 14:41:55    741974

Bigapple

I don't know if that was tongue in cheek or serious but I think you are kidding. Many in the South would buy and sell us Nordies in the wheeling/dealing and cute hoor stakes quite easily. I spend a lot of time in the 26 counties and hear quite a bit about rural neighbour land disputes, feuds, falling outs, yer man getting one over on him/her, jealousy, pettiness and all round badness. I was recently is a small rural village in Wickow and the amount of illegal building, planning disputes, infighting and family/neighbour fall outs was quite astounding. There is definately a different mindset between the two parts of the island but then again the same could be said I suppose between Dubs and rural folk, Donegal and Cork/Galway people. I have noticed though that in the 26 counties many people HATE their neighbour/ friends/even family doing well or better than themselves and there is an awful culture of self, self, self and greed. Ireland is definately the kingdom of jealousy and begrudgery.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 10/08/2010 14:43:00    741977

dhorse, i think scruffy explained it quite well for me.

Pomeroy, then the answer to the question for you is 'no', you are not in favour of a united ireland because you feel your pocket will lose out. You may change your mind when you are assured that you won't lose out financially. You're misleading this thread by saying yes. You can't have it every way. You want to stay "british" because it might cost you a few bob to reunite your country.

In the words of the great luke kelly: "For what died the sons of roisín, was it greed?"

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 10/08/2010 15:10:20    742051