United Ireland? Yes or No

Just for your information Paddy with regards to point 1 of your analysis.The pro-Uk majority is a manufactured majority incase you weren't aware.The country was partitioned in the first place with the threat of horrible violence against the whole of the Irish people,so why some of you feel the need to defend this abomination is beyond me,as it is not now and was not then,a just and democratic happening.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/08/2010 16:44:14    739347

what about a united great britain will yous take us back

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/08/2010 16:44:21    739348

seanie_boy

Firstly well done for the incredible feat of having five posts in a row. I have been here a long time and its the first time i have seen this Historic occurrence.

Secondly whether it was manufactured or not its there and has been there for nearly 90 years.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 07/08/2010 16:51:48    739358

Yes it is there Paddy but that doesn't make it right in any true sense of the word.That still doesn't explain why yourself and others feel the need to defend it as if it were some kind of beacon to democracy.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/08/2010 17:01:55    739375

I did get 5 in a row.Wow? Its a saturday,I'm lounging around the house.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/08/2010 17:10:05    739388

Doesn't bother me in the least either way, we're all children of the earth man, borders are mythical barriers that block out love and peace dudes.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/08/2010 17:13:49    739392

Paddyogall. From the school of neo liberal shockers. The new ireland. I thought ye went out with the PDs.

Of course the argument is again derailed by fear of the unknown - the EU. Incredible that through all the good that it has done for us we're still against it.

I'm a proud republican and EU supporter.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 07/08/2010 17:15:07    739394

Htaem

739392 Doesn't bother me in the least either way, we're all children of the earth man, borders are mythical barriers that block out love and peace dudes.

Ireland's not a country man.....its like...a...state of mind!!!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 07/08/2010 17:15:07    739395

It would be the best possible thing for Ireland:
I agree, it will take a while.

Bigapple (Kerry) - Posts: 495 - 07/08/2010 17:18:56    739399

WOW that s**ts trippy man

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/08/2010 17:19:37    739401

07/08/2010 16:22:25
seanie_boy

739323 the next time I want your opinion though,I will give it to you.Excuse me,I will tell you what it is.Ah hem,sorry,I will ask you for it.

I'm a republican however your views on freedom of speech verge more on certain type of nationalism as put forward by a party mentioned by a poster above - the likes of which i'm not in favour of.

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 07/08/2010 17:25:04    739407

07/08/2010 15:19:43
Dellboypolecat

739249 sammaguire09 Take the mick all you like because that is the target within sinn feinn

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 07/08/2010 17:29:14    739413

Just to clarify,I am pro-european at a certain level.I do not however like the idea that Brussels can dictate to the whole of Europe.Ask the fishermen from Cork.The Eu has no right to encroach itself into the lives of people at the level which it does.Again, I am all for cooperation and cordial relations.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/08/2010 17:29:53    739414

I feel sorry for cork fishermen.

but...

fact: we've hit peak fishing. If we go at the rate we're going, most species will die out within 50 years. EU capping actually isn't enough. We need more. Anyway, what about the african lads who are coming to europe because EU ships put them out of busniess in west africa (fact!).

EU has good and bad points but I rate it as the most successful supranational entity the world has ever seen. That it has humanitarian high standards makes it a remarkable achievement. If asked whether i'd prefer to be closer to whithall, london or Brussels. The belgians get my vote every time.

Aontais Eorpach abú.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 07/08/2010 17:37:18    739422

Omar d.That was a tongue in cheek ending to my post.That you didn't see the intended humour in it says more about you than me mate.Also you are not a republican in my estimation,garnering what is possible from your posts on this issue so far.The thread asked for an emotional response from forum users on an issue that has been of great importance throughout our history.You my friend chose to give money and economics more credence than matters of the heart by changing the tone of the thread.Thats your call,I did ask for people to just leave such finer details for another time but you couldn't,because the subject matter is not something you consider important,money wins out for you here,and probably in many other areas of life.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/08/2010 17:41:58    739429

I can agree with you on that hurlinspuds.My concern is with checks and balances so to speak, too much political power is never good in any arena.Accountability is my main concern thats all.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/08/2010 17:52:42    739434

07/08/2010 17:41:58
seanie_boy

739429 Omar d.That was a tongue in cheek ending to my post.That you didn't see the intended humour in it says more about you than me mate.Also you are not a republican in my estimation,garnering what is possible from your posts on this issue so far.The thread asked for an emotional response from forum users on an issue that has been of great importance throughout our history.You my friend chose to give money and economics more credence than matters of the heart by changing the tone of the thread.Thats your call,I did ask for people to just leave such finer details for another time but you couldn't,because the subject matter is not something you consider important,money wins out for you here,and probably in many other areas of life.
________
The difference here is your "definition of finer points"
As regards money - maybe you are right - have a family to feed and keep safe- A border war with 1,000,000 odd unionists a war zone in the border counties and a bankrupt country would be something I would regard as more than mere detail. These are more important to me tham having a a couple of celtic posters on my wall - talking the talk on a bar stool and singing a few rebel songs. If you think Im greedy fine I make no apologies for my priorities. You are free to aspire to what you want to aspire to but don;t shout me down while doing it.

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 07/08/2010 17:53:08    739436

seanie_boy

Artisan-a federal europe is a disastrous idea that I hope will never get to come about.Oddly enough I admire the British resistance to european expansionism.

David Cameron actually wants to let Turkey into the Union. Long live Nicholas Sarkozy!!

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 07/08/2010 18:04:04    739445

omar d, the country is broke anyway. I would have rather pour our cash into reunification rather than certain banks providing a bottomless pit.

To me money is secondary. If money is the main concern then the whole island would still be in the UK.

Predicting a "war" upon reunification is also a little disengenuous considering we don't know when that reunification will be, in what circumstances it will be. For all we know many unionists will become very moderate in the next few years. I personally know quite a few who were born unionists and now call themselves nationalist/republican. I don't see a "war." Maybe (and its a big maybe) a few off the wall extremists still at it, just like now.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 07/08/2010 18:06:39    739450

Scruffy2Donut

David Cameron actually wants to let Turkey into the Union. Long live Nicholas Sarkozy!!

What's wrong with Turkey in the EU?

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 07/08/2010 18:07:34    739453