United Ireland? Yes or No

PomeroyPlunkett, no response on the manifesto extract I showed you? Perhaps you got this one wrong. It's ok to be wrong you know!

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 11/08/2010 18:10:07    743581

badmonkey.
u are better off not coming on this site , slating OUR GAMES AND CULTURE IN THIS MANNER.
how dare you attack the g.a.a like this , u obviosly do not realise monkey what it had taken , to keep our proud sports alive , especially in the north , and another thing do not come on here and poison the great name the g.a.a has , best to keep away and leave it up to real gaels , who as irish citiziens have named their beloved clubs after great people , some of whom are national heroes , and also i would like to say as a proud republican , we will always have our national flag flying at all times at games or otherwise .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 11/08/2010 18:20:06    743592

Fair play bad monkey. Another person might have just ignored that post but you did the sound thing. As regards unionists playing our games. I think it would be difficult to do on any grand scale for the near future but I think it has alot of potential. Playing together on the same team unifies neighbours and shows we have little real differences and that we should have pride in where we all come from. One of the things i love most about GAA is that it is a classless sport. I've played alongside lads just out of prison and professionals who back eachother up when the going gets tough. I think what needs to be condemned is the likes of what happened that unionist lad in fermanagh when he tried to play a bit of football. People shouting insults etc are a disgrace no more than anyone who would shout at a black person. I think clubs would be slow to change, even where I'm from but i think the aim should indeed be to have it as a sport for all and sundry to enjoy. I think it's fair to fly our national flag and play our anthem before games though as we shouldn't have to apologise to anyone for doing such things. Nothing would give me more joy than a unionist lifting the liam mc carthy for antrim with a mixed team. Certainly not in my lifetime.

I disagree with your idea of nationalists as celtic jersey wearing, wolfe tone listening idiots. Some of the brightest and best i know are republicans. I have an anti imperialist view which colours alot of how i read international affairs but that doesn't mean my views are any less coherent or acceptable than the next man.

htaem, you make an interesting point and one that has been directed at me in the past. Why do people who have not experienced the troubles feel passionate about reunification? What gives me the right? Or as pomeroy earlier said to me, i have a romantic view of the troubles?! Nothing gives me the right. I hate violence and don't condone in it in the circumstances that it usually took place in in northern ireland over the troubles. All i've said on this thread is that politically, my view is coloured by republican politics. I want to see my country as one. I would say i'm as entitled to that as a man from frankfurt was in 1988 about east germany. I'm proud of my ancestors who cared enough to fight the war of independence and before it and i know it was their wish to reunite the country. I now carry on that tradition by peaceful means. I am not on the frontline, i don't have a strong opinion on the troubles, I just think that the ideals of a united, all encompassing, all inclusive, tolerant country is worth being passionate about. one island, one country, at peace with our neighbours. sounds good to me.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 11/08/2010 18:21:15    743595

Was great to see a piece in the paper today about Michael Davitt's GAA club in Swatragh, Co Derry holding a concert and raising money to repair the roof of the local protestant church. Im sure some here would will be up in arms but its great to see.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 11/08/2010 18:34:53    743607

I didn't need the Good Friday Agreement to legitimize my sense of being Irish.Its in the soul Pomeroy P. Even you have one I assume,or have you sold it to the devil?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/08/2010 18:40:46    743615

Do you want some people to be up in arms about that bad monkey? Personally I think its a great gesture from the GAA men and women in Swatragh.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/08/2010 19:10:59    743642

Pomeroy, as regards being irish and from the north. I never said someone could not be irish and from the north. No one could accuse me of such. What I did say is that those who were anti a united ireland are british in my eyes. Almost all of whom would wholeheartedly agree with me except exceptions like you who call themselves irish but are against a united ireland. You're a rare breed pomeroy. But, as i said before, if we can make it worth your while you're willing to change your allegiance to get a few quid extra.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 11/08/2010 19:24:45    743659

It's the same over and over on here seanie. The argument is that republicans are all xenophobic, nazi, idiots who shout slurs against anyone who isn't white, catholic and republican.

Funny everyone seems to only congratulate and back up what that club in derry did. We'd fit in better with the sterotype if we protested. Sorry not to oblige lads.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 11/08/2010 19:27:05    743665

Goodfella I'm well aware that the SDLP are meant to be an All-Ireland party. However I hope you don't actually think they are actually sticking to these principles? As for getting Unionists to take part in our games it's an easy to say but sadly much harder to do. I assume we are united in total condemnation in Dungiven naming their Hurling club after a Republican terrorist? I also assume we are again united in condemnation of the use of Casement Park and Pearse Park in Galbally grounds for rallies held in honour of Republican terrorists as well. If not how can we possibly entice Protestants/Unionists to play our sport when we use Gaelic grounds to commemorate terrorists groups that killed hundreds of Protestants simply because of their religion

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/08/2010 19:33:47    743672

Hurlinspuds you have more experience of the troubles than Pomeroy,so you can have your opinions.As you stated,the experiences had and retold to you from your ancestors,and all our ancestors collectively still colour our ideas on this issue.Pomeroy did not experience the recent troubles as he was a child when the armed conflict came to an end,for the most part,in the mid 90's.While you may not have experienced it at first hand,your feelings about what was going on were real,Pomeroy did not have those feelings as he was still playing with lego and experiencing the loss of his baby teeth.He is a typical post-nationalism nationalist,goes to UUJ or Queens where with his contemporaries, he gets to waffle endlessly about all kinds of troubles besetting the world and how he is now above and outside the nationalist/unionist paradigm that has long identified politics in the north.He may even pay lip service to the political and cultural beliefs of his community but in reality these traditions mean nothing to him.Fond of quoting Noah Chomsky but doesn't know a fella called Martin Hurson.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/08/2010 19:40:13    743679

I'm well aware of who he was, the rally I'm referring to at Galbally was in honour I believe. I was also actually in Omagh on that fateful day in 1998 when people who held your exact same beliefs decided to carry out the actions that they did. But no, because I don't hold the same views as you and view these terrorists as some some sort of heroes my opinion doesn't matter. Frankly I'm glad I have nothing in common with a man who idolises murderers as martyrs

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/08/2010 20:03:11    743696

Pomeroy, who and where has anyone said anything about any republican paras on here except you?

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 11/08/2010 20:13:56    743704

How it must aggrieve you so that your own club is named after Joseph Mary Plunkett.You should immediately end your membership of the club in protest.I deplore what happened in Omagh by the way and how dare you suggest otherwise .I don't believe that what happened was intentional,but I was not in support of such actions being carried out in light of the political happenings of the time.I seem to have summed you up pretty well as you haven't refuted anything I said before?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/08/2010 20:33:13    743719

Putting a hunger striker in the same category as those who commit the atrocity at omagh makes no sense.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 11/08/2010 21:10:04    743742

Hurlinspuds given the fact people are using the rise of Sinn Fein as a sign of an imminent united Ireland I think it's fair to say there's also some support for the terrorist organisation they represent. I also notice no-one has condemned what I mentioned earlier, the silence is deafening.

Seanie what else exactly did you suggest? That I wasn't alive for most of the troubles? Well of course that's true. Presumably then very few people can have an opinion on say WW1 as most people weren't alive during that. And what was intended when they decided to leave a massive bomb in a busy town? That post would be laughable if it wasn't so utterly pathetic

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/08/2010 21:13:06    743746

Pomeroy says,"If not how can we possibly entice Protestants/Unionists to play our sport when we use gaelic grounds to commemorate terrorist groups that killed hundreds of Protestants simply because of their religion".

A grossly misleading statement to say the least.The Protestant casualties in the troubles did not die,for the most part,because of their religion.It was because of security force or loyalist group membership e.g UDR, UDA , UVF etc etc.On the other hand you should have no problem acknowledging that the majority of Catholics that died,were absolutely killed because of their religion,as religion is the determinant factor in the political,social and cultural way of life of most people in the north.Don't try to refute this as it has been admitted by the likes of Johnny Adair and Billy Wright in the past.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/08/2010 21:14:47    743749

Bombs and bullets KILL people.

That is what they are designed to do.

Intentionally.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/08/2010 21:16:20    743752

What about your club being named after Joseph Mary Plunkett? Answer this then I will answer your question.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/08/2010 21:30:16    743761

They're both as bad as each other, both sides were sub-human dirt. What was Enniskillen, Kingsmill, La Mon about if not purely sectarian then Seanie? Trying to justify this is absolutely disgusting

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/08/2010 21:30:17    743762

Yes or no, does it really matter? There are people in the six counties who see themselves as Irish and people who see themselves as british, I personally would like to see a united Ireland but if it means lunatics on both sides starting the bombing and shooting again then I would be happier to leave things as they are.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 11/08/2010 21:39:32    743773