Brian Dooher - Legend

nonsense

if that were so the Gooch would have retired after last years munster c'ship game against Cork!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 04/08/2010 12:06:14    735342

Brian Dooher was very good but his former clubmate, Peter Canavan has to be excellent then!

Cavan_gael (Cavan) - Posts: 100 - 04/08/2010 12:12:02    735364

Dooher has been a credit to his County over the years. A Real workhorse and a fine point scorer. Yes he is at the end of his career he also had his fair share of injuries and bounced back each time.. He proved his critics wrong and gave thousands of ppl enjoyment. Class player and will go down as one of the modern day greats

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 04/08/2010 12:16:58    735378

Some people seem to think that other players had more skill than dooher but I have to say that Dooher scored the greatest point of all time under the Cusack stand against Kerry in the 08 final. It really was an incredible score.....

wwfan (Wicklow) - Posts: 108 - 04/08/2010 12:46:42    735433

I agree he is a legend Royce... but the time has come for him to step aside!!

He owes us nothing!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 04/08/2010 12:49:05    735442

Cavan Gael... They are from different clubs.

Dooher is from Clan na Gael and Peter "The Great" is from Errigal Ciaran

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 04/08/2010 12:53:11    735450

Cavan_gael

735364 Brian Dooher was very good but his former clubmate, Peter Canavan has to be excellent then!

Has there been a transfer that I have not heard about? As far as I knew Dooher plays for Clann Na Gael and Canavan played for Áireagal Chiarán. There you go, shows how much I know

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 04/08/2010 12:53:45    735451

what about the free tracksuit every year and the free knicks, nothing indeed!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 04/08/2010 12:53:46    735452

Anyone you thinks dooher was a average footballer knows nothing about the game , a true legend and owes us nothing.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 04/08/2010 12:59:52    735468

Dear oh dear. Imagine that Cavan Gael, who also has some strange hatred of Dublin (but I digress ;-), should get such a basic fact wrong. I am truly astounded and will have to pour myself a stiff gin and lie down for a while. Can a chap rely on nothing in these times?

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 04/08/2010 14:08:32    735657

Savage footballer .. but very poor last saturday

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 04/08/2010 14:15:44    735675

Fantastic footballer. Does all the dirty work and keeps the ball very well. His execution of the solo while taking a man on is superb, he fends off tacklers so well. He was poor however on Saturday, would be a shame if it ends like that but he has been a magnificent servant. Hard to believe he was present back in 1995 against the Dubs, seems like forever ago

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 04/08/2010 14:21:49    735692

L E G E N D !

Red_Rumbled (Tyrone) - Posts: 67 - 04/08/2010 14:32:58    735712

My mother is from Tyrone so he is a legent in her eyes but he has been a luxury that Tyrone can not afford for the past 2 years. His conduct against Westmeath a few years ago also tarnished him as a sportsman and I think against Donegal also 5-6 years ago too. Was good but far far from a legent. Give me McGinley any day

georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 04/08/2010 15:12:34    735786

georgelee LEGEND is the word your looking for and that is what he is ....

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 04/08/2010 15:24:27    735800

georgelee
Is that the game where in the end he managed to get mc faddan sent off? CA mc faddan normally doesnt do much out of his way (very lazy) but he went for dooher that day. Have any of ye read oisin mc convilles book too.

Needless to say dooher was a great footballer but has been past it for the last 2 years. Time he hangs up his boots because at this stage he cant perform the same against the young boys

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 04/08/2010 15:52:12    735842

Brian Dooher is one of the best footballers ever to come out of Tyrone.He did not have a huge game against Dublin but that doesnt mean he is finished.He had a great game against Monaghan in the Ulster final and there was little talk of him being done,too old etc then.Im sure many of the lads on the Tyrone squad are reflecting about their future involvement right now and they should do just that,reflect.I would only hope that the lads would be honest to themselves about the hunger they have to carry on and base their decision on that.Nobody wants a player on the squad if their heart isnt in it anymore.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/08/2010 15:58:21    735848

".....he was brilliant against the Dubs"

Ehh, were you at the same game as everyone else??

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 04/08/2010 16:11:46    735872

The word legend in bandied about a lot these days with short term achievement & recent success being uppermost in people's minds, while those who remember the older days think back with rose tinted glasses.

Dooher is an excllent player, though not sure if he is a legend. What I will say is his work rate, distribution, selfless running and team ethic make him a superb footballer. He always seems willing to sacrifice himself & run himself into the ground for the team. His fitness is top class, he rarely gives the ball away & he can take a score as the chap from Wicklow pointed out. I don't know where he ranks in the all time history of great players, nor do I think you can compare, but Dooher himself & all Tyrone fans should be very proud of all he has achieved in Gaelic football.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 04/08/2010 16:12:23    735873

Snufalufagus how many all irelands and all stars this dublin team have ? dooher has it all brilliant service he give tyrone...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 04/08/2010 17:04:51    735974