Who will win Sam now?

Cork winning by 20 points in any game = Flattering to deceive, will flop when it really matters
Down winning by 20 points in any game = Aristocrats of football

Corrxxx please explain?

Cavan_gael (Cavan) - Posts: 100 - 06/09/2010 18:16:00    766778

Cavan_gael

766778 Cork winning by 20 points in any game = Flattering to deceive, will flop when it really matters
Down winning by 20 points in any game = Aristocrats of football

Corrxxx please explain?

As the Cork lad said its lazy stereotyping.
For instance when Tyrone beat Dublin off the park in 2008 it was seen as Tyrone destroying Dublin, playing unbelievable football, crushing the Dubs underneath them
When Kerry have done the same against Mayo,Dublin,Cork its seen as a soft victory, the other team rolled over, a handy one for the kerry lads.

Ditto Down and Cork.
Cork didnt play well against Roscommon and won by 9 points! A rather convincing scoreline in any GAA match. If Down had played the same game people would be pointing to Downs uncanny ability to grind out a result with something to spare, flashes of brilliance intertwined with ruthless efficiency.

I think Clarke and Coulter are 2 fantastic footballers but I think the media and fans assessments of Down's chances against Cork are tainted by the same rose tinted optimism they've viewed all the performances so far.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 07/09/2010 09:08:18    767160

It's also about applying ridiculous double standards to teams based on bias
e.g. we're supposed to remember every Cork loss in AI Semi-finals and Finals over the last few years to underline what bottlers they are, but we're supposed to conveniently forget that Down were beaten by Fermanagh and Wicklow last year, because they're a 'totally different team this year'.

I;m not saying that Down aren't going well and aren't in with a serious shout, or that Cork are flying and will walk the final, I just don't like the fact that reasonable discussion is almost impossible because of all the ridiculously biased crap being spouted (not by Down posters, mind).

hurling_lad (Cork) - Posts: 69 - 07/09/2010 10:45:11    767279

I notice that some Cavan lads here are going for down, this will win you to corks side:

http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/index.php?name=News&file=article&sid=999

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 07/09/2010 11:03:33    767316

Corxxx, your actually talking rubbish! We hammered Sligo by 19 points, and nothing was said. Then we easily dismantled Kerry in the quarter final, we didn't get the credit we deserved. Sure everyone was pointing out how Kerry were a team in the demise and how Down didn't beat much. And at this point the pundits were quick to point out how we just managed to get by poor Longford and Offaly sides, back in round2-3. Coming into the game against Kildare, and EVERYONE was tipping them to beat us. The media especially! I was reading how Kildare's Quarter Final victory was by far the most impressive, and how no body actually knows how good Down are. We have beat Kildare now, and ALL the talk was about the sqaure ball and the point that never was. And you come on here and tell us that Cork don't get the deserved credit for their results and Down do?? You must be having a laugh!! May i also add that Cork are hotly tipped to win the final, by the media, pundits, managers and bookies (and have done all year). What more do you want.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 07/09/2010 11:07:13    767322

Hilarious redfoot. Ive noticed the Cavan supporters on here didnt have much time for ye, but this article explains why.
I see ye're still whinging about the kingdom though, thats a lot of complaints about 1 set of games, the psychological scarring has obviously not healed yet.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 07/09/2010 11:11:53    767331

Redfoot,

Most of the Cavan jokes were made up by Cavan men themselves as we have a canny sense of humour. If i was you though i would worry more about the current joke of how Cork with their huge population and superior attitudes have only won 6 football finals and the manner of their loses in recent finals and i will not mention the "C" word or the "S" word !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/09/2010 11:40:07    767359

Most of the Cavan jokes were made up by Cavan men themselves as we have a canny sense of humour. If i was you though i would worry more about the current joke of how Cork with their huge population and superior attitudes have only won 6 football finals and the manner of their loses in recent finals and i will not mention the "C" word or the "S" word !!
Cavan_Slasher , 07/09/2010 at 11:40

"C" word and "S" word..........I've got it, I've got it.....Cavan_Slasher

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 07/09/2010 11:49:32    767373

Corxxx,

Close but no cigar my friend !! Clue -- one of them sounds like joking as we are on that theme !! Kerry have done pretty well themselves considering their population !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/09/2010 11:53:57    767377

Them boys at PROC can be side split-tingly funny at times. Im not sure whether or not to promote the site as it is bound to turn even more of this country against us, as I'v found some people just can't handle this type of humour.
As for the final, the past winning margins will have very little baring on this game as I feel now that Cork are in another final they will surely die on the pitch before they will leave Croke Park again without the cup. Down are going to be the best team they have played all year and should not be taken lightly. Although I taught this against Dublin also, I think it can go one of two ways:
1. Cork put in the long awaited performance and show what they are capable of, in this case Cork may win by 5+
2. In a tight game its score for score all through, Cork playing poor again. Here its anyones game and I feel if down are to win this is how they will do it.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 07/09/2010 11:58:00    767382

tj09,

Don't worry about that at all as we are well used to it and can give it back, its good craic !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/09/2010 12:01:17    767384

Whats this we hearing up here of a Cork strategy to injure key Down players to thwart the chance of Sam coming north/ Or is this this a windup to upset Down?

Up4it. (Tyrone) - Posts: 199 - 09/09/2010 21:44:03    770510

Song for Down's All Ireland final:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHnUzVEyk4A&feature=related

Up4it. (Tyrone) - Posts: 199 - 11/09/2010 18:49:11    771754

Best of luck Cork. Keep Sam out of the UK at all costs. At least Stevie Wonder and his cronies aren't in charge so it it'll be 15 againt 15. You'll have way too much strength for them.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 11/09/2010 20:55:48    771847

BOO HOO derfil BOO HOO your weightlifters were beaten by a football team. Ulster is the original IRISH province go and read your history if you can read at all. The other 3 provinces were always in our wake, at least we stood up to Cromwell, Elizabeth I and Henry VIII when the other 3 provinces were bending over for them. Leinster was ALWAYS England's Uncle Tom and Kildare was it's horsey plaything.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 11/09/2010 21:39:32    771906

Up4it. - I think that you are the only one who can tell us if your post is a wind up to upset Down or not.

Don't feed the trolls re: the 'UK' stuff.

The only properly neutral voice on the Sunday Game panel last night, Ciaran Whelan, backing Cork I see - McConville sticking with his province and Ó Cinnéide, as with every other Kerryman, was always going to back Cork, regardless of what he might really feel, in order to increase the pressure on them.

Again, I'm not saying that it's Cork's to lose or anything, but it's still clear the heavy backing for Down on this board is due to bias / wishful thinking.

hurling_lad (Cork) - Posts: 69 - 13/09/2010 11:13:48    772703

Decision time this weekend to see who are the best in Ireland. Cork no longer impress me and Down have the backing of the majority of counties.

Coa_gael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1189 - 13/09/2010 13:01:11    772841

Didn't realise that they were deciding the football All-Ireland by election this year.

hurling_lad (Cork) - Posts: 69 - 13/09/2010 13:51:20    772935

Coa_gael
County: Fermanagh

772841 Decision time this weekend to see who are the best in Ireland. Cork no longer impress me and Down have the backing of the majority of counties.[/b]

Hilarious! Its not an election you know, you dont have to secure votes to win? I think what you mean is Down have the backing of the majority of Hogan stand posters, from counties other than Cork.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 13/09/2010 14:08:58    772964

hurling_lad Ó Cinnéide, as with every other Kerryman, was always going to back Cork, regardless of what he might really feel, in order to increase the pressure on them

Well if Cork needs a Kerryman to feel the pressure, I would be worried. Yerra, we are not into mind games like that at all. Remember Cork, we are not in the AI, Cork does not have to worry about anything that Kerry says or does next Sunday....there is no indian sign over Cork next Sunday....just go out there and prove yourselves. As a Kerry person, you have our blessing to win; if fact, its the best year that Cork could possibly win from a Kerry perspective since we have already beaten ye in the munster semi-final, you have copied our 2009 journey through the qualifiers with unimpressive performances (albeit you did not shine in the quarter-final like we did), you beat Dublin on the way (though a significantly better Dublin team than last year so thats to yer credit) and are now in the AI final. We have already forgiven ye for targetting our Paul as we know that ye needed to greatly weaken Kerry (losing 4 team players from last year was rightly not enough-fair duce ye covered all angles) and we acknowledge the cuteness of yer moves.

Now I reckon all that hand passing is just for show and ye will come out onto the field with a performance of football to blow our minds and we will all be clapping down on Kerry for pulling a fast one. Go on Cork-Cork for Sam-limited edition only!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 13/09/2010 15:03:10    773046