Who will win Sam now?

Down. Limerick for Sam 2011

vincemcmahon (Limerick) - Posts: 8 - 16/08/2010 18:09:52    747436

listening to a lot of pundits the last few days and the opinion seems to be that although cork havent been brilliant so far ,come sunday they are just going to flick a switch and hey presto they are back on form.
hope the dubs win sam obviously but if not i hope its down,up down.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 16/08/2010 21:56:41    747715

Heart says Dublin, head says Cork. Although if Dublin don't do it would love to see Down or Kildare win it.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 17/08/2010 10:28:50    747809

Obviously want to see ourselves win, but if not us will be delighted for any of the other 3 to win it for the following reasons:

Dublin - Dead and buried after a poor perforance againt Wexford and Meath thumped them. Theyve been brilliant since based on a hunger and never say die attitude. Balls win All-Irelands and theyve got that in abundance which would make them worthy champions.

Cork - Nearly men for the last while. They've put in the hard graft over the last few years and have the talent to back that up. Their biggest obstacle I feel is not knowing their best team and too much chopping and changing as a result. This has resulted in a mindset of insecurity and fear and in a tight finish Id be slow to back them. But like I said they're good enough to it

Down - Supposed miracle first timers like ourselves. They've got to this stage in double quick time. Play a wonderful brand of football thats just typical of them, wth a swagger and confidence and belief thats required to win an All-Ireland. Just feel it might be a year or two too eary for them but with Down anythings possible. Nothing will phase them.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 17/08/2010 13:00:47    748015

Derfil, I agree with your assesment of the teams.

If we dont do it, I would like to see the Dubs win it.

Willie Nelson (None) - Posts: 972 - 17/08/2010 15:46:35    748312

Dublin to get a hammering from Cork, Down to beat Kildare by the minimum, A Cork -Down final with Down winning it by 4.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 17/08/2010 18:55:48    748651

14/08/2010 17:16:29
gaelic_life
County: Down

746130 Barneytown, miracle one timers?? explain please..

In reply to the Down man it means as it says on the tin and that is both yourselves and Kildare are basically 'flash in the pan' contestants or some would call yous "miracle one timers" in this years All Ireland Senior Championship. Let me take you back to the provincial championships and both of you failed. Your continuing participation is thanks to a default system giving teams that are not good enough in the provincials, a 2nd chance. Now what other sport gives failed contestants a 2nd chance? Both Kildare and Down are riding on a wave that cannot be sustained, therefore I'm using a commonsense approach and predicting that Cork or Dublin (both rated of high quality) will progress to take the Sam Maguire.

barneytown (Fermanagh) - Posts: 294 - 17/08/2010 20:43:27    748774

Tis Cork's all ireland if they get their ship in order.

saortheas (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 18/08/2010 10:53:46    749050

toprow2010

whats wrong ye jealous your county did pathetic this year and kildare are young tough and a hell of alot better than galway have or ever will be..

you have no idea about kildare football and the amount of talent thats waiting in the wings cause believe me we are a force to be reckoned with unlike galway who are looking like they won be winning anything for the next couple of years.. kildare are back my friend and we are here to stay you can believe that!!!

I've just highlighted 2 points you made there. You say Kildare are better than Galway ever have been. So this Kildare side that has made one puny little semi final is better than the Galway side that won 3 All Irelands in a row (64-66) or the side that won two and was runner up in one there at the turn of the centuary (98-01).

Also you said that Kildare are back. Excuse me, but Kildare haven't won an All Ireland in over 80 years. When were kildare ever "there" to begin with?

You're obviously a child or have the mind of a child so I may just leave it at that. Good luck in the semi.

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 18/08/2010 11:14:51    749073

"You're obviously a child or have the mind of a child..."

Another blinded Kildare poster. Yes Galway poster, I could not put it better myself!

barneytown (Fermanagh) - Posts: 294 - 18/08/2010 19:56:04    749886

Tick tock for the Dubs as they face humilation at the hands of the rebels 2mara!

I see the nine foot fence will be in place to keep the Kildare ones at bay on Sunday weekj!

WestRules (Galway) - Posts: 271 - 21/08/2010 15:09:07    752243

WestRules

752243 Tick tock

I can hear ur brain working from here...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/08/2010 15:14:08    752249

Barneytown, im sure there will be plenty of Dublin and Kildare fans back to you if one or, God forbid, two of those teams progress to a final?? Do appreciate your point though

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 21/08/2010 15:39:15    752269

Sorry meant Kildare or Down

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 21/08/2010 15:42:04    752271

DOWN !! ULSTER SAYS NO TO ! THE DUB' REBELS AND LILYWHITES COME ON DOWN! THE TIME IS RIGHT!

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 21/08/2010 21:24:06    752499

What a chant for the hill in 7 days time! Seen it on another forum.To the tune of bon jovi's living on a prayer...
Woah were halfway there..
Woah oh living in Kildare..
They say its a dream but we can make it we swear..
Woah oh living in Kildare!
Absoutley BRILLIANT! Cant wait to be standing on the hill supporting the lads on their mission! Bring on the Kildare Madness!!!!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 22/08/2010 14:47:15    752765

After Cork's pathetic performance and jammy win yesterday, does this make Down or Kildare the betting favourites to lift the Sam Maguire?

Cavan_gael (Cavan) - Posts: 100 - 23/08/2010 10:18:28    753291

Cavan_gael

753291 After Cork's pathetic performance and jammy win yesterday, does this make Down or Kildare the betting favourites to lift the Sam Maguire?

You wouldnt make much of a bookie now would ya?
By virtue of being in the final Cork would currently be the favourites. Perhaps after the other semi one of the others could be made the favourites, but at the moment the other teams have only a 50-50 chance (give or take) of getting there.

Clearly you have an anti-Cork bias, not that I would disapprove of that sort of thing.

Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 23/08/2010 10:32:43    753313

Cavan_gael

753291 After Cork's pathetic performance and jammy win yesterday, does this make Down or Kildare the betting favourites to lift the Sam Maguire?

Cork are 1/2 Fav's to win Sam now. My 3/1 and 6/4 follow up are looking quite good now. Cork may have been poor in shooting yesterday, but it has to be remembered that they controlled posession and lorded midfield. At the end of the day, they beat a Dublin side that most people would expect to comfortably dispose of Kildare or Down. That 1/2 looks too big, should be shorter

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 23/08/2010 10:50:17    753332

Cavan_gael
After Cork's pathetic performance and jammy win yesterday, does this make Down or Kildare the betting favourites to lift the Sam Maguire?
---------

Ah, no it doesn't. Cork are 2/5 now with PP, Kildare 7/2, Down 9/2. Someone still smarting from the debacle in Pairc Ui Chaoimh earlier in the year?

Jafallon, are you going to lay some of that Cork money in the final on the opposition to ensure a tidy profit or let it ride?

eviemonkey (Cork) - Posts: 308 - 23/08/2010 11:36:10    753415