I thought this was a very interesting piece in the Irish Times which concurs with my thinking too.
Provincial finalists' fall points to system flaw
ALL-IRELAND SFC SEMI-FINALS: The novelty that is the 2010 GAA football championship will see the four counties competing in the All-Ireland semi-finals later this month without having contested a provincial final.
The demise of all eight teams involved in the provincial deciders highlights a major flaw in the football structures. The four runners-up - Sligo, Monaghan, Limerick and Louth - were beaten by qualifier teams, with the first two suffering from a six-day turnaround after morale-sapping defeats to Roscommon and Tyrone respectively. Louth were unable to rediscover their Leinster form against an improving Dublin, while Limerick lost to Cork after extra-time. The eclipse of the runners-up was alarming in itself but the four champions also being beaten over the weekend signifies the qualifiers as the essential route to an All-Ireland title - as Kerry proved last season and Tyrone in 2008.
"We have had the benefit of the back-door system before," noted Kerry selector Ger O'Keeffe. "It has been good to us in the past. There is definitely something about the fact that provincial winners don't get a second chance. And then there is the time element between winning and playing the All-Ireland quarter-final." The match statistics from the four quarter-finals don't provide much clarity. Cork and Down carried more and completed a significantly greater number of passes than Roscommon and Kerry. Tyrone's defeat to Dublin, from a statistical perspective anyway, stems primarily from their 17 wides. They had 56 per cent of the possession, completed almost double the number of accurate passes and carried 117 times to Dublin's 74. Tyrone, like Kerry, Roscommon and Meath, met a side that had been playing and winning matches for several consecutive weeks. Kildare played their best football in their sixth game, Down played their best football in their fourth game in a row, as did Dublin. Teams that get a momentum going appear to have an advantage.
Several county managers agree the Central Competitions Control Committee must revisit the current system. "There is a flaw in the system but how do you get around it?" asked Sligo manager Kevin Walsh. "Everything is now commercialised and television and media involved, so it is more difficult."
Sligo and Monaghan were victims of what appears to be an unfair structure that sees the defeated, and understandably depressed, provincial runners-up expected to mend bruised psyches and up performance levels after just a few days licking their wounds. Sligo were having a great campaign, defeating Mayo then Galway, before the surprise loss to an inspired Roscommon. A week later they were emptied by a Down side long recovered from their Ulster semi-final defeat to Tyrone.
YesterdaysMan (Fermanagh) - Posts: 732 - 12/08/2010 21:59:04
"It effected our season," Walsh continued. "We had a very tough draw, we had to play Galway a second time, so we had to peak three times before Roscommon (in the Connacht final) and then to go out in a week's time against Down (and perform) was impossible. "I'm not saying we would have won but a break would have improved our chances." This may sound like a defeated manager making excuses but that is not how Walsh goes about his business. And he is not alone. The eight provincial finalists' departure from the championship signals a problem, and could drastically influence a team's attitude to the provincial competitions in 2011. "If it keeps going this way we will have to look and see is it worth winning your first championship match. You are peaking for the league and the championship, I don't know how you can keep it going."
So, basically, lose your first match and set out on the qualifier route that ensures week to week game time that evidently allows the collective performance to reach a crescendo in September.
"That cannot be the attitude and it is not but if it was the attitude you wouldn't have the eight out." O'Keeffe does not posses a magic solution either, but he does provide some logical suggestions. "The All-Ireland quarter-finals should be played two weeks after the provincial finals - four weeks is too long. They devised a system to give teams extra games but they are penalising the provincial winners. That's the reality. The system now needs tweaking. "Either the provincial championship is sacrosanct or it isn't. You may have to look at getting rid of the provincial championship.
"The qualifier teams have done very well, the provincial losers weren't able to get up for their next game in such a short period of time and then the provincial winners suffered due to a long time gap until they play."
Over to the CCCC.
For dethroned champions Kerry, O'Keeffe felt obliged to voice high praise for the team that finally ended a run of six years playing September football.
"Down reminded me of our team in '75 - that was the start of a young team. Down have won a minor and under-21 championship. They just needed something to kick start them. Losing early to Tyrone and then building back definitely benefited them."
YesterdaysMan (Fermanagh) - Posts: 732 - 12/08/2010 21:59:19
west rules you've been out for a while now im sure you've came up with many hobbies over the summer.. is talkin bull one of them?
madden (Kildare) - Posts: 293 - 13/08/2010 09:27:40
Caven gael and west rules yee both have too much time on yer hands and both have serious chips on yer shoulders. I know its frustrating, hard and the jealousy is really getting the better of yee. Tell you what... I am 100% positive I have found the soultion for yee..... U OUGHT 2 OUGHT 2 B OUGHT 2 B A LILY!!!!!!!
C'MON THE LILYWHITES!!!! 10- KE-SAM
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 13/08/2010 16:42:59
I think Cork might finally do it this year!! Every team reaches their peak at some stage during the championship!! (kerry last year peaked at the right time in the AI Final) I think Down may just have peaked against Kerry and I think that Dublin have done the same against Tyrone!! Cork are getting by each round but they haven't looked like championship material!! But the fact is they are stiil there!! Kildare are also going about their bussiness in a very quiet and professional manner!! I think there will be too much pressure and hype for the Dubs to handle on Sunday week and I also think that Kildare will beat Down in a very tight game!! For me both these semi finals will be tight affairs with Cork and Kildare to shade both games! Also it will be great to see a new name on Sam and a squad of players with their very first AI medals so the best of luck to all four teams involved!!
mmrebel (Cork) - Posts: 19 - 13/08/2010 17:33:19
If Cork don't lift the Sam Maguire this year when there is poor opposition, then they will struggle in coming years as Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin will be back stronger. There's not much between miracle one-timers Kildare and Down, so it doesn't matter who wins in their semi final it will be Cork's or Dublin's year to take charge of the Sam.
barneytown (Fermanagh) - Posts: 294 - 13/08/2010 18:03:18
I think Down will win sam maguire cup, but i want kildare to win. up kildare!!
BarryLohan (Roscommon) - Posts: 30 - 13/08/2010 18:10:28
Barneytown what sort a comment is that. Between Kildare and Down they have around 9 All Ireland titles in senior football. So to call any of those miracles one-timers is something that would come from a part time GAA fan.
The other three sides are there on merit and are not what I'd call poor teams. Dublin beat Tyrone (winners 08), Down beat the reigning champions (thats Kerry in case it escapes you) and Kildare have run up a couple of impressive scores against decent opposition. Yes, its fair to say that Kildares run through the qualifiers hasn't been the stuff of giantkillers but they can only beat who is put on front of them.
The fact that Kerry and Tyrone are gone doesn't make the three other semi-finalists poor. The playing field is leveling out a bit and maybe you're own team might be reaching a semi final again soon enough if the work is put in. Quit the dissing of other teams who have put in the effort and are being rewarded.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 13/08/2010 21:24:20
sedico I feel sorry for the likes of your kind that fail to face up to the obvious.
My previous comment is my personal opinion which I believe would be shared by the vast majority of neutral GAA supporters as well as many of those from the semi-finalists counties concerned.
barneytown (Fermanagh) - Posts: 294 - 14/08/2010 10:40:39
Yes of course you are entitled to your opinion. However its the way you expressed it thats irks me. The four semi-finalists are there on merit no matter what you or anyone else says. The green eyed monster is rearing his ugly head around your direction.
I assume you'll be putting a good few quid on the Rebels to win it out so. You could nearly double your money wthin the space of 6 weeks of thereabouts. More than any bank will give you. And fair play to you if you do, but I couldn't put money on any of the four with any great confidence.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 14/08/2010 17:00:26
Barneytown, miracle one timers?? explain please..
gaelic_life (Down) - Posts: 286 - 14/08/2010 17:16:29
barneytown County: Fermanagh Posts: 112
745642 If Cork don't lift the Sam Maguire this year when there is poor opposition, then they will struggle in coming years as Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin will be back stronger. There's not much between miracle one-timers Kildare and Down, so it doesn't matter who wins in their semi final it will be Cork's or Dublin's year to take charge of the Sam.
this made me laugh very hard!! thanks for that idiotic comment.. coming from a fermanagh man/women its hard to take seriously,firstly because you know your statement is false and secondly what have fermanagh won in the history of GAA?? not even a one hit wonder,NOTHING, so dont be running your mouth and thinking your better than us, when your county actually wins something come back to us then other than that just shut up and stop making a fool of yourself..
oh yea you'l probably never know how it feels to be in an All-Ireland semi-final,i believe you said this "dunt see many new talent listed gere which means there mustin be many out there?" on a forum in your own county about is there any talent in fermanagh, first ye need to learn how to spell,secondly how can you not know of any decent players in your county?? i could name out lads from u-15 to senior who have talent or some sort of potential in kildare, you are not what we would call a knowledgeable GAA person,so please dont make anymore idiotic comments because you havin a clue what your talking about jus looking for reactions from people... a very sad person.. UP THE LILLYS!!!!!!!
toprow2010 (Kildare) - Posts: 214 - 15/08/2010 12:43:36
toprow2010 County: Kildare Posts: 74 sorry but yous havent won too much recently either so u cant really talk. when was the last time yous won the all ireland, 1928???
meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 15/08/2010 20:32:28
meathalltheway County: Meath Posts: 46
was i talking to you??
and would you agree that kildare and down are one hit wonders??
toprow2010 (Kildare) - Posts: 214 - 16/08/2010 14:47:36
toprow2010 County: Kildare Posts: 75
Toprow you spent a full post slagging off Fermanagh for no reason. It was actually quite funny to read as it came from a Kildare man, an undisputed "weaker county" with only 4 All Irelands that were all won in the dark ages.
Remember Fermangh made the semis in 04. And Wexford 2 years ago. They were proven to be one hit wonders so people are entitled to believe that Kildare and Down may be the same. I personally dont think that, but I can understand why some people do.
jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 16/08/2010 15:11:21
Jafallon,
I take it you dont like Kildare supporters, they really seem to wind you up?
Corrxxx (Kerry) - Posts: 584 - 16/08/2010 15:29:19
Down have had back to back promotions in the national league, bringing us into division 1 were we belong. We have a young (average age 25), ambitious and hungry side who hammered Sligo out of sight and dismantled an ageing Kerry side with ease. We're into our first AI semi final since 1994, and regardless of the result against Kildare on the 29th, we WILL be back again!
MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 16/08/2010 15:31:06
jafallon County: Galway Posts: 29
If kildare are supposedly one of the weaker counties please tell me what fermanagh would be then??
kildare have won leinsters and ok it has being a while since we won an All-Ireland but i will not accept someone from any county calling us a one hit wonder,history proves me right. .fermanagh have won NOTHING and never will!!!
this is from fermanaghs county profile page:
All-Ireland titles: Two
Senior: None
Under 21: None
Minor: None
Junior: One - 1959
All-Ireland 'B': One 1996
toprow2010 (Kildare) - Posts: 214 - 16/08/2010 16:43:19
Corrxxx County: Kerry Posts: 15
747188 Jafallon,
I take it you dont like Kildare supporters, they really seem to wind you up?
Nah I just hate that every time somebody has an opinion on here then their own county gets slagged off in return. They really should remove the county bit from under usernames. A few Kildare fans have got on my nerves in recent weeks as they seem to think that making it to 1 semi final has made the last 80 years irrelevant and they are the undisputed kings of football all of a sudden
jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 16/08/2010 16:54:00
jafallon County: Galway Posts:295
you have the easiest provincial championship than anyone else.. you think your county is something special?? snap out of it.. were ye going with your 80 years haha
whats wrong ye jealous your county did pathetic this year and kildare are young tough and a hell of alot better than galway have or ever will be..
you have no idea about kildare football and the amount of talent thats waiting in the wings cause believe me we are a force to be reckoned with unlike galway who are looking like they won be winning anything for the next couple of years.. kildare are back my friend and we are here to stay you can believe that!!!
toprow2010 (Kildare) - Posts: 214 - 16/08/2010 18:09:48