Funniest thing you ever seen at a GAA ground

I have a few...

(1) Ok this one is a kinda "you had to be there one" but hopefully you'll understand!!Twas a big important game. Clare Senior championship football final between kilmurray ibrickane and kilkee in cusack park, ennis. Anyone who knows the ground will note how there's a gate at the far side as you're coming in that's for ambulances if it needs to come on. Nobody really ever took much notice of it but it was there anyway! Twas coming into the last 5 minutes, the teams were level fighting for the glory of being county champions. There was a big tussle for the ball right out at the corner flag in front of the gate with about 13 players trying to get their hands on the ball. Nobody could quite see who had it with the crowd of them that was in it, there was a lot of murmuring but no great shouting. Suddnely there was this massive cry from the terrace......."J

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 30/07/2010 11:14:26    729216

I dont get it

miteymeath (Meath) - Posts: 98 - 30/07/2010 11:21:04    729229

I have a couple...

(1) Ok this one is a kinda "you had to be there one" but hopefully you'll understand!! Twas a big important game. Clare Senior championship football final between kilmurray ibrickane and kilkee in cusack park, ennis. Anyone who knows the ground will note how there's a gate at the far side as you're coming in that's for ambulances if it needs to come on. Nobody really ever took much notice of it but it was there anyway! Twas coming into the last 5 minutes, the teams were level fighting for the glory of being county champions. There was a big tussle for the ball right out at the corner flag in front of the gate with about 13 players trying to get their hands on the ball. Nobody could quite see who had it with the crowd of them that was in it, there was a lot of murmuring and tesnion but no great shouting. Suddenly there was this massive cry from the terrace......."JAYSUS REF, OPEN THE GATE!"!!!!!!". I dunno was it the tension of the game or sheer surprise at what this guy randomly shouted or whatever but suddenly everyone just burst out laughing including even the mentors and selectors on the sidelined who had heard it...

(2) Twas a junior B league semi-final bwtween O'Callaghan Mills and Lisdoonvarna. A big burly full-forward is giving out to his midfielders for not delivering the ball in quick and direct but rather holding on to the ball instead.. "Feed it into me, feed it into me for f*** sake!!"

Sure enough there was this 70 year old fella with a pipe and big spectacles on him who (after the full-forwards hearty plea) calmy took the pipe out of his mouth and shouted...."Aren't ya fed enough ya fat f***er?!". Queue howls of laughter from players and supporters like and a face on the full-forward the colour of a fully ripe tomato!!"

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 30/07/2010 11:23:18    729237

Ah now i get it..

miteymeath (Meath) - Posts: 98 - 30/07/2010 11:28:21    729247

Cork V Tyrone in Croker last year.

Ould Cork City lad running down the aisle in Hoganstand as Cork begin to pull away,
Shouts out at a few of the Tyrone players " Where are yer fecking Beards now!!"

I almost new what he meant.

endofstory69 (Cork) - Posts: 97 - 30/07/2010 11:59:46    729292

It's hard to beat Dublin V Cork in the NFL all those years ago and Dublin scoring that infamous unopposed point. Possibly the most bizarre thing I've ever seen in any sport.

Other ones that spring to mind, both from the joys of East Cork Junior Hurling

One was when a woman was giving some fellow an awful lot of abuse from the bank, a woman behind her goes up to her, says " that's my son your talking about" then takes off her shoe and whacks the first women over the head with it.

Other one was after a match reffed by the legendary Dan Kennaly from Dungourney. Dan was standing by the posts after the game when this fellow comes up ( a bit the worst for wear) and starts abusing Dan, then threw a haymaker at him. Dan ducked and the fellows fist slammed into the goal post and I'm sure he must have broken a few bones

mpsox (Carlow) - Posts: 20 - 30/07/2010 12:00:39    729298

In a North Cork Junior B Football match this team was winning by at 20 odd points when their full forward was one on one with opposition keeper and the full forward gave a big lash of the ball but at that same time his boot fell off and hit the umpire full force into the temple!!!! Cue the laughter!!! The umpire after a while raised the green flag with his face as red after the embarrasing incident with a big red mark on face!!!!!!! :-)

jambread (Cork) - Posts: 307 - 30/07/2010 12:26:07    729341

there was an under 12 game and our team were stuck for numbers so they brought one of the local lads that had no interest and stuck him in the corner to be out of the way.A high ball was kicked into the full forward line while our corner forward was facing the wrong way sitting on the ground making daisy chains and the ball bust him on the head.

julian (Meath) - Posts: 76 - 30/07/2010 12:40:43    729371

quality material here lads, keep it going!

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 30/07/2010 14:29:11    729615

lessbull

Also worth a mention is an underage player I once saw catching the ball from the throw-in at the start of the 2nd half, soloing straight up the centre of the pitch and kicking a beauty of a point. The only problem was he had forgotten which way he was playing. He got some abuse from his manager and his teammates. The players from the other team were doubled over laughing at him. It was a pretty close game too but luckily for him his team shaded it in the end.

Seen the same thing happening in a match i was playing in at u-16 way back. The boy in my team caught the ball and started soloing, i was chb and realised what he was doing and was debating with myself whether i should tackle him or not. He hit the shot anyaway and lucky for us he was innacurate and hit it out for a 45.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 30/07/2010 14:55:13    729655

Hanley2
County: Longford

728910 Lessbull. Funny enough i did get it on d camera phone. Bottles of water were thrown about which makes it even funnier.

I think it's only fair that you share that with your fellow posters here at hoganstand.com. You can't be teasing us like that!

lessbull (Kerry) - Posts: 177 - 30/07/2010 15:54:40    729755

back when i used play minor was at a fairl crap league game and our fella playing half back i think ran into a bit of trouble when he wouldn pass.Got surronded by opposition players anyway so he just leathers it as hard as he can up in the air. everyone just stops and kinda looks at it meanwhile our half back ran on caught it again and kicked it straight over the bar essentially a garyowen.maintains he planned but it was sheer quality listening to the opposition lads get effed out of it after the score

Ck0_3000 (Longford) - Posts: 41 - 30/07/2010 16:19:29    729801

After Donal Og had tried a quick short puck out and Kilkenny scored another goal in teh Nowlan Park massacre, a well known Kilkenny county hurler encouraging Donal og to continue with the short puck outs. Made me laugh.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 30/07/2010 16:31:21    729826

Theres a story Julian, poor man with no interest in football at all!!!! :-)

jambread (Cork) - Posts: 307 - 01/08/2010 17:28:54    731574

I was in a pub in Cavan Town and an Auld man said to me "What do You think of Football in Cavan"?. I said its a great idea

snowchance10 (USA) - Posts: 149 - 01/08/2010 19:56:43    731900

Is Brolly going to post that video to youtube.. sounds like a classic

hal (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 05/08/2010 17:05:30    737171

At a club match in Bailieboro years ago a corner back was a bit slow getting to a loose ball and someone said "its hard to believe that he plays for the county". An old girl turns round and shouts "it must be the f****** county home he plays for" !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 05/08/2010 17:18:19    737194

I was sitting beside a well known players mother at the hurling All Ireland in 2008 and she hit the steward with her handbag cause he wouldn't let her on!!!!!

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 05/08/2010 17:20:23    737198

playing in goals an opposing forward shot for a point, the ball passed a couple of inches just outside the very top of the post, the umpire raised the white flag ; as i protested it was 6 inches wide ; he replied "it wasnt that far wide" !!!

royler (Meath) - Posts: 302 - 05/08/2010 17:29:16    737218

Daith

728503 The releasing of a chicken onto the pitch a few years ago for a Kildare-Laois derby in O Moore park. Classic!

The famous Jungle Joe

I remember his father one time he had a donkey in the back of a mark1 ford cortina , now that was funny.

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 05/08/2010 17:39:11    737235