patrique your the tyrone boogyman:]
booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 23/07/2010 19:56:09
I've never suggested that Tyrone have had a wonderful history, merely repudiated much of the rubbish you post. I do however think of the big mural on the Albertbridge Road where Mr Irvine staes, "Those who do not learn from history are condemned to repeat it" Well, I think that we have finally learned from our history and if you want to move on to the last 25 years of history then the record reads like this as regards football.
Tyrone
All-Ireland Senior Football Championships: 3 2003, 2005, 2008 All-Ireland Under-21 Football Championships: 4 1991, 1992, 2000, 2001 All-Ireland Minor Football Championships: 4 1998, 2001, 2004, 2008 All-Ireland Vocational Schools Championships: 6 1988, 1989, 1998, 2004, 2005, 2007 National Football Leagues: 2 2002, 2003 Ulster Senior Football Championships: 9 1986, 1989, 1995, 1996, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2010 Ulster Under-21 Football Championships: 8 1990, 1991, 1992, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2006 Ulster Minor Football Championships: 10 1988, 1993, 1997, 1998, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2010 Ulster Junior Football Championships: 1 1986 Dr. McKenna Cups: 4 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007
That would be 55 Ulster and All Ireland titles
Antrim
Honours All-Ireland Vocational Schools Championships: 0 All-Ireland Under-21 Football Championships: 0 All-Ireland Senior 'B' Football Championships: 1 1999 Tommy Murphy Cups: 1 2008 Dr. McKenna Cups: 0 Ulster Senior Football Championships: 0
That would be ahm 2
Hurling to follow
omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 23/07/2010 20:09:20
Antrim
Christy Ring Cup: 1 2006 All-Ireland Junior Hurling Championships: 1 2002 National Hurling Leagues: 1 2003 (Div 2) All-Ireland Senior B Hurling Championships: 0 Walsh Cup: 1 2008 Ulster titles: Senior: 17 , 1989-91, 1993-94, 1996, 1998-99, 2002-09, 2010 Under 21: 12 '88, '89, '91, '92, '94, '95, '96, '98, '99, '00, 2002, '06 Minor: 21 - 86, '87, '88, '92, '93, '95-99, '00, '01, 2002, '03, '04, '05, '06, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010
Tyrone
Ulster Junior Hurling Championships: 3 1995, 1996, 1999 Lory Meagher Cups: 1 2009
So the total sum of Ulster and Al Irelands won in the last 25 years in both codes is Antrim 65 Tyrone 59. Now, bearing in mind that for the most part Antrim only have to win one game for the Ulster championship then these victories are slightly tarnished. More to the fact, considering that you have 50 ulster championships to have only contested 2 all ireland finals is a poor return, approx 4%. Tyrone whilst having only won a meagre 13 Ulster titles have played in 5, a miserly 38%. Amazing for all this superiority that the cabinets are so bare when it comes to the big stage
omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 23/07/2010 20:26:54
So, for all this dominance in hurling Antrim have how many more Liam McCarthy wins than Tyrone exactly?
omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 23/07/2010 20:28:37
Thats it Omagh give it to him!!!
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/07/2010 20:29:36
23/07/2010 20:26:54 omaghredhand County: Tyrone
So the total sum of Ulster and Al Irelands won in the last 25 years in both codes is Antrim 65 Tyrone 59. Now, bearing in mind that for the most part Antrim only have to win one game for the Ulster championship then these victories are slightly tarnished
I have finally got it.
1: Antrim's achievements at hurling are devalued because Tyrone are not very good at hurling. Got you. So yer man Brian What'sisname who manages yer men with the sticks who wear the black and amber stripped jerseys, they think they are somebodies and actually they are useless. Five in a row in a sport that Tyrone are not good at? Sure what sort of an achievement is that? Catch yerselves on.
I assume the achievements of Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls, Derek Jeter and the New York Yankees and say Lionel Messi and Barcelona are seriously devalued for the same reason?
All those individual gods of sport, Ali, Muralitharan, Warne, Woods, federer, all devalued as Tyrone were not very good in those fields.
The greatest sportsman ever then was probably Terry Griffiths, because at least he beat a Tyrone man in his world final? Got you now.
2: Gaelic football began not in the 1880s as widely thought, or even 2003 as some in Tyrone thought, but rather it was in 1991. Thanks for that.
How did I ever imagine that the like of Mick O'Dwyer whose sole achievement as a player and manager was getting Kildare to a losing all Final in 1998 was a legend? What possessed me to think of that?
So certainly Tyrone are the greatest GAA force ever in Gaelic football. They could be the first county ever to win a three in a row, even a four in a row, (if they ever manage a two in a row first.)
And Cavan fans on here attacking Tyrone and not only have Cavan never won an all Ireland they have only won one Ulster title in the history of Gaelic football!!!! The nerve of some people.
So thanks Omaghredhand for sorting that out, the history lesson, and for putting me straight.
Could I ask if you are a Manchester United supporter, seeing as the history of soccer began around the same time, 1993 to be exact.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 24/07/2010 11:11:14
A lot of people here on the wrong tablets
BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 24/07/2010 11:18:23
O D'ed more like
It's like Acrington Stanley comparing Nothern Paint trophy achievements with Real Madrid
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 24/07/2010 13:04:19
24/07/2010 11:18:23 BIG SACKS County: Tyrone Posts: 1178
721140 A lot of people here on the wrong tablets
Yes. And they all appear to be from the same county.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 24/07/2010 13:18:38
patrique County: Antrim Posts: 8934
1: Antrim's achievements at hurling are devalued because Tyrone are not very good at hurling. Got you. So yer man Brian What'sisname who manages yer men with the sticks who wear the black and amber stripped jerseys, they think they are somebodies and actually they are useless. Five in a row in a sport that Tyrone are not good at? Sure what sort of an achievement is that? Catch yerselves on.
I assume the achievements of Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls, Derek Jeter and the New York Yankees and say Lionel Messi and Barcelona are seriously devalued for the same reason?
All those individual gods of sport, Ali, Muralitharan, Warne, Woods, federer, all devalued as Tyrone were not very good in those fields. The greatest sportsman ever then was probably Terry Griffiths, because at least he beat a Tyrone man in his world final? Got you now. 2: Gaelic football began not in the 1880s as widely thought, or even 2003 as some in Tyrone thought, but rather it was in 1991. Thanks for that.
How did I ever imagine that the like of Mick O'Dwyer whose sole achievement as a player and manager was getting Kildare to a losing all Final in 1998 was a legend? What possessed me to think of that? So certainly Tyrone are the greatest GAA force ever in Gaelic football. They could be the first county ever to win a three in a row, even a four in a row, (if they ever manage a two in a row first.) And Cavan fans on here attacking Tyrone and not only have Cavan never won an all Ireland they have only won one Ulster title in the history of Gaelic football!!!! The nerve of some people.
So thanks Omaghredhand for sorting that out, the history lesson, and for putting me straight. Could I ask if you are a Manchester United supporter, seeing as the history of soccer began around the same time, 1993 to be exact.
1. Antrims achievements at hurling are not devalued because Tyrone are not good at hurling, its because out of 50 Ulster titles they have won 2 semi finals, surely an indication that wining an Ulster championship in hurling is not actually that great a deal. As I said before, they have the same amount of Liam McCarthy's as Tyrone, or any other Ulster county for that matter. Brian Cody et al, have had to win at least 4 games to win an All Ireland against the best sides hurling has to offer, so this comparison is somewhat silly. Jordan, Jeter and Messi? What in under of God are you spoofing about?
2. As you had provided details of the previous 75 years, I thought that it would be somewhat tedious to trawl back over that period. As there was no Ulster championship from 1950-1988 I thought that it would be unfair on Antrim to include this era as it would impact adversely on them. As well as this, lets be honest, very few of us on here were around to tell of pre world war 2 victories, so in my opinion they are what they are and mean very little else. Lets also be honest, Cavan's last victory was in 1952. As great an achievement as this was, being there 5th, again to all intent and purpose it means very little to those under 60 years of age. Why do you bring other counties into this in any case. All I hear from you is how wonderful Antrim are and how great they are at this and at that, when in fact the one sport that they are "good" at, it appears in the grand scheme of things that they are not really that good in the bigger picture. I realise that you are an old man and hanker back for the old pre Hitler days, but sometimes you have to live inthe here and now as opposed to the past. Is that not why this we province is in the state it's in?
I am a Man Utd follower as you well know, and I attended my first game in 1983 when I was 6 years old. What has this got to do with the price of spuds?
Anyhow, I'm leaving Fagans now to go and cheer on Antrim in the absence of its number 1 supporter. I will keep you posted.
omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 24/07/2010 13:24:55
ochonlir County: Cavan Posts: 1126
721210 O D'ed more like
It's like Acrington Stanley comparing Nothern Paint trophy achievements with Real Madrid
The Ulster SHC trophy cannot be compared to the Northern Piant trophy, how dare you
omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 24/07/2010 13:28:00
Obviously, I'm going to watch the football today and watch Antrim tomorrow in the absence of their number one supporter
omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 24/07/2010 13:30:03
Patrique... One Question.
As much as I enjoy your moronic rantings at times, I cant help but feel that someone from Tyrone has hurt you in the past? Times a great healer.
Change the record for Gods sake!
AnFoirGael (Tyrone) - Posts: 19 - 24/07/2010 13:38:37
24/07/2010 13:24:55 omaghredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 2066
I am a Man Utd follower
Gosh. What a lucky guess!!!!!
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 24/07/2010 13:39:36
I was going to respond to a few of the decent posts in the first couple of pages and then i got to page 3 and guess what??? Patrique to ruin another thread with his incessant ramblings. Why do you feel the need to try and belittle every post with your " I'm never wrong " attitude. Get a grip man and try not to be so confrontational all the time. Jaysus your even sucking me into responding to your garbage.
kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 24/07/2010 13:51:09
why did you just post that, you fell into the trap
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 24/07/2010 13:54:31
I know i have. So many times i've felt like that and not responded but at times frustration gets the better of you.
kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 24/07/2010 14:28:49
24/07/2010 13:38:37 AnFoirGael County: Tyrone Posts: 16
721250 Patrique... One Question.
As much as I enjoy your moronic rantings at times, I cant help but feel that someone from Tyrone has hurt you in the past? Times a great healer.
Change the record for Gods sake!
Stop praising Tyrone and giving them COMPLIMENTS like comparing them to the World Champions and best team in the world in another sport?
Are you suggesting I should, God forbid, CRITICISE Tyrone?
If praising them causes all this, I shudder to think what criticising them would do..............
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 24/07/2010 15:20:02
kingpuck71 County: Derry Posts: 515
. Why do you feel the need to try and belittle every post with your " I'm never wrong " attitude
Therin lies the problem Kingpuck.
The use of words like right and wrong. I might think Tony McCoy is the best jump jockey in the world, someone else might think it is Ruby Walsh.
No-one can be proved scientifically right or wrong, they are just opinions. We might use stats and such to argue the case but it is still just an opinion.
I hold the opinion that Tyrone had a really good team in 2005.
Not so good now as results in the intervening 5 years would suggest, with Kerry winning 3 all Irelands to Tyrone's one, but that is only my OPINION. Despite Kerry winning all those titles since 2005 I could be wrong.
As I say, just my opinion.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 24/07/2010 16:23:37