Tony Browne

geraldine park 10 Kilkenny havent a hope of beating Tipp in the final no more than they did last year save for a dodgy ref and a dodgy penalty which we will prove to everyone this year and Tony Browne has been destroyed by Tipp to answer your question in last years Munster final when we won it and as he is 37 Bonnar Maher or Gearoid Ryan will take him for a tour around croker I bet he retires after the game with a few more of the Waterford lads!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 05/08/2010 12:41:42    736664

Kilkenny 32 you are talking rubbish again my man! and yes I have played minor hurling with Tipperary and also won a senior Aall Ireland medal with them in New York so you see I have played the game quite well maybe even better than you my friend with all your talk. Face up to it Tipp will always beat ye in All Ireland finals all you have to do is look at the record books my friend the stats dont lie. Ye got a lucky dodgy penalty that was a free out for overcarrying and ye didnt deserve to win it cos Tipp were the better team on the day the whole country knows that. We could do anothe r1964 on ye when we beat ye 14 or 15 points in the final and put ye back years. Ye won 2 handy all irelands against hopeless opposition last year was robbery and Il credit ye for the Cork one. We will see how ye get on this year!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 05/08/2010 12:48:57    736680

Kilkenny 32 could you explain how Clare u21s are the team to beat in Munster seeing as Tipp are Munster champions and will be all ireland champions in September where are kk u21 with all your so called underage talent are you forgetting the two in a row minor All Irelands Tipp won in 06 and 07 beating ye along the way? Just wondering about your so called underage talent in Kilkenny cos ye dont seem to have much coming through at the moment my friend!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 05/08/2010 12:52:29    736684

I totally agree with you booboo whats is Kilkenny 32 talking about underage talent in Kilkenny , they cant even beat the Dublin u21 team hes talking about Clare being the team to beat in Munster yet Tipp are the Munster champions, coming from Kilkenny he doesnt seem to know much about the small ball and if he looks at the record books he should see that Tipp cou;ld pick a few lads from the crossroads to beat them in an all ireland final . I suppose hes just looking at the current decade of success that kk have which will end this year by ye or by us and thay have nothing coming through. He needs to wake up and smell the coffee

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 05/08/2010 12:56:43    736692

thurlesblues you are giving me an intense hatred of tipp with your annoying posts. This thread is about the man, the legend, tony browne. not anything to do with tipp playing kilkenny.

patmcgee (Longford) - Posts: 520 - 05/08/2010 13:16:23    736724

thurlesblues - I bet Cork are hoping they win on Sunday, and yourselves win next week, just so they can get a second training session against ye like they had earlier in the summer!

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 05/08/2010 13:20:23    736730

Lohansredhelmet fair play to ye for 1997 but yel never do to us what we did to ye a 20 point beating like 93 and if the back door system came in before 90s wed have been beating twice every year but ye can enjoy 97 ye wont be heard of for a long time now

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 05/08/2010 15:00:58    736933

Kilkenny 32 have you read my reply to put you back in your box and boboo is right Tipp and Cork kept ye down for years ye have onky started to dominate in the last decade and fair play to ye for that but in all fairness man Tipp and Cork have been doing that in the 40s 50s 60 70s 80s early 90s get my drift enjoy it while it lasts!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 05/08/2010 15:05:07    736940

And to ye all out there Im not knocking Tony Browne but how is he a legend how many all irelands has he won how many all stars has he won and hel probably retire after next Sunday! He is a good hurler but not a legend.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 05/08/2010 15:07:06    736943

Tony Browne has 1 all-Ireland under 21 medal Thurlesblues.

He has played in 56 championship hurling matches for Waterford.

Some record. A legend, definitely.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6510 - 05/08/2010 15:52:32    737041

pure legend that it :)

farneyleader (Monaghan) - Posts: 72 - 05/08/2010 18:14:47    737307

patmcgee:

Don't tar us all with the same brush.... I thinking about putting up the funds to send him on holidays again

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 05/08/2010 19:46:34    737437

hag

how much do you want ???

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 06/08/2010 09:11:27    737638

Tony Browne has 1 all-Ireland under 21 medal Thurlesblues.

Thats a lot of games Slayer but as I said how many senior all ireland medals and all star awards has he then we will see if hes a legend

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 06/08/2010 12:19:54    737907

06/08/2010 12:19:54
thurlesblues
County: Tipperary

737907 Tony Browne has 1 all-Ireland under 21 medal Thurlesblues.

Thats a lot of games Slayer but as I said how many senior all ireland medals and all star awards has he then we will see if hes a legend

--

plenty of Tipp 'legends' from the past 40 years without 1 all-ireland!

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 06/08/2010 12:42:03    737953

thurlesblues write:

you made no reference to the word 'senior'. This is what you said:

And to ye all out there Im not knocking Tony Browne but how is he a legend how many all irelands has he won

And I told you he has one.

I don't think you need all-Ireland medals to be a great player. Declan Browne, Tipp footballer, a legend, cold have gone to Cork to play, but remained loyal to Tipperary. Saw him on 'the road to croker' one night where he said he always had offers to move but he loved playing for Tipp and stated there. GAA is not all about medals thurlesblues. Limerick had a brilliant hurling team from 1980-84, but we found it very hard to get past Cork and if we did, then Galway proved too tough for us. But we still had some legendary players.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6510 - 06/08/2010 12:54:26    737983

plenty of Tipp 'legends' from the past 40 years without 1 all-ireland

Abhainn can you tell me the names of any of these players you are talking about over the last 40 years cos in that period Tipp have won 4 all ireland titles???

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 06/08/2010 12:57:56    737987

thurlesblues for one - he was a mythical Tipp man who won a mythical All Ireland in 86, bizarrely enough the same year Galway won the actual real live all-ireland.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 06/08/2010 13:14:43    738017

86??

Cork 4-13 Galway 2-15

Cork went 4-10 to 0-15 up with 10 mins to go, Galway goalkeeper John Commins scored a late penalty, the late Galway rally was not enough and the Rebels won the day. Galway did however win the semi final V Kilkenny with one of the best tactical demolitions I've ever seen in hurling. They picked Pierce Piggott at full forward & got him to play as a third midfielder. Cooney & Lane ran riot in the firsthalf, led 2-7 to 0-5 at the break & went on to win 4-12 to 0-13. In the final, the Rebels were ready for that tactic & Johnny Crowley played as a spare man. By the time Galway went back to a 3 man full forward line the game was up.

Other memories of 86 .........

Clare 2-14 Limerick 0-14. At one stage we led 0-9 to 1-1, but Ennis is often Limerick's graveyard in hurling, as we have since learned in 93 & 06.

86, not a great year for hurling.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6510 - 06/08/2010 13:47:57    738064

apologies slayer, a typo!

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 06/08/2010 13:58:37    738086