The great Tipperary team of the 1960s

I feel sorry for H and C and Lowerormond and all the Tipp posters,but they shouldnt feel embaressed by thurlesblues rantings,the rest of us think he is so funny,and probably would rank up there with the best when it comes to WUMs

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 541 - 16/07/2010 17:01:32    711765

admin would it be possible to shut down this thread?

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 16/07/2010 17:10:48    711779

Ahh lads, he's not that bad! You're only encouraging him anyway!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 16/07/2010 17:13:15    711782

I like him. He is amusing. At least he is consistent. And he is a better funnier WUM than most. He has made an impact on his short life here!

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 16/07/2010 17:27:59    711794

1985 Justin McCarthy talks up a storm

"I think 70 per cent of Tipperary's wins back then [in the 1950s and '60s] were physical. The aim was getting the man out of the game, hitting him, putting him off, jolting him. And the other 30 per cent was hurling. You cannot go out and try to play the type of game which they played last Sunday. putting fellas out of their stride by giving them a jolt here and a handle there, hitting off the ball." Thus Justin McCarthy in a Cork Examiner interview after the 1985 Munster final at Pairc Ui Chaoimh, a match remembered as much for the rough-house tactics as it was for Cork's six-point win in an eight-goal encounter.

The ensuing fuss saw the Tipperary county board threatening never to travel to Leeside again, county secretary Tommy Barrett declaring that no Cork player had been "badly hurt" (so that made it alright then) and John Doyle speaking of the possibility of "a big reprisal".

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 16/07/2010 17:42:05    711810

In the early 1960s Cork had hit rock bottom, Limerick and Clare were struggling, and Waterford had one of their better teams.

In Leinster Wexford were rebuilding, having shocked Tipp in the 1960 final, and kilkenny had the makings of a team. Galway were not a power then.

In 1961 Tipp beat Dublin by a point oin the final, and in 1962 pipped Wexford after getting two very early goals. In 1963 Waterford beat Tipp in the League final and in Munster. They had already beaten many of the same players by 9-3 to 3-4 in the Munster semi final in 1959.

However it was the 1964/65 Tipp team that were great and you can only beat what was in front of you, and they destroyed everyone. Jimmy Doyle, Babs, Donnie Nealon, Mick Roche, some side. However New York maaged to beat them a few times in the league.

And to clear up a few things. saying Kilkenny hadn't beaten Tipp for 45 years is a bit mis leading as the current Kilkenny team havn't beaten Antrim at all in the championship, simply haven't played them.

And John Doyle's "hell's kitchen" period was the 1949-51 team.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/07/2010 19:03:41    711907

Patrique you are a great yoke! The 64, 65 team were unbeatable but I said cats didnt beat us in 36 years not 45 years . Im not being arrogant but do you know what John Doyle said about the cats?. He said that Tipp used to pick a few lads off the crossroads when we knew we were playing in an all ireland final against them, it was that simple and the record books of all ireland finals between the two teams will show that. Sorry for sounding arrogant and I dont mean to be, but I know John well and those were the facts at the time and I can see those times coming again very shortly!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 19:50:41    711947

And I know about hells kitchen Patrique Kieran Carey John Doyle and John Maher

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 19:53:37    711955

The rattler byrnes was some yoke Patrique , he used to put manners on the opposing forwards used to draw a circle around them with the hurley before the game started and say to the forward your a dead man if you step inside that circle!! Used to put the fear of the premier into them .What banter and some hurler in his day.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 19:57:04    711957

Patrique knows his stuff on hurling but Id question the knowledge of hags and cheese and ormond man, they claim to be from Tipp but Im beginning to wonder! wildpundit is sitting on the fence but Patrique has his research done and he knows his hurling I salute you Patrique!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 20:01:48    711964

The more Thurles Sarsfields men we have on the Tipp team the better like we had before we, are getting there we now have 4 on the panel . In the 60s we had 11 and we won 4 out of five all irelands Durlas abu!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 20:51:22    712023

sour grapes mossbags ! Did you see Tommy Walsh throwing the hurley at Johno Brien in the league final last year in frustration after Johno beat him and scored the point was that ok in your book? or do you think that the ref was right to let him get away with it? Tipp are sick of listening to this kind of begrudgery and nonsense!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 20:56:36    712029

mossbags, Jimmy Doyle was well used to getting the rough end of the stick and dirty3rd man tackles from the likes of Cork and Kilkenny in his time, but we can also be just as physical as the rest when we are pushed and long may we be able to, we have to deal with that kind of thing when you are from the premier county!!
We will mix it with the good or the bad depending on which way we get it!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 21:20:56    712059

thurlesblues
County: Tipperary

Patrique you are a great yoke! The 64, 65 team were unbeatable but I said cats didnt beat us in 36 years not 45 years .

Now I am a bit lazy to look this up but I suggest Kilkenny won in 1922 and again in 1967. That's 45 years. In between times they didn't play that often. I suggest that since 1991 Kilkenny have beaten and crushed Tipp on a fairly similar number of occasions.

I remember Tipp winning their 21st against a young Wexford team in 1965, no fuss, it was simply expected. At that stage Kilkenny had 15 titles.

Since then, again 45 years, Tipp have won 4 titles, Kilkenny have won 17. Hard times indeed.

By the 1960s the "hell's kitchen" days of John Doyle, Byrne and Brennan were long gone. That expression was more or less given to the 1949-51 Tipp 3 in a row, followed by the 1952-54 Cork 3 in a row.

And as already pointed out the Tipp team from the great years, 1964/65 did lose, to New York on a scoreline of 3-9 to 2-9 in the 2nd leg of the 64/65 league final. Tipp won the first leg 4-10 to 2-11. In the final the year before they had pipped New York by 4-16 to 6-6.

The end of the road came in the "home" league final of 1966 when Kilkennty beat them in a low scoring game, 0-9 to 0-7. I was at that one.

Kilkenny finished them off in 1967 in the all Ireland hurling final when Ollie walsh, who put his arm through the train window on the way to the game requiring stitches, had a great game, and Tom Walsh, a boyhood hero of mine, had the awful accident.

In 1968 in a last hurrah, Tipp were well ahead of wexford in the 1968 final only to be caught and well beaten in the second half. I was sitting on top of the wall in the Old Canal end for that one.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/07/2010 21:28:48    712067

Mossbags, Tipp have the same number of football All Irelands as ye have in hurling and we won the last one in 1920s around the black and tans time no wonder you are grasping at straws when it comes to the premier and all Ireland titles we won all yer titles in the 60s thats 4 Galway man!!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 21:32:50    712075

Yes Patrique, but they didnt finish us off in 67 ,as we beat them again in 1971 and 1991 and only for robbery we would have again in 2009 and by the way you are right, we were ahead in all irelands in 71, how lucky for the rest that we went to sleep for awhile but I think we are well rested now!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 21:44:20    712093

Well Patrique, if you were siiting on the wall in the Canal End in 1968, i was right underneath you, looking up at you.
I had cycled to Roundwood that morning and cycled to Croke Park and tied my bike to railings - which was the last time, i saw that particular bike.
Well, it was worth it to see Mick Roche that day - although Wexford had something to say about that in the second half.

tifram (Dublin) - Posts: 36 - 16/07/2010 22:00:35    712117

It is unusual to see a poster to make 2 posts in a row on this forum. When I opened this thread apart from the opening post, I just skimmed through the rest but I couldn't believe it when I saw thurlesblues make 6 in a row, I counted them to make sure I was right and decided to make a comment on it. Then I continued down and saw he had bettered this by going on another solo run and making7 posts in a row. A WUM of course but a different type then the usual. Like pudders I take no offence at all from his ramblings and actually find him very amusing. I just wonder how he is going to react if Tipp come badly unstuck in this years Championship.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 17/07/2010 09:59:59    712128

corkcelt

712128 It is unusual to see a poster to make 2 posts in a row on this forum. When I opened this thread apart from the opening post, I just skimmed through the rest but I couldn't believe it when I saw thurlesblues make 6 in a row, I counted them to make sure I was right and decided to make a comment on it. Then I continued down and saw he had bettered this by going on another solo run and making7 posts in a row. A WUM of course but a different type then the usual. Like pudders I take no offence at all from his ramblings and actually find him very amusing. I just wonder how he is going to react if Tipp come badly unstuck in this years Championship.

Thank God for us all that this is the only 6 or 7 in a row that Tipp will ever achieve. Given your vast knowledge of historical hurling thurlesblues, How does the Tipp team of the 60's compare to the great Antrim team of CuChulainn and the Red Branch Knights who went about 500 years unbeaten between 2750 and 2250 BC? It's about as relavent a question to modern hurling as the ones you ask.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 17/07/2010 11:58:10    712196

thurlesblues
County: Tipperary

The rattler byrnes was some yoke Patrique , he used to put manners on the opposing forwards used to draw a circle around them with the hurley before the game started and say to the forward your a dead man if you step inside that circle!! Used to put the fear of the premier into them .What banter and some hurler in his day.

He made one mistake though. The day he tried to put a man named ' Christy Ring ' on the floor. Rattler Byrne came out the wrong end of it when Ring met him in the goal with a decking.

premierfan (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 17/07/2010 12:29:43    712217