The great Tipperary team of the 1960s

As Thurlesblues in his short life on here seems to have hijacked every hurling thread on here to tell us about the great Tipp hurling team of John Doyle and Hell's kitchen, I'd thought we'd have a thread where he could amuse us all on here with his musings on that team.

Now I never saw that team play as I was too late, but everyone always spoke highly of them and the great Father Tommy Maher was offered the Kilkenny job for as long as he wanted it if he managed to beat Tipp in a league match which they did in 1967 I think. That Kilkenny team went on to be one of the great Kilkenny teams.

So thurlesblues, if teh Harlem Globetrotters were given a year's hurling training, how many minutes would they be able to stay with the Tipp team of the '60s?

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 16/07/2010 14:49:55    711531

Isnt there a Hurling forum for this stuff...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/07/2010 14:54:29    711541

Puddersthecat as I said just because ye beat Tipp in 67 doesnt change anything the present kilnenny team would last 45 mins with them, I know you dont like to hear the truth but cest la vie. i think it actually took ye over 36 years to beat us in a championship game

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 15:04:52    711563

by the way puddersthecat what else did that 67 Kilkenny team win? You said they were a great team

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 15:08:58    711571

pudderscat I think you are amusing us with your one hit onder in 67.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 15:10:27    711578

You are entitled to your opinion pudderscat as a Kilkenny man and I am entitled to mine as a Tipp man in relation to who was the greatest hurling team of all time and we disagree on it!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 15:15:18    711589

Oh! puddersthecat that Kilkenny team of 1967 is that thr great team you speak of that lost the All Ireland to Tipp in 1964 by about 17 points yeah they sound like a great team alrighy now that is amusing!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 15:18:48    711597

jimbodub this is a hurling forum!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 15:53:51    711656

Lads just out of interest is there anyone on this forum that agree's with what Thurlesblues says??

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 16/07/2010 15:57:15    711659

thurlesblue likes to talk to himself as can be seen above

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 16/07/2010 16:06:56    711675

Would the Tipperary team of the 1960's live with the Limerick team of the 1930's?

Obviously in those 30 years training methods may have improved and styles might have changed, but I don't see much mention of Tipperary in the article below. In fact the only side who seemed able to get the better of Limerick in this era, was .......... Kilkenny.

So on the list of great hurling teams would we have

1 - Kilkenny present
2 - Limerick 1930's
3 - ????

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mick_Mackey

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6526 - 16/07/2010 16:06:59    711676

Didn't that Kilkenny team in 67 beat Tipp in the final?

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 16/07/2010 16:08:35    711679

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

711659 Lads just out of interest is there anyone on this forum that agree's with what Thurlesblues says??

No! You would have to have a few screws loose to agree with most of the stuff he says

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 16/07/2010 16:26:51    711697

that was a one hit wonder abhainn!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 16:27:43    711700

Slayer how many all irelands did the Limerick team of the 1930s win we won nearly as many all irelands in one decade than ye have in 136 years my man!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 16:31:27    711707

thurlesblues
County: Tipperary

711656 jimbodub this is a hurling forum!

Ohh right...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/07/2010 16:35:43    711713

connollydub another man who wont agree with the facts

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 16:37:04    711717

we won 2 thurlesblues, but there you go contradticing yourself again.

We won 2 in the 30's, ye won 4 in the 60's and Kilkenny won 7 in the 00's.

Face it, they put ye in the shade.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6526 - 16/07/2010 16:37:30    711718

As I said Slayer ye have 7 in all and we won 4 in that decade so we did win nearly as many as yer total in the 60s! does that put it in the shade for you??

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/07/2010 16:39:20    711721

All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship
September 3
Final
Kilkenny 3-8 - 2-7 Tipperary Croke Park, Dublin
Attendance: 64,241
Referee: M. Hayes (Clare)
T. Walsh (1-2), P. Moran (1-0), M. Brennan (1-0), E. Keher (0-3), C. Dunne (0-2), R. Blanchfield (0-1). D. Nealon (2-0), Jimmy Doyle (0-5), M. Roche (0-2).

1967 result Thurlesblues. I suppose you were a bit blue that day.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 16/07/2010 17:00:41    711764