Over Passionate = Cover name for 'filth'!! Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/07/2010 14:32:55 708760 Link 0 |
Martin McHugh said today in the Star that the ref was arrogant, was the cause of his own hassles and practically brought it on himself, He went so far as to say that the ref waited for anyone who "wanted a go" Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 14/07/2010 14:49:03 708799 Link 0 |
Louth Gael chin up lad, these clowns on here are whiter than white, speaking from self imposed pedestals, if you get a chance to go to some Meath Club championship games you'll sent plenty worse than last sunday, Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1873 - 14/07/2010 16:05:30 709013 Link 0 |
I think there is over-reaction on both sides of the fense here. Speaking specifically about what happened to the ref, I think it is wrong to justify it, but I also think it's ludicrous to carry on like it's the worst thing to have happened on a football field in the last century. I've seen refs jostled practically every season I've played club football, by my own team mates, and by the opposition. It is obviously out of order, but lets have some perspective here. Saladin (Cavan) - Posts: 29 - 14/07/2010 16:32:41 709070 Link 0 |
Ollie, Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 14/07/2010 17:40:24 709236 Link 0 |
cheers slasher.its a very bitter pill to swallow but its time to move on. OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/07/2010 18:11:58 709282 Link 0 |
More than 5 or 6 a disgrace hitting ex meath manager and fighting outside ground. Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 14/07/2010 21:11:02 709518 Link 0 |
Enough Dellboy. You've said nothing new or original since Monday. Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 14/07/2010 21:22:33 709539 Link 0 |
Greengrass Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 14/07/2010 21:29:39 709557 Link 0 |
louth and meath have dragged the gaa through the gutter since sunday.both poor teams david09 (Kildare) - Posts: 115 - 14/07/2010 21:33:19 709570 Link 0 |
cop on david and crawl back under your stone francie81 (Louth) - Posts: 242 - 14/07/2010 21:39:50 709588 Link 0 |
I have condemned all the unsavoury acts and all the acts of thuggery out of hand. I have criticised the branding of the Meath players as cheats. I have disagreed with the idea of a replay. I am fed up of you endlessly saying the same thing again and again and again Dell. You are like an old broken vinyl album. I had them and boy were they a pain in the butt. Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 14/07/2010 21:42:28 709593 Link 0 |
Nice one david09. So Meath and louth = Poor teams. So in simple terms, louth kicked kildare off the park without losing any boot polish = Kildare are pure muck....And I hope we get ye later in the championship just to prove yet again that Kildare are bottlers!! Headtheball1 (Louth) - Posts: 78 - 14/07/2010 21:43:09 709597 Link 0 |
There should be no attempt to justify any manhandling of the ref. But there has been an attempt here to unfairly deamonise all Louth supporters. re general behaviour. From watching the match on Sunday it was quite clear and BOTH sets of supporters booed the free takers although in the commentary only the Louth supporters were refered to. mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 15/07/2010 08:54:32 709700 Link 0 |
In fairnes Mod Louth were doing much more booing then Meath and Meath only began booing after they had 3 or 4 free kicks which there was excessive booing. Still thats no excuse on Meaths part and I was dissappointed at it and it should not happen. However what numerous Louth supporters were saying to Meath supporters after the match was appalling, the things that were said to both adults and children were disgusting. Once again it was only a minority of Louth supporters but these minorities soon start to add up. What they said I cant put up on post as the administrator will not post it, but it was appalling, all because we support the county we are from. It is leading me to believe that Louth in general have bad sportmanship from both players and supporters, sad to say but that is how it is looking to me. Duffster (Meath) - Posts: 279 - 15/07/2010 10:06:26 709763 Link 0 |
My first comment on the issue of whistling, jeering and heckling before free-kicks. I noticed this during the Louth-Westmeath game and was readily prepared for it before every Cian Ward free. I was not to be disappointed. I feel there is a soccer mentality to a lot of Louth GAA support, which of course isn't a surprise in a predominantly soccer county. Another cultured tradition with Louth is excessive cheering when an opposition player kicks a shot wide or short, what exactly are they appaulding? The supporters of Louth had already created a public opinion of themselves long before the few thugs got loose on the pitch, in the corporate boxes and outside the grounds. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 15/07/2010 10:25:08 709789 Link 0 |
Loyal2TheRoyal kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 15/07/2010 10:37:45 709817 Link 0 |
Dellboypolecat kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 15/07/2010 11:13:19 709877 Link 0 |
What happened to the ref was not good watching for anyone, but he was not punched just pushed around, but the bottle throwing is totally different. By the way in the Meath / Dublin game towards the end of the game , a Dublin fan from the hill threw a bottle over into the Meath fans in the Cusack stand. A garda was told but that fan will never be found. So it does happen in other games , just because its not caught on camera it does nt make the headlines. I feel bad for Louth genuine fans but if the the ref said he made a mistake and the goal should not have been allowed then the cup should have been handed over to Louth. Its not Meath's fault in any way but how can Meath say they won it fairly?. Best of Luck to both teams from here on. FLUFFY (None) - Posts: 38 - 15/07/2010 12:42:54 710061 Link 0 |
Louth Gael Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 15/07/2010 13:47:30 710188 Link 0 |