Over passionate Louth fans

No i can assure you i was not one of them but i cannot say i wouldn't have been one had i seen the incident, i was in the cusack near the hill and could not tell what had happened i was just sickened with the righteous crap that i was hearing on here about thugs and lout.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 13/07/2010 21:27:13    707981

13/07/2010 19:55:34
omaghredhand

707816 joseff
County: Louth

702488 I hope Meath win it anyway

Yours In Sport,
Joseff (supporting the royals)

Well sure you should be happy enough with the result. What right has any supporter (loose use of the term) to come on to apitch and give his/her opinion to a referee?

___________________________________________________________________________________

Winning a Leinster Final should be a wounderful occasion, players should be able to look back with great honour on the medal they hold for the rest of their lives.

The way things are, o Meath player could feel pride in that medal
They know they shouldn't have it, and will forever be tarnished.

Therefore, there must be a replay for Meaths sake as much as Louth.

In relation to your point on the supporters, I think they should be free to offer their opinion. Youv'e said m,ore than enough here yourself about the history of the ref involoved in the contraversity.

Yours In Sport,
Joseff

joseff (Louth) - Posts: 964 - 13/07/2010 21:34:56    707994

I agree with Gaillimh Abu.

If a ref did'nt see it then he shouldnt give it.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2952 - 13/07/2010 21:39:02    708006

Sorry but there is no way that there can be any tolerance of the actions of the supporters and players in their treatment of the referee after the game, no matter how bad he was. Trying to say that they are over-passionate??? I hope that there is severe action taken against these people, it is not what the GAA is about.

But is there a running theme in Louth GAA with over passionate supporters?
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=115985

regal (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 13/07/2010 21:40:28    708011

Louth Gael
County: Louth

707981 No i can assure you i was not one of them but i cannot say i wouldn't have been one had i seen the incident, i was in the cusack near the hill and could not tell what had happened i was just sickened with the righteous crap that i was hearing on here about thugs and lout.

What in your opinion wcould qualify a person as being a thug then?

You've already described the Louth supporters at the and as merely being "proud fans". Which in itself is a fairly unjust comment.

Would Louth Gael's comments be a fair reflection on the general populus of Louth' feeling towards the fans' actions at the end of the game? I'd be worried if it were.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 13/07/2010 21:42:13    708014

All I can say is there are a few posters who have dropped in my estimation on here

I cant believe this is the type of supporter we have in the GAA. You wouldnt see a player who missed an open goal or was at fault for a goal treated in the same way would you?! Dont forget that the ref has been running about for 70mins just like the other players and a tired body leads to a tired mind. Sure, he made a mistake. Sure, he should have consulted his umpires for longer. But for anyone not to condemn the actions of those at the end of the game is terrible. A bit of bloody respect would not go amiss!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 13/07/2010 21:44:29    708018

Louth Gael,

Do you think that abusing the referee and Meath players and throwing bottles is going to undo the wrong done to Louth ? Not in a thousand years !! Whatever sympathy the neutral supporters had for Louth was lost in the aftermath of the game. I wanted Louth to win but i lost a lot of respect for them because of the incidents and the referee is only human (have spoken about him on another thread as he made many mistakes in the game mostly against Meath) !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/07/2010 21:44:32    708019

sponger
County: Wicklow

707979 ATTA

What that ref did last Sunday can NEVER be forgiven.

Such nonsense.

A mistake is a mistake. Players make them all the time and make significantly more of them in one game than any referee has in his entire career.

We learn from making mistakes, and moving on to perfect them. If you are suggesting that this referee's mistakes can't be forgiven, then how do you propose referees are trained?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 13/07/2010 21:48:20    708024

Disgraceful comments Louth Gael.
This is exactly what's wrong, people like you claiming that the action of these mindless thugs is acceptable. The fact that you say you've seen this before and have accepted it is just wrong. I hope for Louth's sake that you are not involved with any club, although given your comments I'm sure that your like would not be welcomed in any GAA club. Under no circumstance can violence be tolerated. The people responsible should be identified, receive a lifetime ban from all GAA sports and be criminally prosecuted by Gardai.

GreenGael (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 14/07/2010 08:55:57    708071

In relation to referees and umpires I believe its a culture issue. We all know the score every ref recruits 4 friends from his club and they form a team, the ref is the real boss and the lads have bit parts almost exclusively there to judge whether the ball goes over the bar or wide. In Rugby, in the big games the Ref is fitted with a microphone and all decisions are transparent. If a linesman calls the Refs attention to an incident, the Ref is not too proud to take advice he will ask the linesman what should I do and act on his reccomendation. Part of this confidence stems from the fact that the linesmen are Refs in their own right and accordingly their views are listened to and respected. In the incident last Sunday, which entailed a most crucial decision at a most crucial time the Ref. should have taken his time. He should first have ordered every player from both sides well away from both himself and his umpires. He should have brought both of them into the consultation. If he himself thought it was a goal he should have asked them. "Is there any reason why I shouldn't award a goal. If the 2 umpires either due to lack of knowledge of the rules or bad eyesight told him , "You may award the goal" well so be it.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 14/07/2010 09:14:12    708086

I agree with you corkcelt on the ref thing but also something has to be done on balls going wide and waved a point and vice versa particularly in hurling.Its happening way too often and is demoralising for a team if theres only a point in it at the end

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 14/07/2010 09:51:04    708114

Cant believe what your some people are trying to stand up for the thugs /embarrassing behavior of the Louth people on Sunday. No matter how a match ended or how long ago you last won it nothing can condone what went on on the ppitch and in the stands after the game. Louth fans just lost it, even Sean boylan a legend in Gaa got attacked as the papers stated yesterday. If ya can never forgive the Ref for what he done I guess you wont forgive White for kicking them Three wides at the end to so....After everything you do not deserve a replay.....

Last_Sub (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 14/07/2010 09:52:21    708118

Re LOUTH GAEL

Cop on louth gael you are defending the indefensible.
Them louth supporters who assaulted the ref should be ashamed of themselves. I was at the game yesterday with my two young children and for the first time in my life at a football match i feared for the safety of myself and the kids. One of the thugs who hit the ref was unfortunately sitting beside me in the cusack stand and the whole match he was just mad for an altercation with any1, he shouted at my kids with profound and derrogatory language on numerous occassions when they were cheering for meath. The language out of him and utter hatred in his eyes towards the ref and us meath supporters was just mindboggling,At the end i never seen such madness and physopathic behaviour, he was growling like a big grizzly bear and all of a sudden he just went through the whole lot of us and climbed over the fence, and pushed an elderly gentleman to the ground in his attempts to get onto the pitch, it was only afterwards on tv that i seen him confront the ref, thankfully no one was seriously hurt or even killed. the guy could have a weapon on him. i do feel sorry for louth but i for one dont think they should get a replay, no one wants to see that kind of thuggish, criminal, insane behaviour and unfortunately that will be what louth will forever be associated with. A truly sad day for the GAA. my kids were very upset at the whole episode even outside croker, there was still an unruly element of louth thugs blood thirtsy for an altercation with any meath man, woman or child.
But silly me according to you the man was just a tad over excited, i hope you are never in the same position as i found myself in on sunday.

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 14/07/2010 09:57:57    708128

I'm no shrinking violet and at the age of 36 dont regard myself as an old fart. But if this kind of behaviour can be explained away by some people as passion for the sport, well I am happy to remain an emigrant. Sure its no wonder the country is stuffed with that kind of selfish attitude and lack of respect for another man who just happened to make a mistake.

It was a cowardly act by people lacking the emotional intelligence to realise that after all its just a game ... and to make excuses for it is just as bad. And until you are surrounded by screaming raging men shoving against you with no idea what they are capable of next, maybe its wise not to be so flippant about the incident -- or is that just common family behaviour in Louth? If that was your father or son getting abused on national tv would you sit back and think it was just a shove.

Wise up.

Pablo73 (USA) - Posts: 4 - 14/07/2010 09:59:57    708130

Only a few weeks ago my county team (Scotland) were involved in a play off against a club team inthe the feile in Derry. It's the last kick of the ball with our lads three points up the ball ends up in the back of our net. The referee calls a square ball and we win the match. Cue mayhem. Three selectors and half the team surround the ref. An adult punches the ball out of one of our players hands and it hits him on the face and he ends up in tears. Having witnessed this I can see how blue mist can descend. We were in the bottom division in feile so we were up against the weakest clubs from the host and neighbouring counties. These teams probably never get success at underage level and here they were a kick of the ball away from getting to what is effectively an All_ireland semi final only to be 'robbed' by the referee.
I can appreciate what must have affected those Louth fans who entered the pitch. If any of them were thugs or whatever you choose to label them they could have seriously assualted the ref. They had the time to do it and he was hardly being protected by anyone. The bottle thrower and the number 13 fan who punched the Meath player are different cases entirely.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 14/07/2010 10:03:38    708134

Wow Louth Gael you have really shown your true colours.... was all up for a replay but why should we give a replay to them? not a chance.

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 14/07/2010 10:11:34    708149

Now that there will be no replay, we can finally concentrate on tracking down the thugs who tried to attack the ref and the cowards that threw bottles from the stands.
If people are having difficulty trying to condemn their actions and see no wrong in what they did, it would be for the best if you stay away from Croke Park in future. We don't want a repeat of those scenes on Sunday. Croke Park doesn't seem to mean anything to the Louth fans because they're never there, but for the rest of us it's sacred ground.
I hope the thugs are tracked down and the maximum punishment handed down to them.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 14/07/2010 10:17:06    708158

Beautiful.Meath

708149 Wow Louth Gael you have really shown your true colours.... was all up for a replay but why should we give a replay to them? not a chance.

theres no replay.thats the end of it.i did not want a replay in the first place.lets all move on.AN LU ABU!i rather be a loser then a cheater.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/07/2010 10:48:21    708194

Trying to look at this objectively. A huge, but honest, blunder was made by the ref. We have all seen the mayhem that ensued on tv. Fans rush the pitch and 5 or 6 try to vent their feelings to the ref. The ref is pushed, bumped and verbally abused. He escapes down the tunnel relatively unscathed. Subjectively, it would be very harsh to label these fans as thugs. On a scale of violent behaviour, theirs would certainly be on the lower end. What they did was wrong, but lets not go overboard here.

On a slightly different point, we can talk all we want about personal responsibility, but in a highly charged atmosphere of 40 thousand people or more, there are bound to be flashpoints. If I was the ref, I would be asking where my security was? If the ref was rushed off the pitch, none of this would have occured. Instead we had a situation where he was sauntering around giving yellow cards after the game and speaking with every Tom, Dick and Harry that came his way. Where were the professionals who were supposed to prevent such flashpoints?

u22ok (None) - Posts: 45 - 14/07/2010 11:28:28    708262

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=132110, Mc Hugh thinks ref was arrogant.

barny rock also said in the live radio commentary that he can understand why the fans are running after the referee.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 14/07/2010 12:58:40    708478