Are we seeing a return to the bad old days?

Great post omagh I have to laugh at the high horse some of our 26 county friends adapt. The South is currently one of the most violent, criminal, corrupt, murderous drug riddled societies in Western Europe and to listen to some of them you would think they lived in an oasis of peace and calm. Of course we have our problems in the North but it seems it is far more dangerous to live, work and socialise over the border. Innocent people are being gunned down by drug cartels in the South and the Gaurds are struggling to do anything about it. Say what you want about the North and by God we do deserve the criticism but I think I would still rather live here at the minute where it is safer for most people than the Republic.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 14/07/2010 20:59:15    709496

yes i concour with ulsterman . another great post omaghredhand .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 14/07/2010 21:54:29    709639

lets hope not

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/07/2010 21:54:46    709640

david09.
sorry son nobody is taking u on , with a post like that , u are simply just looking for attention .. u are not going to get it.
so grow up.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 14/07/2010 21:56:19    709647

Rather than suggesting Ireland is an immoral, repugnant society, maybe posters should consider the statistic that Northern Ireland contains a far higher police force per 1000 of the population compared to the rest of Ireland as a reason for the lower crime rates

NI has 4.36 police per 1000 people compared to 2.89 Gardai for the Rep of Ireland.

It would make complete sense so that NI comparatively has a far lower crime rate than our 'utopia', Surely?

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 15/07/2010 08:39:17    709692

your post says it all .. reading and engrossed in what the irish indo , and mr. myers says .
southern media ?

ta32 my view have nothing to do with the Southern media or Kevin Myers, I am old enough at this stage to make up my own mind, and what I saw on television was enough to sicken any right minded person. Surely ta32 you could not condone the actions of these scumbags who take great pleasure in destroying their own area and attacking decent men and women (PSNI) who are attempting to protect the community.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 15/07/2010 09:32:33    709727

omaghredhand - your statistics are ludicrous. In 2009 there were 54 murders and 3 manslaughters in the republic. I refer you to the CSO's figures on this - http://www.cso.ie/Quicktables/GetQuickTables.aspx?FileName=cja01c1.asp&TableName=Homicide+Offences&StatisticalProduct=DB_CJ

To suggest, as Ulsterman did, that I live in one of the most crime ridden, drug addled societies in western europe is untrue in the extreme, the opposite is the case. Serious crime has indeed gone up hugely in certain areas, but we rank very near the bottom of the serious crime index.

Why does every thread with any sort of political bent at all have to turn into some sort of a north vs south argument?

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 15/07/2010 09:39:26    709733

omaghredhand

Northern Ireland Poplutaion...?

Republic of Ireland Population....?

Yeah this is a kinda important factor to your above statistics...!!

Be careful throwing stones lads... you may need the Southern vote one day to achieve a united island. Dont forget that...

At the minute I couldnt see the majority required I hope that in time that will change... it's give and take fella's.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/07/2010 09:42:06    709737

Am I actually witnessing 'divide and rule' here lads? Stop catching each others throats and using arguments in a petty way to try and politically point score. It doesn't do anyone any favours.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 15/07/2010 10:08:55    709766

Abhainn, I apologise, I took my figures from http://www.cso.ie/releasespublications/documents/crime_justice/2009/recordedcrime_q42009.pdf but mistakenly added incorrectly, however, the rest of the figures are correct.

Jimbo, the population in the south is 2.5 times approx that of up here.There were 219,484 notifiable offences in ROI and 109,139 in the North . My post was in response to Gilly, who would make you think that 3 nights of rioting up here makes it like South Central, whilst at the same time seemingly forgetting about the problems in the south. It was not a go at the south whatsoever, and I would have expected a man of your intelligence to consider the context in which it was written

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 15/07/2010 10:31:42    709807

i have to say what were the thugs achieving by trying to hijack the belfast dublin train - hows was this protesting against the orange marches. the scenes on the news looked like cold war russia. train drivers should be given notice to keep going if these hooligans are on the line again. they wud do us all a favour.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11571 - 15/07/2010 10:38:55    709819

Lot's of condemnation on here, but do most of you really know what's going on,
other than what you watched on the news? Maybe gilly can tell us what it's like to
live on the Lower Ormeau in the marching season since he seem to knows so much
about it, and him in Galway.
Loyalist and Orange parades are not welcome in Nationalist areas. It's as simple as
that ...

Omaghredhand, did you wear your Tyrone gear at the parade? Did you get a beating, Or did you just try to blend in with the rest of the Orangemen?
Did you give them a Tyrone flag to place beside the Irish Tri-Colour on top of the fire
the night before?

Some people have short memories, not me.

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 15/07/2010 10:47:02    709837

omaghredhand - no bother. and I agree about a lot of what you are saying - I have spent a lot of time in the north, and it is broadly speaking, very similar to here in terms of law and order. There are a few pockets north and south that are exceptions to that, of course. Basically, the entire island has much of the same problems, if in different guises. For southern posters to be dismissing the north as a hotbed of violent thugs, and casting everyone in the same light is crazy, as is northern posters trying to undermine southern society, media etc. We're all Irish!
As regards the rioting around the 12th - its potentially disastrous. I sincerely hope that it is not a sign of things to come.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 15/07/2010 10:49:48    709843

Simple as this Omagh...

I'd love to see a United Ireland... one that the unionists can feel just as proud of... bury this crap forever and move on as a united race of people.

We have a lot of potential, but we're still only finding our feet... an ancient Island but a very new country. We've let corruption and violence feed off ourselves for too long.

Actions like we're seeing drags up old fears and has no place in the current setup...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/07/2010 10:58:24    709854

gilly2308.galway.
i do condem the actions of these young people u are out destroying their community for the past few nights, the thing is gilly the peoplewho instigated these mass riots are people , who the republican movement would have had nothing to do with in the past , misfits who clearly have no goal or direction in life and who are living in cukoo land , saying that the decent people of the ardoyne and this is the vast majority who have been not invovled in riots , want to see a end to loyalist marches going past their areas .. do u believe that these loyalist bandsmen and their thugs should be allowed to keep stamping their feet with their tunes , past catholic areas which has seen sectarian killings and while they march by they stick their heads in the air and smile.. and antagonise the locals who have lost loved ones to loyalist murder gangs.. come off it gilly you are living in dream world, and do not come with that saying that we in the south , ITS A WONDER WE DO NOT WANT NOTHING TO DO WITH THE NORTH. ye never wanted nothing to do with the north anyway , the government in the south run away from its responsibilities and clearly let their brothers in the north fend for themselves, and ye stood back and watched us been slaughtered and done nothing about it .. so if your going to come on here and use that , then stop , because its petty , and the fact u have insulted the memory of people u have been murdered by loyalists , while your government stood back and done nothing .. as i said your post says it all.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 15/07/2010 11:06:45    709870

ta32
if people don't want anything to do with the North its because of posts like that.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 15/07/2010 11:16:44    709882

redandblack.g.a.a
i agree that what u have said in the first part of your post . loyalist marches are simply not welcome in nationalist area s simple .
let them through and we are back were we started .. u will get violence and destruction , which no one wants.

were u are going with omaghredhand i do not know ?
but i will say this the lad is talking a lot of sense and the more we have of him the better , he is very construtive and thoughtful of his posts and i admire that in him.
so omaghredhand keep it up more like u , we will stand half a chance with peace and better ireland .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 15/07/2010 11:21:24    709891

redandblackgaa I would like to point out that I lived in Belfast from 1992 - 1994 in Dunluce Avenue which is just off the Lisburn Road, in what was actually my first job just after college. The so called troubles were still at their height around then, so while I don't claim to be any sort of an expert on the North, I am well aware of what it is like to live in the North. What annoys me so much about all of this pointless mindless rioting, is that the North is thankfully pretty much a peaceful place these days, I actually lived back in Belfast again for nine months in 2000, and the difference in those six years was amazing. Yes there are still huge problems, there are still thousands of people on both sides who would like things to go back to the dark old days again, but these people must be sidelined and not given any kind of support, which is basically why I get so worked up when I see these scumbags out rioting, using the orange marches as a convenient excuse.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 15/07/2010 11:21:49    709892

abhainn. which is it , either u agree that these marches be banned or let continue march through nationalist areas .
which is it ? another thing i have already said that the violence was WRONG....but could have been avoided , and stop been patronising and give me a straight answer , the fact is ye have been told a few home truths , its been staring you in the face for years , and you cannot handle it , now its either guilt or having a shameless government that have done nothing , thats making u react the way you are , either way its not my problem its yours .. so talk some sense and amit the failings... i stand by what i say . easy in the west to say?

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 15/07/2010 11:29:26    709902

gilly2308 - i saidearlier that the attacks on the train and now the attacks last night are pointless because the marches are over.
i want to ask you a question though - should or could paddies day parades take place in loyalist areas and would there be trouble?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11571 - 15/07/2010 11:30:33    709904