Eammon Fennell is a good midfielder, not the finnished aticle by any means but has great potential. He needs to sort his club situation out. jacky-jack (Meath) - Posts: 290 - 07/07/2010 21:09:06 699871 Link 0 |
Royal 14, are you a WUM, or have you EVER watched a game of football? Were you at the qualifier v Limerick in Portlaoise last year when Galvin was awesome, or the previous year in Limerick when Limerick hammered Meath? football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 07/07/2010 21:12:19 699874 Link 0 |
He needs to?? ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 07/07/2010 21:13:18 699875 Link 0 |
sorry lads i dont mean eamo is the best in the country ,i thought people were just listing the top midfielders finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 07/07/2010 21:15:08 699878 Link 0 |
finglas full ba Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 07/07/2010 21:20:10 699883 Link 0 |
Nigel Crawford gave John Galvin a roasting last year. Still both are top quality midfielders JulianstownBoyo (Meath) - Posts: 196 - 07/07/2010 21:57:53 699933 Link 0 |
if galvin is so good how come no1 has been calling him '' a great'' for the past 10 years then. huh?? royal14 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 07/07/2010 22:01:41 699939 Link 0 |
I think Eamon Fennell deserves to be ranked amongst the best at the moment. Dick Clerkin is having his best season for Monaghan this year. One name that has not been mentioned so far is Dan Gordon from Down. I think he is a very underrated player. Maradonna (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 08/07/2010 08:18:41 699946 Link 0 |
What age are you Royal14?? 10 GreenGael (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 08/07/2010 08:20:49 699947 Link 0 |
07/07/2010 22:01:41 Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 08/07/2010 08:41:30 699955 Link 0 |
Ignoring temporary form and focusing only on those currently playing - injured or not - a fully fit Enda McGinley is the best mid-fielder in the country whose performances there won Tyrone the All-Ireland in 2008. Sean Cavanagh has ceased to be the same force at midfield since being converted to full-forward, where I still think his own instincts now lie. Nicholas Murphy has been up there but his very disappointing performance against Kerry in last year's final suggests that he is perhaps past his best. I think that Seamus Scanlon of Kerry, while unspectacular, is very good hard-working player in the more prosaic modern mould. I agree with Kevin Walsh in his contention that with the retirement of Dara O'Se we lost something of a bygone generation of great mid-fielders to whom teams looked for inspiration. There are almost none of those players around today. In this context it is highly amusing to see names like McConnell, Crawford, Fennell, John Galvin and the many other mediocrities mentioned. White and Keenan of Louth may well prove themselves to be among the best but it is too early to say. If Louth are to beat Meath on Sunday they will have to be. Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 08/07/2010 09:52:22 700004 Link 0 |
well, i think sean cavangh is better. he is a taller player. BarryLohan (Roscommon) - Posts: 30 - 08/07/2010 10:51:55 700064 Link 0 |
Brendan Quigley of Laois is rated by all other county players...I know Paddy Kennan of Louth reckons he is the best out there.high praise from a fine player himself. BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 08/07/2010 11:01:59 700082 Link 0 |
Meath1986 kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 08/07/2010 12:07:23 700170 Link 0 |
Why so much anti-Galvin stuff from Meath men here? The only dissenters are all Meath men! He would walk on ye're current team lads and any team ye have had for 10 years and be the best player on it! To be a great footballer you dont have to be from Kerry Meath Dublin or Cork you know. Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 08/07/2010 12:18:03 700189 Link 0 |
green gael, wat has age got to do with anything?? royal14 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 08/07/2010 13:05:47 700256 Link 0 |
Royal14 that is exactly the point - Declan Browne only won 1 All-star, he deserved so much more but Tipp were usaully out of the championship after 2 games that everyone forgot about him. If he was playing for a division 1 team he would have won 4/5 at least. It's the same for John Galvin, he has been brilliant the last 10 years but beacuse Limerick haven't made it to All-Ireland 1/4 finals he hasn't been mentioned. The All-Stars are flawed that way, the team has to do well for a player to get an All-Star, it doesn't matter how good the player as an individual is. county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 08/07/2010 13:47:53 700324 Link 0 |
Royal14 MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 08/07/2010 14:07:14 700379 Link 0 |
Royal14, the 14, thats your age isnt it :) Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 08/07/2010 14:18:42 700400 Link 0 |
countyman royal14 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 08/07/2010 15:10:14 700483 Link 0 |