Munster Hurling Final

11/07/2010 20:54:38
booboo

704268 do you want to disect every discision over the seventy min wrong or right omar there is no wford man or cork man on complaining only lookin fwd to a goog replay stop talking uneducated nonsence about awarding game to wford. tell me where is your knowledge of hurling coming from wat hurling yeam have you ever played for. and lastly ypu never did give your opinion on wfords free at the end.

This is getting tiresome even Jeremy Paxman would struggle to get a straight answer from you. It would be helpful to all if you focused on the question rather than the repeated insults.
However if it helps get to the root of the question
I am uneducated, you are correct on every single issue in the match including the Waterford free - lets also assume that I have never held a hurley(hurl) in my life. In fact lets just say that any possible question you want to raise well then I agree with your preferred answer.
So that leaves us with one and only one possible point to discuss

WAS THE GOAL WITHIN THE RULES ?

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 12/07/2010 09:01:57    704467

There was a decent enough crowd from Waterford there. The red stands out more then the blue and if you are watching on telly it appears there are a lot more rebels then deise folk. Anyhow it was a very exciting second half, we need to see as much hurling as possible both sides had talking points but both are still in the hunt, roll on next week. Must say I love Waterford hurling people and always wish them the very best however the sad reality is that both of us are simply playing for the runners up spot. My only hope for upsetting Kilkenny was if we could kick on from the opener against Tipp and keep improving. Sadly its clear to me now that this was a one off performance, we are not as good as that game suggested and Kilkenny will eat which either of us they meet.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 12/07/2010 09:44:54    704514

yes it was omar but your suggestion that we award wford the game is prob right descision sad!!!!

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 12/07/2010 11:33:14    704756

12/07/2010 11:33:14
booboo

704756 yes it was omar but your suggestion that we award wford the game is prob right descision sad!!!!

My suggestion was tongue in cheek and its purposes was to highlight that it is ridiculous to suggest that we overturn any match outcome based on bad referee calls - more directed at suggestions on another thread than for the purposes of enraging any cork person. As you keep highlighting I am clearly poorly educated and born into a disadvantaged part of the country so apologies if the nuance of my point escaped you. Clearly my fault rather than yours.

Thanks for clearing up the goal issue - Just so I know if he had taken ten steps instead of nine would the goal still be allowed.
Whilst my knowledge of sport is clearly lacking I did manage to occasionally attend primary school so I have a fairly crude and basic grasp of Maths though I do struggle at double digits.

Finally compliments on your speedy commute time back to the Rebel county. Clearly the M8 has done miracles for the lengthy trek and chaos that used to the
annual visit to the Munster Final, although Horse and Jockey to Thurles can still be a tad tedious, but getting home for 18.25 is impressive

Humbly yours
Omar

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 12/07/2010 12:38:46    704910

i wasnt at the match omar not that im going to explain my personal circumstances to a uneducated cavan man by the way go watch the replay if you bounce the little ball we use in hurling on the hurl you can run again . it must be v difficult to sopport a team like cavan you poor thing but if you nothing sensible to contribute to a thread instead of your great wit maybe ou shouldnt bother oh and just on the point of the match you still never did give your opinion on that free on the 21 at the end please enlighten us with vast knowledge

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 12/07/2010 13:38:31    705090

The goal was definitely illegal and it should have been disallowed. Things like this happen, however, and even up at the end of the year. Waterford had a dodgy free given for them at the end.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 12/07/2010 14:26:10    705263

12/07/2010 13:38:31
booboo

705090 i wasnt at the match omar not that im going to explain my personal circumstances to a uneducated cavan man by the way go watch the replay if you bounce the little ball we use in hurling on the hurl you can run again . it must be v difficult to sopport a team like cavan you poor thing but if you nothing sensible to contribute to a thread instead of your great wit maybe ou shouldnt bother oh and just on the point of the match you still never did give your opinion on that free on the 21 at the end please enlighten us with vast knowledge
12/07/2010 14:26:10
bennybunny

705263 The goal was definitely illegal and it should have been disallowed. Things like this happen, however, and even up at the end of the year. Waterford had a dodgy free given for them at the end.

BooBoo

I have already said that I agree with everything you said. My opinion as regards the 21 is whatever you want it to be.
As regards the point I raised I feel that an illegal goal is a material point for discussion in a drawn game. Given that my understanding is that if you took three points off the Cork score they would have scored three points less and hence the game might not be a draw. Now that thankfully a more objective poster has clarified the issue I think it fair to pull you up on your hostile post - I love Hurling my parents are both from strong hurling counties and members of my wider family have played hurling for your county at all levels. I myself lived in Kilkenny for several years when I was younger and played under age Hurling with James Stephens and St Kierans and have played with and against players who are household names. Ive been coached at underage level by people like Fan Larkin, Noel Skehan and Brian Cody. Every year I go to one AI semi final and have gone to nine of the last ten AI finals
I continue to be involved in coaching underage in a non hurling region and am doing my best although in a very small way to hope that the game prospers in non hurling strongholds
One of the biggest challenges we face although thankfully rare is the horrible attitude from a rare minority who feel that just because someone lives in a certain part of the country that they cannot possess the skill or cannot be given the training or do not have the knowledge to contribute in a postive manner to the enhancement of our game.
When I make a post on a controversial incident in a match you unlike your county colleague did not see any reason to discuss or debate my point on its merits but you choose to attack my views for no other reason than the name of the county below my name.
Thankfully such an attitude is rare and most Gaels aspire to the enhancement and development of our games across the 32 counties.

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 12/07/2010 15:11:50    705392

im sick of debating this with you omar just saw the contribution yoy made to the conaught final and its confirms my belife ill not eply to yor posts dont reply to mine cause ive no interest in your train of thought

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 12/07/2010 15:43:42    705470

your gael story is touching im just a bit confused because for a man who was coached at the hands of some of the best you would think you would need to actually hae to of head a hurl bt looking back on your previous posts you admitted never playing hurling so stop making a show of yourself

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 12/07/2010 15:59:54    705522

by the ive mates playing with ramor in viginia and know some lads playing with kingscourt so id be intereted to know where your so called involved underage .because i dont think any active gaa man would suggest awarding wford the match its childish and thats wat i think of ya

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 12/07/2010 16:05:09    705539

BooBoo

It was you that suggested that I had no right to have an opinion on Hurling. It ws you that stated thsi first
- For the purposes of trying to focus on the single point I was making I was happy to agree with whatever you suggested - - Uneducated - know nothing about Hurling etc. etc. because that is what you wanted to hear - however I just got tired of your constant refusal to debate the post rather than the poster
My final post is accurate - a subject and background which Ive openly dicussed with a posters from the same club (pudders being one).

I have nothing further to say on the matter as I would not wish to further encourage the attitude that you are trying to assert.

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 12/07/2010 16:11:56    705566

12/07/2010 14:26:10
bennybunny

705263 The goal was definitely illegal and it should have been disallowed. Things like this happen, however, and even up at the end of the year. Waterford had a dodgy free given for them at the end.

I agree with you on both points - Probably a fair result in the end. I was not in earnest suggesting that Waterford should be awarded the match - merely trying to highlight how silly the suggestions were on the Louth thread - you have to take the rough with the smooth and as you suggest they should even out (though that may take a while for Louth).

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 12/07/2010 16:26:45    705621

OSAKI!!??

From Fermanagh to fiji, and now Japan!

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 12/07/2010 17:10:45    705748

12/07/2010 17:10:45
Redfoot

705748 OSAKI!!??

From Fermanagh to fiji, and now Japan!

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 12/07/2010 17:13:00    705760

corkcelt I though you were going to tell me what a great team ye had Sunday truth is yer going backwards from here as I said ye peaked agaonst Tipp while wer only getting going now Id say yel be knocked out in quarter finals!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 12/07/2010 19:15:42    706014

Look my little man I have already replied to your rather childish posts on another thread. I am a hurling man and have had numerous sensible debates with many a Tipp poster. I am not anti Tipp. I live in Tipperary have a Tipp daughter in law and a Tipp son in law. I also have 5 Tipp grandchildren and another on the way. I supported ye all the way in last years All Ireland and will do so again this year if Cork get knocked out. I love discussing hurling and will talk or debate with anyone on the subject. I firmly believe that both yourself and Boo Boo from Cork are kids on ye're summer hols judging by the standards of y'ere posts. If you have anything sensible to say I will be only too happy to discuss it but if your only contributions are childish slags then chat away with Boo Boo. I'm sure ye will get on fine together.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 12/07/2010 20:29:48    706152

Ah a true corkman corkcelt you cant beat the banter between Tipp and Cork nothin like it! Im getting ye all going now. Actually I played minor hurling with Tipp in 81 and won a senior all ireland with Tipp in Gaelic park New York we beat Cork in the final I scored 2 points of Jim Cashman a great hurler!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 12/07/2010 20:35:21    706162

It depends on your definition of banter. Maybe some of the stuff you are coming out with would be grand over a couple of pints in Thurles before a game but its a bit tiresome on an internet forum. If you did play to that standard, then well done and yes indeed Jim Cashman was one of the greats.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 12/07/2010 20:52:14    706191

I might you for a few pints in Thurles before cORK tIPP GAME CORKCELT BUT WHAT i SAY IS TRUE

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 12/07/2010 20:55:53    706197

corkcelt i never knew you were holier than thou i play intermediate hurling and have a good knowledge of hurling obviously not as much as you of course all the grandkids you have and everything but a fair knowledge. Here is a crazy thought maybe if you dont like wat i post u dont reply???

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 12/07/2010 20:58:25    706203