What if Hitler had invaded

Cromwell was no republican. A republican is someone who supports a state that looks after its citizens, with an elected president as its head rather than a monarchy. Cromwell was a murdering power hungry tyrant, who killed innocent catholics in the name of puritanism.

dear oh dear...

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 01/07/2010 21:00:33    693780

bad.monkey
County: USA

Cromwell was no republican. A republican is someone who supports a state that looks after its citizens, with an elected president as its head rather than a monarchy. Cromwell was a murdering power hungry tyrant, who killed innocent catholics in the name of puritanism.

dear oh dear...

I know.

I was aware that Cromwell had killed a load of Protestants at Drogheda...............

But then I would. I was a History teacher.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 01/07/2010 21:13:00    693794

Dublin09

"Hiter was before is time is main goal was a united Europe"

Rather tongue in cheek Dub09 but not too far off the truth. The brits fought 2 wars with Germany to prevent their domination of Europe.......... maybe the Germans won after all?

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1795 - 01/07/2010 21:43:30    693831

patrique

I was a History teacher.

Were you? So then you left to join the fourth international was it?

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 01/07/2010 21:53:18    693858

yes thank god the brits held firm we have a lot to thank them for there as hitler would have caused evil never seen before in this country, also us irish refused to give jews asylum here and many of them died in the concentration camps its a sickening period in irish history de valera wanted to keep the irish gene pool clean , also we were the only country to offer our condolances to the german nazi government when hitler took the cowards way out

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/07/2010 14:03:49    694260

What do you think Hitler would have done to a shower of eejits like us ?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 02/07/2010 14:17:16    694286

is that a fools question cavan slasher

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/07/2010 14:23:56    694298

Hipster,

Yes, anyway he would probably have fled back to normality !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 02/07/2010 14:29:45    694305

Hipster, what jews were denied asylum??? I know a few jewish families who came before the war and lots of jewish kids were taken in after the war.

Negative about ireland for the sake of being negative.

Evil never seen before??? couldn't be worse than bloody sunday (x2); sacking of drogheda, burning of cork, burning of mallow, sacking of listowel; penal laws etc etc.

Get your facts right. some awful stupid posting going on in this forum supporting the former occupying power.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 02/07/2010 17:29:18    694513

good post Hurlingspuds... but they are not just yet a former occupying power, they still are!

Patrique, just because you taught history dosn't necessarily mean you know all of it! I studied history and still do as a hobby!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 02/07/2010 17:47:50    694540

yes stupid posting by yo hurling spuds did you ever actually read what happened in them concentration camps , you were lucky if the nazis shot you in the street like a dog and not bring you to a camp , i will support britain in this because they did stand up for the free world , as for the jews yes the irish state refused visas and entry into ireland and a lot of these people died in the camps that would have been saved if we let them in but de valara did not want this

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/07/2010 17:50:27    694543

I am relatively new to this messageboard so this might seem like a terribly naive newbie question, but...

Does every thread on here degenerate into "But what the Brits did was as bad/worse!!!!!!!111".

whereangelsplay (Cork) - Posts: 240 - 02/07/2010 18:18:25    694571

it usually does

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/07/2010 18:23:29    694573

whereangelsplay

"I am relatively new to this messageboard so this might seem like a terribly naive newbie question,
but...

Does every thread on here degenerate into "But what the Brits did was as bad/worse!!!!!!!111".

And they would be right every time my rebel county friend.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1795 - 02/07/2010 18:34:13    694593

We are discussing whay could have , might have, happened. fact is that Irish have never had any trouble with the Germans. They actually helped the irish fight the british!

oricelt (USA) - Posts: 207 - 02/07/2010 19:01:50    694631

wise_guy

Patrique, just because you taught history dosn't necessarily mean you know all of it! I studied history and still do as a hobby!

Spot on wise-guy. I often find an air of "know it all snobbery" about patrique's posts.

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 02/07/2010 19:04:03    694632

thats because patrique is usually 95 % right

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/07/2010 19:15:42    694640

02/07/2010 19:04:03
Scruffy2Donut

wise_guy

Spot on wise-guy. I often find an air of "know it all snobbery" about patrique's posts.

Only to those who worship at the feet of mighty Britain and her glorious empire.

Others Scruffy, have risen off their knees old chap.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 02/07/2010 20:56:50    694710

patrique

Only to those who worship at the feet of mighty Britain and her glorious empire.

Others Scruffy, have risen off their knees old chap.

Glad to hear it patrique old boy, but there are always those who will stay kneeling.

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 02/07/2010 21:36:24    694745

hurlingspuds/ artisan.
spot on both of ye , i mean who in their right mind ... in a positition of power in ireland at the time , which was dev , turn around to churchill and say here u go , forget the past , we will open up our borders , kop yourselfs on , devalera was right , churchill hated the irish , more than hitler hated the jewish race , have u ever stopped to think for one moment what churchill would have done to ireland , if it was not like men like , tom barry rory o connor , collins , oscar traynor , sean tracey, dinny lacey , dan breen etc etc etc etc , the list goes on and on , ireland done the right thing , and sent churchill packing.
please consider the feelings and suffering of our own first , ww2 went on for less than 10 years , which was terrible conflict.

p.s but our nation suffered 800 . stop and think about that . and the nations sacrficies that were made.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 03/07/2010 09:23:50    694791