Dublin and Mayo and Myth

mossbags
These are always talked of as having a 'Great Footballing tradition' or as being 'Proud Footballing counties'. Mayo are a shambles and an embarrassment to to the rest of Connacht.

good man mossbags nice to see you kicking the neighbours while we are bleeding. i couldnt have been more depressed after saturdays result and your post doesnt help. we are bad - any genuine mayo person will be the first to admit that. but at least I follow my team with pride and we ARE a PROUD county and are dublin who have buckets more all irelands than galway.
ye probably have one of the worst support in the land who are regularly outnumbered on yer own patch. at least we have won games in croke park in the last 10 years and they call us bottlers.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11730 - 28/06/2010 19:37:23    690220

The standard of wind-ups in galway leaves a lot to be desired. Ye wouldnt happen to have a padraig joyce type poster to carry ye on here too would ye?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/06/2010 19:41:46    690223

mossbags

689754 These lads would be better off listening than spouting on with their usual half baked jibes. You wouldn't find anything half baked in counties in the truly great counies, Cork, Galway, Kerry, Kilkenny, Tyrone, everything is nailed on. Its tough love that the likes of Mayo and Dublin need, not the usual platitudes about tradition and pride. For their own good.

I think thats a large part of the problem in these counties, Mossbags. Anyone who seen the Meath game last year would surely have realised that Mayo were nowhere near contenders. And most did realise this except for the Mayos themselves. They thought they were unlucky, that the ref had robbed them and conviently ignored all their amateurish defending and their non-existent midfield. When the game was in the melting pot, Mayo wilted yet again. Then their League campaign papered over the cracks and all of a sudden, Mayo were been put in a bracket that contained Kerry and Tyrone. Centuries ago, Mayo might have had tradition but now their only tradition is running when the going gets tough. Didn't the same thing happen their minors last year?

The defeats in the All-Irelands of '04 and '06 set Mayo back a generation. And its too late for any manager to fix now. A few years in the wilderness mixing with the likes of Longford and Sligo might be what Mayo needs. Then, in 10 or 15 years, they can come back with a real team with no connection to the present one. Because if they keep going as they are going, its just going to turn into an embarrassing cycle. Dublin and Derry have similiar problems.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 29/06/2010 09:47:50    690475

yew_tree

good man mossbags nice to see you kicking the neighbours while we are bleeding. i couldnt have been more depressed after saturdays result and your post doesnt help. we are bad - any genuine mayo person will be the first to admit that. but at least I follow my team with pride and we ARE a PROUD county and are dublin who have buckets more all irelands than galway.
ye probably have one of the worst support in the land who are regularly outnumbered on yer own patch. at least we have won games in croke park in the last 10 years and they call us bottlers.

Point about tough love is well made here.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 29/06/2010 09:50:25    690479

dont worry boys Mayo are down but not out, we will be back in the near future, I will predict a Connaught Tilte next year, remember we have dominATED MINOR AND UNDER 21 IN CONNAUGHT FOR THE PAST FEW YEARS APART FROM A GOOD ROSCOMON MINOR TEAM AND EVEN THEN THEY WAS NOT MUCH IN IT, So Mayo down not definately not out

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 29/06/2010 09:58:36    690486

Culmore do you not realise that its statements like that that makes your county and your countys supporters a laughing stock?

nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 29/06/2010 10:09:11    690496

Ah Loyal, you have your little heart broken by a mayo girl (or boy?) in the last six months? Time to get over it man. Plenty more fish in the sea and all that

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 29/06/2010 10:17:29    690506

I find it hilarious how a Galway person can slag off the Dubs and Mayo,pretty rich like,you're entitled to slag off other counties when your county actually accomplishes something&leave the little Dubs jibes out,you're embarrassing yourself.

HOO_RAH (Kerry) - Posts: 61 - 29/06/2010 10:53:01    690554

Galway fair play to them won two great all irelands in 98 and 01. Since then their team and management have been pretenders. Before 98 all you heard about was the great 3 in a row team of the 60s blah blah blah. I was at the AI in 83 and although not a great spectacle, the dubs made boys out of galway. Talty crying about being hit in the tunnel and the likes. Teams like Galway dont get to judge Dublin footballing tradition, teams like Kerry do(more all irelands) The 98 Galway team was one of my favourite teams, funny how one person can make you change your mind.

JohnMitchel (Dublin) - Posts: 178 - 29/06/2010 11:35:29    690624

Culmore do you not realise that its statements like that that makes your county and your countys supporters a laughing stock?

What do you want Mayo supporters to do, forget it, sure lets not even enter the champioship. Again, we have competed at the top level for the last twenty years, played in five senior final, 3/4 minor finals, 3/4 u-21 finals, won u-21 in 06, whaat about the other 24/25 counties that have never and never will achieve this, should we just all give up.

Mayo are at their lowest point in modern history and all you get in here is posters rubbing salt into the wound, not one constructive comment have i read or acknowlodging the contribution we have made to the game over the daid period. I ended up down home after the game and i thought Ross had won the aI the way they were carrying on round town, there is certainly a big bulk of neutrals taking great pleasure in our demise, f... them is what i say because we still have the potential to humiliate their likes in the Castlebar sun again next year. Up Mayo till the day we die.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 29/06/2010 13:00:39    690759

2 gutless teams

whitegoodman (Tyrone) - Posts: 439 - 29/06/2010 13:15:38    690799

JonMitchell if you are changing your opinion of a football from 12 years ago because of something someone posted on a GAA forum than I think its a poor reflection to be honest.
Or perhaps this is just more evidence of the flimsy nature of the mindset that prevails in the Capitals footballing circles these days. There is a real lack of substance there and this extends to the field of play where all too often the Dubs get found out all too easily again and again, year after year. Get with it man, the issue here is not what you think of some lad on the internet, but of the never-ending ineptitude of Dublin football.

And to all the Mayo's saying Im kicking them while their down, Stop feeling so sorry for yourselves and grow a pair. I heard half the team were balling their eyes out on Saturday evening and all the Mayo posters here seem to be taking their cue from them. Its childish habits like this and their innate hangups about coming to terms with reality, that has left Mayo in the state its in. And rather than be shooting the messanger or crying wum either, better off accepting the truth and heeding the tough love from this thread here(If your nearest neighbour won't tell you where your going wrong, who else will I ask?)

Loyal was right in what he said and here's some advice for Mayo. Instead of constantly cribbing about games ye think ye 'should' have won or were 'robbed' in by Meath, why not take a leaf out of Meaths book. They had a bit of a fallow period for a while during the noughties and some results didn't go their way but I don't ever remember them feeling sorry for themselves or hearing them crying about it. Even when they quietly went about their business of rebuilding, they reached two All Ireland semi finals but I don't remember them shouting it from the rooftops or declaring their greatness not like ye would be in Mayo. Now look at Meath after battering in 5 goals in the performance of the year(albeit against Dublin) and look at Mayo, out of the championship before July, tail between their legs and as ungreatful as ever for a bit of friendly neighbourly advice. I don't know why I bother to be honest.

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 29/06/2010 13:50:40    690880

mossbags

Feck the begrudgers Mossbags i know you only have Mayo football at heart, many thanks for your kind support during this troublesom period. Maybe a period away from football would do us the world of good?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/06/2010 14:34:40    690965

mossbags:
i agree with a lot of wat u said about the ineptitude of mayo and dublin football but even u must admit there is a greater ineptitude in galway. not being able to win in croke park and huffing whenever put out of connacht and losin to teams like donegal is shocking for a county like galway who are the ultimate pretenders. miles away from winning an all-ireland and their greatest achievement in recent years is losing in a supposedly great game to kerry that they were always going to lose. all flair and no steel in galway

galballygael23 (Tyrone) - Posts: 235 - 29/06/2010 17:03:41    691231

galballygael23

It's grand he's not actually from Glaway

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/06/2010 17:10:04    691244

heard a myth from a tyrone man!when mayo won an all-ireland away back there was a funreal in the town but the wining side never respected the dead and kept shouting and beeping!the priest said that will be the last all ireland they'll ,any1 hear that b4??

iwasthere (Donegal) - Posts: 100 - 29/06/2010 18:01:26    691317

I repeat

689698 Add Galway to that List of yours....

Even if you're from Meath..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/07/2010 19:44:22    695176

mossbags

690880 JonMitchell if you are changing your opinion of a football from 12 years ago because of something someone posted on a GAA forum than I think its a poor reflection to be honest.
Or perhaps this is just more evidence of the flimsy nature of the mindset that prevails in the Capitals footballing circles these days. There is a real lack of substance there and this extends to the field of play where all too often the Dubs get found out all too easily again and again, year after year. Get with it man, the issue here is not what you think of some lad on the internet, but of the never-ending ineptitude of Dublin football.

interesting statement mossbags..im not trying to take a swipe at you here but can you please explain the "mindset" and "lack of substance" that has crept into dublin club football. how, why, what, where has it come from. im just interested in your point of view, or your arguement so to speak. i mean i could make that statement about any non successful county but its just a blind non proveable sweeping statement without any arguement..so please elaborate!!!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 03/07/2010 20:02:21    695196

mossbags

These are always talked of as having a 'Great Footballing tradition' or as being 'Proud Footballing counties'. Rubbish, Year after year their only agenda seems to be to try outdo each other in ineptitude and humiliation. Where is the pride? Its about time the myth that these two counties are great or proud in any way was bought home to roost. Mayo are a shambles and an embarrassment to to the rest of Connacht, while Dublin are just pathetic and an embarrassment to themselves.
I'd have more respect for any of the Ulster counties than either of these two spoofers.

well done today your county just moved in front of us in the ineptitude and humiliation stakes :)

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 03/07/2010 20:16:07    695214

Mossbags, Galway are equally as bad as mayo, as proved today. Well done Sligo, great belief.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 03/07/2010 20:24:27    695231