Dublin and Mayo and Myth

These are always talked of as having a 'Great Footballing tradition' or as being 'Proud Footballing counties'. Rubbish, Year after year their only agenda seems to be to try outdo each other in ineptitude and humiliation. Where is the pride? Its about time the myth that these two counties are great or proud in any way was bought home to roost. Mayo are a shambles and an embarrassment to to the rest of Connacht, while Dublin are just pathetic and an embarrassment to themselves.
I'd have more respect for any of the Ulster counties than either of these two spoofers.

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 28/06/2010 15:19:05    689685

Add Galway to that List of yours....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/06/2010 15:23:13    689698

I was about to lose the head cos I thought the title was Dublin and Mayo and Meath. :)
Please carry on.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 28/06/2010 15:23:30    689700

Good man whiterbananas :) you tell them!

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 28/06/2010 15:24:07    689705

Silly silly thread and coming from this poster is a bit rich . Cop on .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/06/2010 15:30:04    689723

This post is a little opportunistic, don't you think?

- They're both in Division 1.
- They both have underage sides which have done very well.
- They both have club sides that have won club all-irelands recently.
- They regularly win their province (remember Salthill last year?)

And if you're so embarrassed by Mayo's GAA tradition maybe you should give back the titles you won while you were being managed by someone from there.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/06/2010 15:33:58    689731

These lads would be better off listening than spouting on with their usual half baked jibes. You wouldn't find anything half baked in counties in the truly great counies, Cork, Galway, Kerry, Kilkenny, Tyrone, everything is nailed on. Its tough love that the likes of Mayo and Dublin need, not the usual platitudes about tradition and pride. For their own good.

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 28/06/2010 15:43:56    689754

mossbags

Add Galway to that List....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/06/2010 15:46:57    689761

TOUGH LOVE?

Thursday August 15 2002

THE country's most famous sports trophy, the Sam Maguire Cup was kicked along a street in Tuam by a disgruntled Galway football fan.
The All-Ireland football trophy was damaged in the incident which happened as it was being taken from one pub to another.

Last night a senior Galway GAA official confirmed that the trophy had been damaged and the incident was being fully investigated.

Witnesses said the cup was grabbed by a man as it was being taken to a pub in the centre of the town on August 4.

It is thought that the man - in his late 20s or early 30s - was frustrated at Galway's defeat by Kerry in the football championship.

Galway Football Board Secretary John Power explained that the trophy had been given to a business premises in Tuam for photographic purposes.

The owners of the premises was reportedly horrified at the incident.

The trophy is due to be handed back to the GAA at Croke Park shortly for publicity photographs in advance of the All-Ireland semi-finals and final.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/06/2010 15:50:28    689767

mossbags

689754 These lads would be better off listening than spouting on with their usual half baked jibes. You wouldn't find anything half baked in counties in the truly great counies, Cork, Galway, Kerry, Kilkenny, Tyrone, everything is nailed on. Its tough love that the likes of Mayo and Dublin need, not the usual platitudes about tradition and pride. For their own good.

Well said Whiterbananas well said! Your Wumming is getting better by the day. I salute you, Your just a howl!

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 28/06/2010 15:55:56    689780

Thats a disgrace what the Galweigans did to the Sam Maguire. Imagine what the low life in Dubin would do to it if they actually had it more than two times in the last 27 years!!!

nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 28/06/2010 16:14:14    689825

They might use it to store some of the vials they do be bringing to the Hill with them

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 28/06/2010 16:21:29    689834

nacellabeaga
County: Offaly

689825 Thats a disgrace what the Galweigans did to the Sam Maguire. Imagine what the low life in Dubin would do to it if they actually had it more than two times in the last 27 years!!!

Nothing?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/06/2010 16:21:52    689836

nacellabeaga
County: Offaly

Sad to see Donegal out in such circumstances... you must have been very happy with the Offaly hurlers, very spirited over the two games, fair play to them.

Dublin could have done with a little of that spirit.

Q: A negative response invloving Dublin...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/06/2010 16:25:25    689840

mossbags

689834 They might use it to store some of the vials they do be bringing to the Hill with them

Ce?

Listen dont try and be humerous... that involves intelligence.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/06/2010 16:26:32    689842

"Add Galway to that List of yours.... "

And to a degree Tipperary and Limerick too.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 28/06/2010 16:29:13    689849

Christ Jimbodub, I know your hurting but try and hold it together man.
Why not address the issue at hand instead of coughing up aincent accounts of some drunk. Thats the trouble with the Dubs right there maybe, always living in the past and a refusal to address the issues.

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 28/06/2010 16:37:52    689869

Jimbo you are being wummed man, leave them to it!

Today is prime wumming season, with the amount of games/defeats/shocks over the weekend. a higher than usual amount of posters are depressed, melancholic and vulnerable and the good wums wumming sensory is heightened.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 28/06/2010 16:45:27    689893

It's very easy to kick people when their down mossbags.. We'll take this season the the chin and come back stronger next year... and the Dubs are still in the championship and I would back them to turn yous lot over if ye cross paths this year... and while were talkin myths.. Where were the much vaunted Galway forward line against Sligo? P Joyce single handedly got ye back into that game.. Meehan in fairness to him was on one leg but was considered to be a better option than the rest.. And i took ur wing back to kick a free to get ye the draw at the end..

Rant over

Maigh Eo Abu!!

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 28/06/2010 17:48:17    690039

Don't really know if Dublin deserve to be put in the same category as Mayo.

Mayo football is finished for the next few years at least. Like i have said before for an average football county we have had a great 20 year period obviously without sam but had some great days out, over the said period and watched some great footballers pull on the green and red, Mchale, Padden, Brogan, tj, Mcstay, horan, casey, heaney, Nallen and Ciaran Mac to name a few, their likes are just not around Mayo now, it's going to be a dull barron period for Mayo, i just hope we all stick it out together then maybe we can speed up the recovery a little.

To those who are getting digs at Mayo by saying we have no tradition, you should get some older folk to tell you of names like, Langan, Flannagan, Moclair, Prendagast, Carney, Corcorran.....or try league specialists of the 30s, two proud names on team of the millennium, Crossmolina, Ballina ( both aI champs in recent years), over 40 senior provincial titles........i think that warrants a bit of tradition.

Keep the faith, Mayo. It will take a while but we'll be back in 4/5 years in Croker again.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 28/06/2010 19:10:53    690182