Are we being unfair to Paul Galvin?

At present he's the best player in the country. Its true he's being targetted by opponents and its up to refs to see this but its also up to the man himself to be a bit smarter and punish his opponents by winning the game. Fair play to him for saying wat he did. It should also be pointed out that he is a true GAA man and puts in a huge amount of time coaching etc.

jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 29/06/2010 16:35:17    691166

There was never any question that Paul was wrong to do what he did. The question of fairness arose from the unbalanced description of the replay that the Sunday Game and others put out there. He deserves his 4 weeks for what he done. Doubled to 8 for previous crimes fair enough.

But it really was a trial by media and if the disciplinary powers in the GAA cant operate without the Sunday Game or papers causing headlines first then we have a big problem. This has only been highlighted further this week by the incident in the qualifier game which has seeminly been ignored.

Twisted_Menace (Kerry) - Posts: 113 - 29/06/2010 16:39:19    691171

as has been said by previous posters i would echo their view - super player and best in the country by a mile. Punishment harsh but has been accepted and look forward please god to seeing him back before the summer is out.

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 29/06/2010 16:46:19    691187

So Galvin admits he was wrong on a TV interview.

That must make all those Kerry "greats" who attacked Anthony Tohill look a bit foolish now.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 29/06/2010 18:25:15    691359

Redfoot,

The main gripe that the Kerry people had with Tohill was that the coverage of incidents in the game was unjust. Most of them that I read said Paul was foolish and wrong to get involved but the Sunday Game ignored everything else in the game that went on. Paul said it in the tv3 interview himself that he felt that the coverage wasnt balanced. Again we see this now with the Cavan player interfering with the ref. There has been no mention of it. If that was Galvin it would be all over the place.

Most Kerry people I have spoken with have NO PROBLEM i repeat NO PROBLEM with the suspension. 4 weeks was deserved for it. The issue is that he is constantly portrayed as a villain in the sunday game and papers while other incidents of a similar nature get absolutely no coverage...ie Derek Kavanagh incident and the Cavan full back.

If people cant see that is the argument then I dunno what to say

Twisted_Menace (Kerry) - Posts: 113 - 29/06/2010 21:45:02    691561

I went away for the weekend and I come back and this is still going on. For those who want it continued further; there is a two part documentary about Paul coming out in the Autumn

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 29/06/2010 21:59:09    691587

Redfoot, its Tohill who singled him out and not Cadogan Canty or Kavavanagh incidents which were as bad. Biased commentary.

castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 30/06/2010 09:36:53    691623

Twisted menace has it down to a tee. Redfoot just has a serious gripe for gally.

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 30/06/2010 09:58:38    691645

I have criticised P Galvin for his on pitch behaviour but he has gone up in my estimation by acknowledging his wrongdoing and accepting his punishment without argument. Its a lesson to everyone on how to deal with that type of situation.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 30/06/2010 15:23:25    692118

I think the main point about all this is that Paul is a persistent, serial and repeat offender.

Derek and Mossie are not in that category.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 30/06/2010 20:02:00    692569

Look lads its over lets forget about it. Of course he is going to do something else crazy in the future and when he does we can all start again. So lets wait until his ban is over and see what his next move is.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 30/06/2010 20:15:30    692583

am...big sacks....seriously like?!?!?!?....if its AN OFFENCE it should be PUNISHABLE whether the person in question a repeat offender.

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 30/06/2010 20:26:48    692595

i agree with corkcelt

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 01/07/2010 09:56:45    692818

corkcelt

692583 Look lads its over lets forget about it. Of course he is going to do something else crazy in the future and when he does we can all start again. So lets wait until his ban is over and see what his next move is.

Maybe he'll choke someone next time. Oh wait that only warrants a yellow card, it'll have to be something crazier ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 01/07/2010 10:58:03    692897

have you all been on the waccy baccy

this amateur sportsman broke the rules and got an over the top suspension and an over the top reaction from you lot

we need to see more of him not less

i'd rather see paul Galvin in the Telly playing football than watch your idols on the sunday game pontificating about him.

get a grip!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 01/07/2010 11:05:03    692911

Lads galvin was on the telly the other day and said he was wrong
and accepted his suspension, he also said he never contemplated
quitting over the incident so get on with your lives he will be back
when kerry need him

atta (Meath) - Posts: 708 - 01/07/2010 11:51:38    692988