Are we being unfair to Paul Galvin?

No he has only himselve to blame maybe he should wise up.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 27/06/2010 15:59:47    688333

Look I for 1 think Paul Galvin has got what he deserved. In fairness there was not a lot of harm in what he did but it did look unsighltly and you can't leave him get away with stuff like that.
He was clearly provoked by the Cork backs the moment he came on the last day. But he should be aware of the attn he gets and be able to hold back. I think Cadagon seems to enjoy getting under his skin and hopefuuly he will get his comeupance before the season is out.

What I suppose irks Kerry people the most is that The Sunday Game only highlighted this incident and not several others by Canty & Kavanagh.

But I do think that Galvin will never change. It is what makes him the great player that he is. He plays close to the edge and at times he will overstep the mark.
As long as he keeps up the performances in the big games I suppose the Kerry fans will always forgive his misdemeanours. I do know that other counties will look at Galvin and think poorly of him but look every county woulkd be happen with a player like him.

Example I absolutely detest Ryan Mcmenamin. But by god he will always give any corner forward a tough time of it and Tyrone would not swap him for the world and even Kerry would love to have him as a corner back!!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 27/06/2010 16:23:31    688351

This was posted as a new thread and has been moved here to keep all relevant discussion in the one place.Twisted_Menace
Kerry 28/06/2010 10:38 CCCC not doing their job I've no interest in starting a witch hunt to get the Cavan fullback banned but I wonder will the CCCC give him a 6 month ban for turning back and pushing the ref after he was sent off against Wicklow. When I saw it on the Sunday Game I immediately thought back to the infamous Paul Galvin incident with Paddy Russell against Clare. On that day Paul slapped the notebook out of the refs hand and got given a 6 month ban. (Reduced to 3 months after numerous appeals) He didnt physically touch the ref once but his actions were deemed so terrible that he was given a huge suspension whereas Corr turned and put his hand on the ref. That Clare game wasn't covered live by RTE but the Sunday Game did highlight the incident and had a big analysis of it. Again the Cavan Wicklow game wasn't covered live this weekend but the incident was shown in the brief highlights. However the panel didn't make any deal of it. I just wonder what route the CCCC will go with this now or is it one rule for Paul Galvin and another for the rest?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 28/06/2010 11:13:26    689064

I saw that too...... maybe it depends on how hard a hand he put on him?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 28/06/2010 11:32:36    689115

I suppose ya but Galvin didnt even touch the ref back then. Hit the notebook cleanly out of his hand.

The Cavan fella gave the ref abit of a shove alright. I wouldnt consider it anything major but then again I didnt think the Galvin notebook incident was anything major either but it got blown out of all proportion and 6 months was a disgrace. It justs interesting to see what the CCCC will do.

The Sunday game didnt make any issue of it so I guess the CCCC dont know what to do!! Plus banning a poor auld Cavan fella for 6 months wouldnt generate half the hype or public interest as banning Galvin for 6 months did

Twisted_Menace (Kerry) - Posts: 113 - 28/06/2010 12:17:21    689239

Twisted_Menace

689239 I suppose ya but Galvin didnt even touch the ref back then. Hit the notebook cleanly out of his hand.

The Cavan fella gave the ref abit of a shove alright. I wouldnt consider it anything major but then again I didnt think the Galvin notebook incident was anything major either but it got blown out of all proportion and 6 months was a disgrace. It justs interesting to see what the CCCC will do.

The Sunday game didnt make any issue of it so I guess the CCCC dont know what to do!! Plus banning a poor auld Cavan fella for 6 months wouldnt generate half the hype or public interest as banning Galvin for 6 months did

I believe Galvin's treatment is over the top

I believe that your arrogance is worse!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 28/06/2010 13:27:59    689394

Twisted_Menace

689239 I suppose ya but Galvin didnt even touch the ref back then. Hit the notebook cleanly out of his hand

Kerry v dublin in the league this year galvin pushed ref in the back no suspension why ?

The cavan player should get 6 months for laying his hands on ref.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/06/2010 15:36:32    689739

I dunno why there was no suspension back in the league game I was actually just referring to the incident where he did get the suspension for 6 months and I wonder will the same suspension be applied now. As far as I remember the media made a big issue of that back in the league game aswel yet there has been no mention of this Cavan fella...

Twisted_Menace (Kerry) - Posts: 113 - 28/06/2010 15:57:32    689786

ochonlir

I dunno what your problem is.. I have said that I didnt want the bloody Cavan fella suspended. This thread is about the unfair treatment of Paul Galvin and whereas I would be his biggest supporter with alot of the stuff he does I think that this incident highlights that he does get treated unfairly in some instances. His clash with Paddy Russell was definitely no worse than what that Cavan fella done yet there will definitely not be a 6 month suspension handed down. You can be sure of it. Why not? Wheres the consistency?? We are all playing by the same rules arent we??

The main fact why this wont go any further is because Galvin is a much higher profile of player than that Cavan lad and the national papers / Sunday game know full well that most people in the country wont show a bit of notice if the Cavan lad was to get suspended. I think its a valid point.

I didnt mean to to insult any lads but this just highlights what a sham the CCCC and Gaa disciplinary procedures are.

Twisted_Menace (Kerry) - Posts: 113 - 28/06/2010 16:05:09    689803

Twisted_Menace

The cavan player should and i expect get 6 months as 3 is the least he can get . If the media made a deal of galvin back in the league or not he should have been banned for it and he did not , .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/06/2010 16:10:41    689819

Ya dell but the point of this thread is whether PG is treated fairly or not...if the Cavan players incident is not highlighted by the media yet everything PG does is then how is that fair treatment?

Here is a link to one of the countrys leading papers highlighting the incident yet no mention of anything out of order in their match report on the Cavan Wicklow game in today paper...http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0209/1224264030528.html

Twisted_Menace (Kerry) - Posts: 113 - 28/06/2010 16:26:35    689843

Sorry lads

My post up there was meant to say that I wouldnt be the biggest supporter of Galvin with his carry on...typo

Twisted_Menace (Kerry) - Posts: 113 - 28/06/2010 16:30:29    689851

whitebanannas - youy forget the memory tablets today?

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 28/06/2010 16:32:55    689855

Hopefully this can all be put to bed now,he admitted his wrong doing on Ireland AM this morning,case closed!i did see a Cavan player put his hands on the ref on Saturday against Wicklow.

HOO_RAH (Kerry) - Posts: 61 - 29/06/2010 10:36:11    690530

Ya in fairness he didnt have much choice because what he did was out of order. Still doesnt look like the CCCC are gonna be giving out a 6 month suspension to the Cavan lad though.

Twisted_Menace (Kerry) - Posts: 113 - 29/06/2010 10:49:00    690549

Twisted_Menace

689843 Ya dell but the point of this thread is whether PG is treated fairly or not...if the Cavan players incident is not highlighted by the media yet everything PG does is then how is that fair treatment?

Agree with that. Its not fair treatment that Galvin is highlighted and the Cavan one isnt.

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 29/06/2010 10:57:12    690566

The thread was about whether Paul Galvin was being treated fairly. Paul himself has admitted that he was wrong to do what he did and stated that if you do the crime you must do the time. I credit the man for putting his hands up and admitting he was wrong and as far as I'm concerned the matter is now closed.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 29/06/2010 15:14:26    691040

He's come out on Nation television and admitted he was wrong... he's been punished and he's accepted that.

End of in my book....

Brilliant player, hope he get's over that temper of his and learns to use it in a constructive way..

Currently the best GAA player in the country IMO

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/06/2010 15:37:34    691076

way over the top, hes getting rough justise.... the cork player made an attempt to bite his nose if u look at the reply, galvin done wat any other man would have done, im an outsider looking in, but what i see is 70% of the time hes not to blame..

tyronepower1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 58 - 29/06/2010 16:11:28    691138

Great player.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/06/2010 16:26:04    691156