Are we being unfair to Paul Galvin?

he didnt try to bite him! If he was tryin to bite his nose he would ve bitten it. His aim isnt that bad im sure. Just more excuses being made by kerry people who think galvin does no wrong. He should be given a lifetime ban from the GAA

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 24/06/2010 19:52:35    686465

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1627737076#!/group.php?gid=117212623064&ref=ts
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1627737076#!/group.php?gid=101289319921734&ref=ts
To be fair some people are. Its not really fair! Its not as if he is professional he is just a player who is talented and was picked to play for his county, If he was a club player we would pay no heat

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 24/06/2010 19:57:07    686467

Orlaith is right, they are being unfair to him , but can Paul just suck up the the needling of other players and not react?

Bigapple (Kerry) - Posts: 495 - 24/06/2010 20:07:38    686476

God I am sick of this; what does it matter now? Galvin got 4 weeks, doubled to 8 weeks because he had a previous red card within the 48 weeks. He deserved this red card-it really doesn't matter what Cadogen or any of the other Cork players were doing to Galvin (and there was a fair bit!)-he broke the rules himself. He didn't deserve the red card in the league as Cadogen jumped on him and he didn't deserve the red card with Noel O Leary last year but he got them and so because of that his present "sentence" is doubled. Paul Galvin is no angel and gets a lot of attention; he also gets targeted by other players and refs have very little time for him. You can say he should have more discipline and so he should but the abuse and assaults that he gets personally both on the team and as a selector for the Killarney Sem Secondary school in Croke park are far from fair play.

Additionally, two wrongs never make a right and just because Galvin got caught and red carded and others got away with it does not make it right; discipline should be seen to be fair and level handed......

Having said all that, the facts are that Paul is out, Kerry have the Munster final next week...for Kerry, the supporters and the players, an additional hunger is there....we want to be around for Paul to play again for us in the championship this year.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 24/06/2010 20:41:58    686508

i agree with orlaith..
however there are also a lot of groups on facebook supporting galvin!

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 24/06/2010 20:48:27    686513

more fool he is for rising to it again and again. Cadogan knows he can get under his skin so does it, much like aiden o'mahoney, galvin should know what he is doing by now. Even in the headlock bit cadogan let him go to get a reaction, galvin should have just stayed on the ground and held his face, cadogan off and no more out of him in the future, but no up and grab him back, exactly what Cadogan wanted.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/06/2010 21:49:28    686552

DoireCK the media is a powerful tool.
I think its naive to think that incidents like this dont happen in most matches it just so happens that an incident involving Paul Galvin sells papers/ brings in the tv audiences.
There are numerous other perpetrators of thuggery within the modern game who escape under the radar simply because they wouldnt sell papers the way a Paul Galvin incident would.
Im in no way justifying Paul Galvins actions but i do sympathise with him as he gets an overly raw deal in comparison to other players around the country.

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 25/06/2010 10:06:12    686647

Absolutely Paul Galvin is getting a raw deal.

He is an amuter sportsman who is robust and walks a thin line but getting 8 weeks for a bit of slap and tickle beggars belief.

I can't believe the inquisitors on here who are condeming him, get a grip on your selves, people like Paul Galvin are rare and should be treasured and not be subjected to the sanctamoinius claptrap that he is getting.

If some of you had their way we would have interpretive dance taking over from actual football and Macnas could line out against the Billie Barry school for a non-contact danceapalooza in Croker and the Likes of Paul Galvin would be resigned to bitter distant memory.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 25/06/2010 14:07:56    687015

yes

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 25/06/2010 14:20:22    687037

24/06/2010 20:48:27
rebelsrock

i agree with orlaith..
however there are also a lot of groups on facebook supporting galvin!

http://www.facebook.com/?ref=logo#!/group.php?gid=219416269289&ref=search
http://www.facebook.com/?ref=logo#!/group.php?gid=7568760324&ref=search

Oh yeah you are right.

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 25/06/2010 14:27:01    687051

He's actually here on a secret mission drumming up business for a group of Hungarian Dentists - cunning eh...

CorkieInKerry (Cork) - Posts: 93 - 25/06/2010 14:29:36    687056

Maybe a bit. But he is always involved in something stupid almost every year without fail since he's burst onto the scene. I think he enjoys his jack-the-lad image too much to stop acting the idiot actually.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1453 - 25/06/2010 14:50:09    687090

No - u get caught, pay the price.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 25/06/2010 14:54:13    687097

The Salem witch Trials will never be forgotten with you lot around

Anewly installed pond and ducking stool will be a new feature on Croke Park, Provincial grounds will follow suit. The sunday game pannellists will administer the process and the cheering rabble will be selected from Hoganstand!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 25/06/2010 15:09:53    687118

I think if you study the video clip you'll see that he
tried to stick his index finger into Cadogan's eye
before his mouth so therefore he deserves all he gets

toothfairy (Tyrone) - Posts: 20 - 25/06/2010 19:00:59    687307

Who cares...its done and dusted, got the 8 wks. People can't do anymore about it. Ye all hate him,we get it bla bla bla. I hope we make the semi's so he can come back and play like a man scored. He was flying in the county championship at the weekend.

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 25/06/2010 19:26:51    687326

Noko2

Sadly you are liable to be proved correct.... Paul Galvin will come back as a hero just in time for the semi-final!!!

He should have been banned until after the championship altogether.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 25/06/2010 19:36:48    687338

Where has the Cadogan thread gone to ? Anyone know ?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/06/2010 19:37:40    687340

cavan_slasher
i was wondering the same thing myself....just randomly disapeared!

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 25/06/2010 20:15:54    687362

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqYgQp9IXfs

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 584 - 25/06/2010 21:37:15    687423