Why is there no respect for Limerick Football?

Have noticed on here that no body gives Limerick football the time of day.
Apart from Kerry Cork Tyrone and maybe Dublin, I would think that without doubt we could put it up to and beat all the other teams in Ireland on our day.
In the 00'S we beat Cork, in Cork by ten points, were an inch, literally, away from beating eventual All Ireland Champions Kerry, twice, including a draw, Beat Meath by something like 40 points!
All in the championship by the way.
Last year only 2 late goals in the last minute stopped us beating Cork.
So apart from the afore mentioned 4 teams, Limerick are as good as any of the rest.
We are the best team in the country from 1-9 and we have the best midfielder in the country today in John Galvin and possibly the best defender in the country in Johnny McCarthy. We are 2 scoring forwards away from being a top table team. Come back Conor Fitz! Yet when people talk about dark horses and possible surprise packages, we never warrant a mention.

Why so?

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 24/06/2010 11:49:08    685762

Ye make a fair point, but the wild exagerrations have undermined your argument. Ye beat Meath by 9 points, not 40, and they did beat ye last year. Limerick don't have the best 1-9 in the country. And Kerry are gonna be too good and too savvy in the Munster Final. Having said that, Limerick are a decent side at the mo and will be a tough proposition in the qualifiers and might make it to the quarters. I would say they are not quite in the top 10 counties, just outside.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 24/06/2010 12:14:33    685798

Have noticed on here that no body gives Limerick football the time of day.
Apart from Kerry Cork Tyrone and maybe Dublin, I would think that without doubt we could put it up to and beat all the other teams in Ireland on our day.
In the 00'S we beat Cork, in Cork by ten points, were an inch, literally, away from beating eventual All Ireland Champions Kerry, twice, including a draw, Beat Meath by something like 40 points!
All in the championship by the way.
Last year only 2 late goals in the last minute stopped us beating Cork.
So apart from the afore mentioned 4 teams, Limerick are as good as any of the rest.
We are the best team in the country from 1-9 and we have the best midfielder in the country today in John Galvin and possibly the best defender in the country in Johnny McCarthy. We are 2 scoring forwards away from being a top table team. Come back Conor Fitz! Yet when people talk about dark horses and possible surprise packages, we never warrant a mention.

Why so?

I agree with you in most respects Mikey, in that Limerick are deserving of more consideration than what they receive at the moment. You are spot on that "on their day" that they can put it up to the best of them, including Cork, Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin, the problem is that they appear to be able to put only one big performance out in the year, much like Donegal, Derry and maybe even Mayo. I would also take issue that 1-9 you are the "best" team in the country. Above average certainly but far from the best. In essence you are suggesting that ye are 2 scoring forwards away from being a top 4 team, this is were we part company. A lack of consistency is the big problem and this is a team problem just not forwards. I also think that some people look at Limerick, unfairly in my opinion in a Munster final and say that its only because Cork played Kerry in the semi etc. I hope that ye can push Kerry in the final, but I think that Kerry are better 1-6 certainly and without doubt at 10-15. Limerick should have the edge at midfield but can they use the possession they gain and contain Kerry on the ball that they lose, I don't think so. However, a friendly enough draw in the last qualifier could see a semi-final place in the All Ireland, but I would expect no further. Who knows all the same?

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 24/06/2010 12:30:17    685819

Id say why Limerick dont get the respect they deserve is because they never seem to push on,they run Kerry and Cork close in Munster every year,but then fall out of the qualifiers tamely enough,they have to make that extra step,i dont think theyll win Munster,but they should go into the qualifiers and make a quarter final at least,then people will take notice.they all need to be playing Division 2 football at least if they want to make that step.
by the by,Sligo probably have the best 1-9 in the country at the mo,Ross Donavan and Charlie Harrison are the best corner backs in Ireland,Jonny Davey is as good as any wing back you'll find&Stephen Gilmartin is probably the best young midfielder in the country.

HOO_RAH (Kerry) - Posts: 61 - 24/06/2010 13:06:15    685885

A big problem is the attitude of our own supporters within Limerick & I myself have been guilty of this in the past. I'd prefer a hurling match any day over football, but over the last few years the efforts of our footballers have been pretty honest in comparison to the hurling setup.

I haven't been to any Limerick football game so far but I hope to go to the Munster Final. If we were to get to Croker and tickets were scarce I don't think I am entitled to one as I don't go to enough games. A lot of fans like me still will only go on the big day.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/06/2010 13:43:33    685959

I'd have more for them than their hurling team these days!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/06/2010 14:08:06    686002

We dont even get respect in our own county. See Slayers remarks.
Go to the Limerick forum, read some of the so called "fans"
i wont name them as it wouldnt be printed but I guarantee you Slayer and Footballfirst and Miketyson know who i am talking about
One of them is definitely from East Limerick, clue in the name, the other is a kilmallock man with a British title, another "cryptic" clue there!
And they are not alone. There are people including former limerick senior hurling managers and a local reporter who writes for the Limerick Leader who have publicly said that success in Limerick football is a bad thing as we should be concentrating on the hurling. No BS, thats a fact. And many many people, especially in East Limerick would actually agree.

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 24/06/2010 14:16:14    686021

Limerick are well off the pace of the bigger teams

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 24/06/2010 14:18:43    686023

They are definitely an under-rated side ( i hope they stay that way as I made good money on that hammering of Meath), however they are not as good, or have not shown themsleves to be as good as you say.

Correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think they have reached an AI q-f or Division 1/2 league final. Any team who is considered a dark horse or contender has featured at that level. A lot of teams have come close to beating top teams (even Cavan) in provincial championships but that does not place them at that level.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12368 - 24/06/2010 14:22:26    686025

I think most posters from other counties do have regard for Limerick football, and while ye've been very unlucky not win at least 1 Munster over the last decade there's every chance ye'd have won a provincial title in any other province (even Ulster) sometime during that period. If ye manage to derail Kerry this year it'll be a surprise, but I think the respect coming from Kingdom posters is genuine... they won't be turning up and expecting to win with any old performance. If my own county gets out of Longford on Saturday there a lot of other counties I'd prefer us to meet than yourselves.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 24/06/2010 14:55:41    686081

Mikeynora is right when he says that Limerick do not get respect in their own county. There are a fine team and the County Board Chairman would have a far more valid point in criticising LK supporters for not supporting the footballers rather than knocking them for not going to Cork last Sunday to see the hurlers. It is strange, but true that the footballers of Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford get more respect from outside counties than they do from many in their own counties including prominent people on County Boards etc. I am afraid that there are an awful lot of Hurling snobs who can see no good in football. They do not realise what they are missing compared to those of us who support btoh games.

Star Gazer (Tipperary) - Posts: 436 - 24/06/2010 15:10:04    686107

MikeyNora, we are trying to keep the build up low key so that we can surprise Kerry, with all the talk about Galvin in the papers lets keep the focus on them.
You are right about the county board keeping football in 2nd place for years to hurling. The football board has done great work, every GAA person in Limerick can see that though not all will agrree.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 24/06/2010 16:23:49    686220

I agree with everyting slayer said..

Mikenora from you username i know we are from the same part of the county and realise you would love the football. I myself was brought up totally with hurling and couldnt tell you anything about football til 8 or 10 years ago.. Why most Limerick diehard hurling fans had a dislike of the football was because alot of 'fans' stopped following the hurlers and went to the football, the reverse happened again 3 years ago... I think now though generally people in Limerick respect the footballers but with anything you will always have the few who dont, and i know exactly who your talking about.. we have some great footballers, Mccarthy, buckley, galvin, Ryan and Kelly are top class and the rest of the team are quality footballers... I myself think Limerick dont get too much respect because they have failed to kick on especially against Kerry, they seem to get into a winning position and then realise we are limerick and they are KERRY and just wilt

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 24/06/2010 17:16:31    686273

I think most people do respect them and are aware of their achievements. Just keep that McCarthy fellow away from them. I cant believe he is talking about another year!

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1022 - 24/06/2010 17:35:51    686301

Mikeynora, in last years championship, ye were the only team besides Kerry in the final, who put it up to Cork; this demonstrates the ability, hunger and tactics that are there. There is a powerful midfield presence there with John Galvin combined with some clever quick ball into good forwards such as Ian Ryan, Stephen Kelly and Ger Collins. These lads if they get a run of it, will be no walk over for Kerry. Posters can think what they want-that I am being a cute hoor etc playing down Kerry but I am not. I am still expecting Kerry to get through Munster but Limerick will be up for it and if they do beat Kerry, well, you could not begrudge them.

I suppose what does go against them is their lack of consistency outside Munster; its like other teams don't get to see the Limerick footballers in Munster that Cork and Kerry have seen.

It is evident that Limerick footballers do not get the same support as the hurlers but that can be the case in a few hurling counties and even in Cork the small ball seems to rule in many areas.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 24/06/2010 17:40:31    686310

Limerick are a very capable team, and they're under-rated very often. Yet, ye can use that to yere advantage.

Jim. (Wexford) - Posts: 20 - 24/06/2010 17:51:06    686321

Suppose u could say that we have been unlucky not to make the breakthrough in munster and until we do that we will never get respect.
In fact not many footballing counties do.Just look at sligo. Great win over mayo but id say people dont expect them to beat galway.

I think we will beat kerry in the munster final.As this team has the big game experience and how the correct balance and strength in depth.

And one last thing Footballers will always play second fiddle to the hurles in the county.No matter what state the hurlers are in. Very hard to get support for the footballers.League crowds will tell u that.

declan30 (Limerick) - Posts: 652 - 24/06/2010 18:28:00    686374

As some have said, it's hard to get respect for the footballers in Limerick never mind outside. Alot of the problems is where there are dual players up to intercounty standard, there was always the assumption that they would play with the hurlers but that isn't the case anymore & many of the hurling crowd have a problem with that. And then there is the rugby which is huge in Limerick - can you imagine Paul O'Connell full back against Donaghy - he'd put the fear of God into him !! Still though the footballers have come a long way in 10 years, Kilkenny & London were beating us in the leagues in the late 90's.

We have never disgraced ourselves in the the qualifiers (although I admit losing to Meath last year was a new low!) but we do need to beat a big county & get to Croke Park before we are taken seriously outside Munster though.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1145 - 24/06/2010 18:38:58    686399

I think Limerick will beat Kerry, Their midfield will win 70% of kickouts.
Keep the score down, don't give away any soft goals and i think they could pull through by a point.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 24/06/2010 18:40:22    686402

Ha ha.

Ur gas county man. Limerick people rambled on about a great a result it was to beat an already demorilised Meath the year before, yet now it's an all time low to be beaten by Meath.

Great stuff. Give us another one.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 24/06/2010 19:03:04    686429