Kevin Nugent assaulted during club game in Armagh

I can only assume going by the list of injuries that this was not accidental, so whoever done this is a mindless thug who has no place on any sporting field. If this happend on a street in a village/town/city in Ireland then the attacker would be looking at Prison

irlande (Fermanagh) - Posts: 535 - 16/06/2010 14:27:41    679143

Another disgracful post from pp.

An insult to any genuine member of the gaa community to try & condone & dismiss actions like that.

Surprised & dissapppinted with admin for letting something like that through on such a serious topic.

Hope the player makes a full recovery & soon& the culprit gets what he deserves.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 16/06/2010 14:40:09    679158

PomeroyPlunkett,

The G.A.A. should not provide a hiding place or breeding ground for thugs and psychos !! Full stop !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/06/2010 14:45:34    679167

The person who did it isn't a mindless thug as some may claim, he is actually a decent person from a decent family. What happened was an absolute disgrace and I can't believe this person was involved, he was and should therefore be banned for life. Everyone deserves a second chance but this is a step too far.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 16/06/2010 14:48:56    679171

PP I assume is just an attention seeking windup merchant. I'd like to see his attitude if he was assaulted. Would it be still "part of the game"? Moron.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 16/06/2010 14:49:54    679172

Barnowl94

679034 Sounds to me that its the Police not the GAA who should be investigating this one.Best wishes to Kyle for his recovery.

His name is Kevin....DoH

Mourneman5stars (Down) - Posts: 102 - 16/06/2010 14:49:56    679173

I did say the perpetrator(s) deserved a ban from the GAA so I do recognise what they done was wrong. However getting the Police involved is a dangerous road to go down. Where does it end? I've been punched, elbowed etc. etc. while on a football pitch and I've done the same to opposing players. If this happened to me on a street in front of a Policeman whoever done it would be arrested and charged with assault. Does this mean that they deserve the same treatment if it happens on a football pitch. Should Tadhg Kennelly face prosecution for his shoulder on Nicolas Murphy in last year's All-Ireland final? To get the Police involved would be the beginning of removing physicality from GAA and I'm totally against that. If others wish our sport to be become non-contact then that's their own opinion but I disagree entirely

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 16/06/2010 14:51:22    679178

PP are you for real??? or did you not read the severity of this lads injuries. If a lad gets a dig in a match or something similair and he plays on its one thing, but a young fella being hospitalised is extremely serious. Who knows what impact this could have on the rest of his life. S**mbags who put on jerseys and play gaa so they can do this to other people cannot get away with such a serious assault becaues its a "match". No one wants to see the police involved in match discipline and no one mentioned anything about removing physicality. Nicholas Murphy got up within a minute of his injury, this young man probably cant even talk. There has to be a line and the culprit cant hide from what is coming.......a definite prosecution

Jimbo88 (Cork) - Posts: 18 - 16/06/2010 15:11:13    679211

The Police should not be involved in on field activities, except as a last resort.

Any incidents that occur within the GAA should be dealt with by the GAA. I personally feel that every county should have a panel set up to deal with serious incidents such as the incident in Armagh. They should gather as much info as possible, interview witnesses, match officials, the players & mentors involved, then make an informed decision on what course of action and what disciplinary measures (if any) are to be taken.

I have deliberately avoided using the word 'investigation' as I would be wary of this being seen as some sort of vigilante system or kangaroo court. A disciplinary panel or committee would be a better description.

If the injured party feels that they still need further action, after the actions of the disciplinary committee have been implimented, they can pursue it through police or civil actions, but the GAA will be seen to have taken steps to protect & support their members within their own organisation.

All this on the same weekend when we are accused of picking on one of the country's top players because of a similar act of thuggery.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 16/06/2010 15:21:39    679223

Its amazing how many eejits on here fall hook line and sinker for PP every single time!! By reacting to anything this man says your falling into his trap! He wants you to react. He himself does not actually believe anything he says. He wants you to be offended! And you are!
People who say "i know your WUM but.........."
No but.....no nut.........just say i know your a WUM and leave it
The word but in this instance means the wum wins!
Feed the wum and he will score.....feed the wum and he wil score.

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 16/06/2010 15:24:09    679227

Pomeroy is one big contradiction indeed or village idiot given your take. He's on every other thread condemning all sorts of violence and castigating people but says its OK to carry it out on the pitch. As Del Boy would say.........you (pomeroy) plonker.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 16/06/2010 15:24:13    679228

Pomeroy, this sounds completely different to the odd punch or elbow.This sounds like an assualt where several blows must of ben dealt out off the ball.absolute disgrace and you cannot compare this to a (single) unfair tackle when the ball is @ least in he area. And for some to say he is a decent person, actions speak louder than words and i am sure many other criminals were decent till they 1st committed crimes

ballaghmen (Mayo) - Posts: 318 - 16/06/2010 15:27:16    679232

Tom1916
County: Armagh

The person who did it isn't a mindless thug as some may claim, he is actually a decent person from a decent family. What happened was an absolute disgrace and I can't believe this person was involved, he was and should therefore be banned for life. Everyone deserves a second chance but this is a step too far.

I fail to see how someone who inflicted those injuries on a fellow gael could be called a decent person

irlande (Fermanagh) - Posts: 535 - 16/06/2010 15:29:45    679237

yes irlande it's easy to speak anout things you know nothing about.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 16/06/2010 15:36:07    679248

It should be left to the relevant authorities to sort out and if that involves outside agencies then so be it. Tom, irrespective of one's previous good beaviour or decent family background there is no place for this.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 16/06/2010 15:44:23    679259

OK then was there a reason why this brutal assault was justified, did this decent person have a valid reason for leaving a fellow countyman with such injuries

irlande (Fermanagh) - Posts: 535 - 16/06/2010 15:51:52    679273

Question: Do GAA players sign a disclaimer document to indemnify tthe GAA as a body against injuries, and if so is there a distinction between' playing the game injuries' and deliberate assault injuries inflicted by another player? Also would there be enough insurance to compensate this young man for the apparently grievious injuries which he has suffered due to the deliberate actions of another player/ supporter. Obviously the line between common assault and 'game injuries' in this case is blurred and must be defined. My initial reaction would be to determine to identity of the guilty and culpable party (parties) and bring them before the courts on all possible legal grounds and also implicate the GAA body /organization itself. A lawsuit of sufficient magnitude should be put in place on behalf of this player,if for no other reason than rooting out thugs who give vent to their violent natures under cover of a physical contact game. Finally what is the pain and suffering this young fella has to endure worth in terms of euros (euros)? Anyone like to suggest a figure/ maybe someone should ask the GAA governing body and/or the person /persons responsible? No "game" is worth this kind of behaviour, and no referee should have to worry about his safety either because of frees etc. given or not given. Heres wishing the young lad a full speedy recovery AND PROPER COMPENSATION!!

nemlodoak (Meath) - Posts: 170 - 16/06/2010 16:25:26    679313

I honsetly dont know how admin let some of Pomeroy Plonkers posts through

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 16/06/2010 16:36:40    679326

Come on pomeroy - if police dont get involved people will use football to sort out arguments and it'l get out of hand.

ANYONE KNOW ANY DETAILS ABOUT THIS?? WAS IT A PUNCH? A FEW PUNCHES??

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 16/06/2010 16:57:38    679346

Ignore PP just looking for attention on here again with his wind up posts . Whoever done it should be jailed end off.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/06/2010 17:12:34    679356