colin moran tackle

Patschat - get your facts right before coming on here shooting your mouth off. Collie was booked on Sunday after the tackle. That should have been the end of it but because of idiots like you and your campaign he is now suspended for a month. must be a quiet month for ploughing in Longford. Also dont be getting so hot under the collar about matters that don't concern you.. maybe if Longford spent more time looking after their own side and not coming on to talk about other counties they might be in a better state. We'll worry about the Dubs you can worry about Longford. Get up the yard!

superblues (Dublin) - Posts: 32 - 02/07/2008 15:11:55    41742

wow, all you jackeens are the coolest...

mightymeath1 (None) - Posts: 50 - 02/07/2008 15:39:13    41771

You might wanty to drop the mighty from your login name there pal ......10 points up and you end up embarassed by Wexford....how the mighty have fallen.

superblues (Dublin) - Posts: 32 - 02/07/2008 15:56:09    41790

bit rediculous that suspension. If you watch it in real time he didn't have enough time to pull out of it whe he realised the chap was falling. It looks so much worse on slow mo. If he had pulled out of the tackle ye all would of been giving out about him not going for the ball anyway! Ref got it right first time, yellow card

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 02/07/2008 16:08:27    41806

Spot on Laois man. Ref got it right first time but then trial by TV decided otherwise.....the CCC are too lazy to bring their own cases so tehy let teh Sunday Game do their work for them.....why don't they just do us all a favour and save some time and just make the Sunday Game panellists the cccc and we can watch it as a reality show?!

superblues (Dublin) - Posts: 32 - 02/07/2008 16:34:22    41841

superblues - you might want to drop the super from your name as no all ireland in nearly 13 years isn't very super at all!!!
Now first of all you mustn't have been listening in school when they were talkin about the seasons because you wouldnt plough during the summer.. Summer is silage and hay season and i've an awful dose of the hayfever at the moment so am giving it a break.. anyway the ground is damp after all the rain so you wouldnt save much hay these days.. if your lookin for round bales of silage tho i could do you a deal just because you seem like a REALLY sound guy...
now secondly that was a lovely long, unbiased email to the sunday game it was very good and you really deserve an A1 for creative writing.. id say you did really well in your leaving cert english did you?
thirdly i must apologise for my ignorance to the fact that nobody from outside dublin is allowed comment on anything to do with the dubs because of this insane complex ye have that the minute somebody says something negative or even the truth about dublin ye all come on whingeing about hate campaigns and people being bitter against the dubs.. you see i never heard that the other 31 counties arent allowed comment on the dubs i must have been ploughin that day.. if you would like to send me a lovely long email to get it off your chest my email is [email protected].. i look forward to hearing from you..

patschat (Longford) - Posts: 35 - 02/07/2008 16:57:41    41901

Patschat - We could get into a discussion about how many All-Irelands or even MATCHES that Longford have won in the last 13 years but then that would be like shooting fish in a barrell wouldnt it.....
Thanks for the farming lesson by the way.....what with me being a Dub and all I had never heard of the likes of silage, hay etc. obviously the hayfever has taken its toll on you tho, sorry to hear that. You must have plenty of time on your hands now to go rile up the Dubs for the summer.
Re the e-mail to the Sunday Game, fair play on reading to the end of it....but then the old hayfever means you dont get out much I suppose....would you mind telling me which parts were biased (I may not have listened in school but I do recognise sarcasm) exactly? All it was was stating facts....did the panel or did they not refuse to condemn Paul Galvin or fergal Doherty but went to town on Collie Moran? I think we both know the answer to that one...

superblues (Dublin) - Posts: 32 - 02/07/2008 17:38:39    41942

Ah head-butter, thought you had abandoned me. I had actually posted 7 or 8 comments without you noticing so you obviously are marking me like a Monaghan defender against Fermanagh ;-)

I wasn't using Barden to condone what Moran did, I was merely stating that Patschat came on here criticising what Moran did but never criticised Barden for what he did. Nor did anyone else for that matter - including Westmeath people.

I don't want to submit my passport yet if that's ok. I will happily continue to support both counties until they play each other (at which point Longford will come first) I will be in Longford on the 19th for the game v Laois and then in Croker on the Sunday to support Dublin.

Shinners (Longford) - Posts: 496 - 02/07/2008 19:32:55    41997

i think this tackle shows the inconsistency of referees at the moment, if the ref was doing his job moran would probably have been sent off or at least got booked. i think 4 weeks is a fair suspension

kefan (Kildare) - Posts: 498 - 02/07/2008 21:25:33    42024

i felt that his challenge was one that can happen very easily when game is played at championship pace moran is not that type of player felt he played well and sorry for him if has to miss leinster final coz after tough couple of years form wise. oh SHINNERS u have some nerve giving out about fans abusing dublin , u werent long coming on kerry website giving out about galvin( he did let himself down as kerry captain u shouldnt take glee in that says MORE about u than him) . others right u are been weighed down by those chips on your shoulder, i am passionate about football as well save the anti kerry sentiment , many of us have great time for the dubs its a special rivalry , i have to laugh at your double standards

kerryfan (Kerry) - Posts: 10 - 03/07/2008 00:38:18    42084

In fairness Patschat most Dubs don't have a problem when outsiders come onto our board to comment, even when their comments are intentionally provocative like yours. Except in your case you were telling lies or badly misinformed.

This is what you said

"cant believe the ref did not even book Moran for his blatant shoulder/elbow to the head of Dermot Bannon."

1) The referee did book Collie

2) Collie didn't make contact with his head but with his collar bone and hence the collar bone injury.

Perhaps you will do a bit more research before posting here again and making a fool of yourself. Do you still think that an unintentional shoulder to a players collar bone deserves a 4 week suspension?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 03/07/2008 09:30:13    42129

Kefan - do some research will ye!! The ref did his job

"Moran received a yellow card for the incident which resulted in Bannon having to retire with a badly bruised joint in his shoulder in the 23rd minute, but television replays suggested that he could have received a straight red card after catching his opponent with a high elbow."

The Sunday Game Disciplinary Committee or SGDC as it shall now be known overturned the decision and made it a red with a 4 week suspension. All for a mistimed tackle that unintentionally lead to Moran making shoulder contact with Bannon's collar bone - not his head. God help us if that deserves 4 weeks. Non contact sport here we come.

Again just to reiterate for all of the numbskulls coming on here demonising Moran - his opponent received a shoulder injury from Moran's shoulder tackle.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 03/07/2008 09:49:31    42137

In fairness lads, we must have a point when even Eugene McGee is defending a Dublin man!

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/eugene-mcgee/ccccs-decision-on-moran-raises-moral-and-legal-doubts-for-gaa-1425924.html

superblues (Dublin) - Posts: 32 - 03/07/2008 10:23:50    42164

Shinners, how do you know i didnt condemn Barden for what he did? If you are accusing me of being anti-dub well read my previous posts on dubs and dub sfc (which most "summer" posters on here barely know exists) and judge for yourself.. i have been to many Dublin SFC games and also to Junior games in Dublin which is probably a lot more than most dubs..Yes I have my issues with them and a section of their support but none more so than any other county..

Now superblues we could get into a big culchie/dublin row on this but this site is for football discussions and i would like to keep it to that if thats ok with you. I have no problem with the Dubs let me state. I have very good friends, relations from dublin and enjoy the craic with the old style dubs who are incredibily passionate about their city and rightly so..

Now just to clear up my opinion on the subject in discussion..

Its not trial by media, the video replay showed he had time to pull out but dropped his shoulder to meet a falling Bannon, can you watch that replay and tell me it was accidental?. Surely this incident justified discussion given it ended Bannons game and was poor challenge?
And this anti-dub crap is going beyond a joke, it was very similar to reillys tackle a few weeks ago, he was condemned by media(Pat Spillane, Anthony Tohill) and posters on here and got ban he deserved so why should dubs be treated any different? (Ok so O'Cinneide didnt outright condemn galvin but he's a kerryman and we all have a tendancy to stick up for our own, I still think he is one of the best analysts they have. Senan Connell wouldnt condemn Moran on TV3 its just the way it is)
I agree some of the Sunday Game panel are idiots and I can understand dubs issues with them (every supporter in country, except maybe kerry have issues with them)but the tackle speaks for itself.
Why can't you put all that aside and judge it strictly on what happened, he had time to pull out, he didn't, he leaned in to intentionally catch player and got a ban for a bad, albeit out of character challenge. I think its fair to ask Dubs supporters to judge the challenge on its own rather than say he shouldn't be banned cuase Sunday Game lads are hypocrites.
If one of Westmeaths backs hit Jayo/Connolly/Brogan etc and they went off with (suspected) broken collarbone like that would you be happy it was accidental?
I really wish that people wouldn't turn all these incidents into dubs v the world.. It was a bad challenge, he deserves a ban but given I've rarely seen him put in a bad challenge for club or county I think 4 weeks is ample.....
I have a good few friends from dublin all of whom agreed it was a bad challenge, why do so many dubs have this immature attitude that no dub can ever do anything wrong or be criticised and defend them regardless of reason and clear evidence to the contrary? It doesn't make you any less of a supporter to admit your players are human and capable of a bit of red mist....

I hope I've cleared up my point of view and let me categorically state I am not anti-dub..... Ps you wouldnt really turn over to TV3 would you they're shocking...

patschat (Longford) - Posts: 35 - 03/07/2008 10:24:42    42166

patschat - Fair enough, lets stick to the tackle in question. I hope your memory has improved since Monday when in your blind rage you couldn't even remember the ref had booked the player.

Collie was fully committed to the shoulder. Bannon slipped just before impact and Collie caught him high. It looks bad on TV when its slowed down but when the slip by Bannon is taken into account its a yellow card, plain and simple. Even your county man Eugene McGee agrees....(not know for his love of all things blue and navy)....It is of course unfortunate that Bannon had to go off but that in no way justifies a 4 week suspension for an at worst clumsy tackle.
By the way, it blatantly is trial by media. Do you seriously think he would now be suspended if the Sunday Game didn't have their little rant?

superblues (Dublin) - Posts: 32 - 03/07/2008 10:55:11    42201

And now Dessie and the GPA have awoken to the trial by TV after it happened to a Dublin Player. Not heard anything from them since the Cork debacle

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 03/07/2008 13:59:00    42380

Diego - Stick to the issue here. We're not talking about the GPA, we're talking about Collie Moran's tackle.
When you bring it up thou the GPA made their comments about the process in general and not one specific incident.
Anyway, why shouldn't the GPA defend one of their members after being villified on TV for an unintentional, at worst clumsy tackle.

superblues (Dublin) - Posts: 32 - 03/07/2008 14:57:04    42424

Think your missing the point there Diego. It has never happened to any player before, Dublin or otherwise. This is a new low in the GAA i.e. the disciplinary process being undermined by TV presenters. What next, Dustin to replace Nickey Brennan?? Here here I say!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 03/07/2008 15:13:29    42435

Joxer are you 100% sure that there was no intention? absolutely without doubt 100%??? your some man if you are.. i wouldnt attempt to say im 100% sure he meant it but i can only give my opinion.. as for me bein intentionally provocative im not even goin to go there ive explained this before about the paranoia of SOME dublin fans...

superblues.. i'll leave with this comment cos dont want to drag on about it like a Sunday Game analyst.. Firstly its not just Collie Moran who is getting it from the media and the Sunday game every player does.. O'reilly wouldnt have been brought to book except for tv, there wouldnt be half as much about galvin only for the media... its their job to sensationalise things to attract viewers.. a quote from your very own Paul Curran on the issue "Former Dublin star Paul Curran has defended The Sunday Game programme after it came in for criticism for its analysis of Collie Moran's tackle on Westmeath's Dermot Bannon.
Many feel that Moran was unfairly singled out on the programme and that this put pressure on the CCCC which, in turn, proposed a four-week ban for the Ballyboden St Enda's clubman. 'I think it's totally unfair to blame The Sunday Game,' said Curran.'The Sunday Game wouldn't be doing its job if it didn't highlight incidents, which were clearly big talking points.'"...
Now secondly on my own county man mcgee, he doesnt have a lot of time for the maroon and white or the blue and gold either, he works in direct opposition to RTE and the Sunday game, and also if your a regular reader of his columns he's a serial moaner about all things GAA...
I'm willing to accept that maybe I'm swayin more on the side of intent due to incidents with Dublin previously(i would be more inclined to blame management for pumping up their players so much and congratulating them for acts of indiscipline e.g.pillar with vaughan v monaghan) but in my honest opinion i feel it was a bad tackle, however i do take on board your points re slippin etc and i have said in previous posts that it is out of character for Moran..i think a 4 week ban is fair..i know you wont agree with me but i'm willing to agree to disagree cos i'm tired of talkin about it now..
as for me being in a "blind rage you couldn't even remember the ref had booked the player" you were probably at the game but if you watched it on TV3 it gave no indication he was booked and missed the ref giving him the yellow card because they had the camera on bannon, the 5 or 6 people watching it with me (2 from dublin) all thought he got away with no booking..

patschat (Longford) - Posts: 35 - 03/07/2008 16:39:54    42507

Just to remind you again Patschat this is what you said

"cant believe the ref did not even book Moran for his blatant shoulder/elbow to the head of Dermot Bannon."

Bearing in mind that you obviously didn't do any research before coming out with this then it can only be viewed as provocative. You were wrong on two counts "no yellow card" and "head". if it was unintentional and it certainly seems that it was then you were also wrong with "blatant".

Can we believe a word out of your mouth? Next you will be telling us that Shane Ryan shot a Westmeath fan in the stand.

Just to reiterate Bannon sustained a shoudler injury from Collie Moran's shoulder. What is wrong with that intentional or otherwise?

The evidence that it was unintentional

1) the speed that it occurred at (not slow motion real speed)
2) comments from Tohill, David, Magee to the effect that they thought it was unintentional
3) the fact that Bannon slipped a half a second before contact. Moran would have to have the reflexes of a mountain goat to avoid the collision
4) the comments of real neutrals on here

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 03/07/2008 16:59:59    42530