colin moran tackle

cant believe the ref did not even book Moran for his blatant shoulder/elbow to the head of Dermot Bannon. Bannon had to leave the field later on. It was a disgraceful challenge and shouldnt go unpunished. Kevin O'Reilly from Meath has been pulled up on a similar challenge so I dont see why Moran should get away with it.

patschat (Longford) - Posts: 35 - 30/06/2008 09:40:34    39790

Patschat, can i just ask you to look into your heart and ask yourself why you have all this bitterness against Dublin?
Did you go onto the Meath page the day after the Wexford game and ask about Reillys tackle? Did you kick up murder on the Longford page over Paul Bardens blatent punch on a Westmeath player which he only got a yellow card for?

I am a Longford supporter first and a Dublin supporter second but it embarrasses me when I see other country fans slagging off Dublin just because it is percieved as the cool thing to do. I would rather support Dublin than Man Utd, Chelsea or any of the other soccer teams

Shinners (Longford) - Posts: 496 - 30/06/2008 11:49:35    39938

Intent?????

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 30/06/2008 11:52:23    39942

No intent. When you play at that speed these things happen. The Sunday Game highlighing it last night shows desperation to fill airtime cause Tohill and Davis had nothing to say.

I would have thought a waterboy squirting water on Keaney's face would have made a more interesting clip. At least that was funny!!!

HankdTank (Dublin) - Posts: 27 - 30/06/2008 13:27:41    40093

joxer, i would be on my way to the doctor if i was you. your attempts to condone moran's actions have been pretty pathetic. in my opinion there was loads of intent there, around the same amount he had when he done more or less the same thing to seamus kenny in the infamous league match.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 30/06/2008 13:50:39    40118

Shinners, I dont normally reply to stupid messages but i just feel i should point out a few things about your post.. where can you see "all this bitterness against dublin" ? I merely pointed out that Morans tackle deserved to be dealt with in the same way as any other tackle of that nature..the fact he is from dublin is irrelevant.. now if you had bothered to ask instead of jumping down my throat i would have gladly told you that I utterly condemn Reillys tackle, Galvins petulant outburst, McKeevers kneee on coulter yesterday etc just as much as I do Morans tackle.. what saddens me and i would ask you to in your own words to "look into your heart" is why you are on here standing up for a tackle that a dublin player made while putting down one of your own county players.. i totally understand dub fans being on here and standing up for their own but you slating paul barden in defence of Collie Moran just seems a bit needy to me.. are you trying to be accepted by the dublin people?? will you not be out shouting for paul barden in a few weeks time against laois? i didnt see the incident you're on about but if it happened then yes of course i condone it but im not going to use it as a justification for another player to be indisciplined and he was dealt with by the ref whereas Moran didnt even get a black book for his.. I condone all acts of indiscipline on a pitch be they from any county and am just asking that the GAA deal with each incident in the same manner.. is that ok with you? Oh and finally what in Gods name were you doing bringin Man Utd, Chelsea or other soccer teams into a post about indiscipline???? a little irrelevant i would think...

patschat (Longford) - Posts: 35 - 30/06/2008 15:15:30    40239

The problem with you LoyaltoRoyal is that nobody listens to your opinions.

Pat Spillane, Anthony Tohill and Kevin McStay in today's Herald have all admitted that it looked unintentional. Maybe you should apply for a job with RTE and your buddy Bernie Flynn!!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 30/06/2008 16:31:48    40364

If the ref saw what we saw on the replay or on last night's Sunday Game then i think he would and should be sent off as the studio last night also said.It was a clumsy tackle,we will never know if there was intent, Collie Moran would be seen as a fair hard hitting player but tackles like that should be punished.However it should be the referees job on the day and during the game and not to be punished after.You cant compare it to the punishment that was given to Paul Galvin and Feargal Doherty etc as the ref saw this tackle and deemed it a foul.

With regards the game, Ross can not play full back for Dublin again.I feel sorry for the lad but he isnt and never has been accomplished at full back at any grade, age or level.I read someone saying that Ross is only there for the big boys Clarke and Donaghy.If Denis Glennon an average( possibly above average) foward can do what he did yesterday in 15 mins then regardless if there 6 ft 3 + imagine what Clarke and Donaghy would do.

Paul Flynn, i felt sorry for him also.Sorry because yesterday performance is the last time he will see competitive Football again this summer ( likewise Paddy Andrews ).No where near good enough, i follow Dublin club football strongly and i have never heard of this chap making any sort of impression. In fairness though he must be trainning hard but being realistic Dublin has always had an abundance in that department .Going forward, Connolly has to start, id even have him in ahead of B Brogan.He wasnt that good yesterday but he still kicked 2 points and had a few wides.He makes things happen.

Sherlock,Keaney and Quinn need to stop hiding especially Keaney as he should be playing far better with the talent he has.I think his holiday pre season could have taken a toll on him far more than we know.Im yet to see him play as well as he is this year

Fair play to Cullen, without doubt the best centre back in Dublin if constistent.Showed what he had yesterday.Moran and Cahill both did there jobs well.

Midfield - i have been a critic of Fennell and i hold my hand up to his performances to date, yesterday again he worked so hard and caught some good clean ball and also won both throw ups at the start of each half but i would have to start Whelan and Ryan the next day and bring in Fennel if either get tired BUT i would like to say that Eammon Fenell is going very wella nd in the right direction, long may it continue.

Henry and Shaugnessy, both were tidy.The latter must be happy with Moran's challenge as Alan Mangan is a bad footballer

Captaincrook (Dublin) - Posts: 29 - 30/06/2008 17:16:23    40424

Hey Shinners have you thought of handing in your longford passport and exchanging it for Dublin one.I cant believe you're actually slagging off one of your own county players in order to defend a DUBLIN player!!!
I'm sure if you contact Hoganstand.com they'll change your log on from Longford to Dublin so then all your posts would make a lot more sense!!

HeadButter (Monaghan) - Posts: 312 - 30/06/2008 18:48:56    40483

Patschat, the point I am making is that a lot of country supporters hate Dublin and I have shipped some fairly harsh criticism for my outspoken support of them. I apologise for taking it out on you in that respect but I am just sick of people from outside Dublin criticising them and these are the same people who support soccer teams instead of supporting other county teams like Dublin.

What I will not apologise for is coming out and asking you why you did not kick up murder on other counties pages over late tackles a la Reilly but you will put it on the Dublin page about Moran. I am not sticking up for Moran ahead of Barden. If you read any of my posts on the matter you will see I did NOT condone what Moran did. I am trying to say that you cannot come on here and criticise Moran when Barden got away with just a yellow card.

Shinners (Longford) - Posts: 496 - 30/06/2008 19:05:22    40490

i feel a bit sorry for collie, he isnt a dirty player, and even though i dont think it was intentional i do however feel it was a very bad tackle.

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 30/06/2008 21:14:47    40528

I think collymoran is going to be in big trouble he also done the same against meath which led to the whelan incident, even as a dub fan i cant condone what he did.

DELGADO (Dublin) - Posts: 72 - 01/07/2008 09:20:54    40620

Shinners, would you like some salt & vinegar for that chip on your shoulder?? this is in no way because he is from dublin it is because it was a bad tackle that left a player out of the game for a good period of time as a result.. its fairly black and white if you ask me.. secondly how do you know i didnt go on other pages? do you have a serious amount of time on your hands that you can trawl through every page to see who's putting comments up?? also and finally on this subject barden got a yellow card, o'reilly got punished after, moran has got nothing so far and there has been no talk of him getting anything so that is the reason i came on here to express my opinion on it.. correct me if im wrong but did barden break any bone in the westmeath guys body? did he seriously injure the player?? no i dont think he did so i dont think he "got away with a yellow card" however if you ask dermot bannon who is now out of football with a broken collar bone id say he feels like moran got away with it...

patschat (Longford) - Posts: 35 - 01/07/2008 09:54:56    40644

Just saw this on RTE website
"Dublin's Colin Moran could face a four-week suspension after television analysis showed his high tackle on Westmeath's Dermot Bannon to be extremely dangerous.

Bannon was caught by Moran's elbow and was forced to leave the field with a suspected broken collarbone which may end his Championship season.

Referee Padraig Hughes booked Moran for the incident, but he may upgrade the offence after seeing replays of the incident. (Irish Independent/The Star)"

fair play to the GAA for following it up it was a bad challenge and deserves to be punished. good to see the GAA are taking on indiscipline and trying to stamp it out. it has no place in the sport.. there's nothing wrong with a good hard shoulder but when players step over the line it should be dealt with.. fair play to dub fans here too for admitting the challenge was bad..

patschat (Longford) - Posts: 35 - 01/07/2008 10:23:17    40674

If Collie gets 4 weeks for that then we may give up. Clearly this was unintentional. A full blooded championship game in front of 67000 people and you can no longer put a tackle in. The only way to get rid of this nonsense is to ban the shoulder charge. If a player goes in for a shoulder charge and unintentionally catches an opponent he will be sent off with a min 4 week ban. That is clearly the message from HQ so clearly the answer should be to avoid the shoulder tackle. Better still make it a non-contact sport a la basketball.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 01/07/2008 11:30:16    40739

CaptainCrook - Glennon did what he did yesterday because he is a very fast and mobile full forward and outpaced Ross - Clarke/Donaghy are totally different full forwards and have nowhere near the pace of Glennon...

Its like comparing a fullback on how they struggle against Brogan but would cope against Keaney...

Dubsforsam1 (Dublin) - Posts: 164 - 01/07/2008 11:46:14    40756

This trial by television is getting out of hand. Surely if a ref deals with an incident that he sees on the day that should be the end of it? What happens if TV doesn't pick up an incident and someone gets a jaw or nose broken? No action taken?

Its one thing for an off the ball incident to be dealt with in retrospect but this thing of re-running and slo-mo-ing incidents takes away the context and actuality of the incident. We are talking about full blooded, Championship commitment here but the way refs (and TV pundits) are going we'll soon have a sport where players are afraid to make a challenge.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 01/07/2008 12:06:45    40778

it's just not like a dub to go in with a horror tackle, now is it???

what a disgrace; banning a perfectly fine jackeen for the leinster final...

and all the poor fecker did was try to cripple a lad from westmeath...

jaysus, the gaa musht have it out for the poor ol" feckin jackeens...

mightymeath1 (None) - Posts: 50 - 02/07/2008 09:07:02    41370

As one who regularly supports Dublin from the Hill, I must say that Moran's tackle was dangerous. This type of play by Moran, Galvin, Reilly or anyone else should not go unpunished.
No player should be taken out of a game after giving his all in training for the past six months.
Moran should take his punishment and our sympathy shold be with the young Westmeath player.
Play fair or don't play at all.

LoyalVin (Mayo) - Posts: 88 - 02/07/2008 11:07:12    41503

All Dubs should be getting on to the Sunday Game over this....its an absolute disgrace that Collie will miss the final because of a media/bitter anti-Dubs culchies driven witch hunt .....heres a copy of an e-mail I sent to the Sunday Game....get onto them and lets make our voice heard...

May I congratulate the Sunday Game in reaching a new low in standards of analysis over the last few weeks.

The panel's analysis of incidents specifically involving Paul Galvin of Kerry, Fergal Doherty of Derry and Collie Moran of Dublin has seriously undermined the credibility of the Sunday Game.

Your panellist Anthony Tohill wouldn't comment on Fergal Doherty for his off the ball cowardly punch in the Derry vs. Donegal game. The panel all agreed on letting the CCC deal with Paul Galvin after his sending off in the Kerry vs. Clare game. Dara O' Cinneide would not be drawn into any condemnation of a player who had been sent off, physically confronted the referee, slapped his notebook from his hand and ranted at a linesman on his way from the pitch.

Imagine my surprise then last Sunday when the panel chose to launch a witch hunt against Collie Moran of Dublin for his clumsy tackle, no more than clumsy mind, definitely not dirty or pre-meditated and not in the same league as the Doherty punch or Galvin sending off. The witch hunt has now resulted in a 4 week suspension for Collie Moran, totally unmerited in my view.

The only conclusion that can be taken from the panel's treatment of these incidents is an anti-Dublin bias on the Sunday Game and a code of Omerta when any incidents arises involving a former team-mate of a Sunday Game panellist.

I for one will be switching over to TV3 for the rest of the summer. Shame on your program and its double standards.

Up the Dubs.

superblues (Dublin) - Posts: 32 - 02/07/2008 11:13:07    41509