Down V Tyrone - Predictions

Will be in Benidorm but hoping for a Tyrone victory as the Back door is looking like Shark invested waters and would take an exceptional team to come through it and win the All Ireland, Down and Tyrone always very entertaining !.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 10/06/2010 14:14:10    673171

omaghredhand - Coming from a blue blood I find this a touch ironic!! Apparently youse are that hard to listen to since the Donegal game that even the Armagh lads are supporting Tyrone next week!

Tpical Tyrone arrogance yet again. Down fans have been going about their business as normal without the all the hype etc following our victory in Ballybofey. We are looking forward to next Saturday's game with a good degree of confidence NOT ARROGANCE unlike you Tyrone lot. Jaysus knows there is no worse sight or sound that being anywhere close to Tyrone fans. They invented Gaelic Football and have suich a wonderful record of success in the past 126 years. Yeah right!!! Get some humility

Mourneman5stars (Down) - Posts: 102 - 10/06/2010 14:17:07    673174

We'll hammer Down, they've got a defence like a sieve. Good to see the Marty Clarke bubble has well and truly burst, he was poor against Donegal. Hopefully now people will stop building him up as one of the best footballers in the country when in reality he's merely average

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 10/06/2010 14:33:29    673201

its goin to be a close game , hopefully we will win .. no more than 2 pts
i would not write down off .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 10/06/2010 14:38:44    673209

Begbie
County: Armagh

673159 Down Exile could you not have simply asked for predictions rather than calling this the biggest game in the AI championship to date. Slightly ridiculous. As everyone else has said Kerry vs Cork is and will be until very late into the summer. In terms of this game it's hard to know what way it will go. Downs full back line is horrendous. Begbie

673159 Down Exile could you not have simply asked for predictions rather than calling this the biggest game in the AI championship to date. Slightly ridiculous. As everyone else has said Kerry vs Cork is and will be until very late into the summer. In terms of this game it's hard to know what way it will go. Downs full back line is horrendous. O'Neill if hungry enough could kick 2-15 in this game such is the state of Down's defence but something tells me Tyrone and Micky Harte might just let this one go. It's too early in the summer for Tyrone to tick. They are a much better side than Down and alot shrewder too (2008). No doubt Down will give it everything, they forget what it is like to win a provincial title. If I'm pushed to give a prediction I'll go for Tyrone by 2. If this was an AI quarter final I'd go for Tyrone by 10-12. However as I've said I'd question Tyrone's desire. Tyrone have bigger things to worry about. The only reason I'm going for Tyrone by two is because I don't rate this Down team at all. Some great forwards but at the back it isn't a case of having a few suspect games, they simply don't have the players. Because of the question marks over Tyrone's desire to win this I wouldn't be overly surprised with a Down win.

Prediction Tyrone by two (or depending on desire 15).

Ok Begbie are you having a laugh or what sort of medication are you on of late? You talk an awful lot of rubbish, i wouldn't be surprised if you are actually from Tyrone, in fact i'm almost certain you are from Tyrone as you blow the team up so much, "O'Neill if hungry enough could kick 2-15 in this game such is the state of Down's defence but something tells me Tyrone and Micky Harte might just let this one go." Be realistic, 2-15 would be some going in any match never mind an inter county provincial semi-final! O'Neill no doubt is a quality player but i can tell you now he won't score that or anywhere ear it and the reason he won't isn't this excuse you have come up with that Tyrone don't have desire to beat Down or win Ulster. What more desire do they need than Down knocking them out in 2008?? As for winning Ulster, it would be much easier to progress through the provincial Championship than the qualifiers as teams such as my own county Mayo, Armagh, Donegal, Kildare and Derry are all tough challenges in the back door. Don't give us this "depending on desire" rubbish. You also say, "Tyrone have bigger things to worry about." Like what??? Their next biggest challenge is making the Ulster final by beating Down. Talk sense lad! Some people really ought to think about things before they come on this and open up their mind which for some people is a bad idea, eh Begbie? ;)

I_agree (Mayo) - Posts: 58 - 10/06/2010 14:59:14    673238

Down should win, their defence is sorted out now, their midfield will be better this time and Marty Clarke should be a lot better than gainst Donegla. Prob will be about 3-15 to 1-10.

Atticalllegends (Down) - Posts: 96 - 10/06/2010 15:05:31    673249

oooh legend what a dream that would be ....lol

Mourneman5stars (Down) - Posts: 102 - 10/06/2010 15:14:46    673262

I_agree,

No medication, no requirement. Take 2-15 literally if you wish. Tyrone's desire for me is still in question. Many Tyrone men question this themselves, indeed I was talking to a man from Tyrone earlier who said he would (as would many other Tyrone people). As for me being from Tyrone, wrong again lad. I'm as far away from Tyrone as an Armagh man could be. I don't live in that end of the orchard county. I will give my opinion if I wish and I'll not have some Mayo lunatic talk it down while he gives me his 'expert' opinion. Feel free to forward yours and I'll forward mine. That doesn't mean either of us are wrong. I didn't say for certain Tyrone will play the game with a lack of desire but I do believe it's a possibility. I don't build them up to be a super team, they've proved themselves to be a super team. Down are, like Armagh, in transition. You could make the case that Tyrone too are entering their own transition period but they have the experienced heads that have went all the way. When I said bigger things to worry about refer back to 2008, as you already have. Then you might see what I mean. I think come August/September time whether or not Down win, lose or draw on Sunday, the Down lads will be tuning into RTE to watch Tyrone in their bid for a fourth Sam.

Begbie (Armagh) - Posts: 12 - 10/06/2010 15:49:13    673307

i-agree
jaysus calm down! i don't think he was bein serious bout 2-15. altho i think we all agree on his day stevie o'neill could destroy a poor down defence. obviously tyrone's desire to win this game will be limited. ulster championships mean relatively little. altho i wud prefer to go the direct route i hav a feeling that if we went in to the qualifiers it mite be gud 4 us to get sum hard competition played with no safety net.
mourneman5stars- i dont think tyrone will steamroller down as u put it but why is it that because yous got a promotion and a tight win against a poor donegal side yous think that all of a sudden ur big contenders and there's no chance of u getin thrashed. i'd say its possible with that defence. so i dont think it's arrogance that sum tyrone lads r sayin it. just a valid opinion. one down lad even said its the game of the year. don't think yous are that big of a team.
As for the biggest game of year so far. i don't think u can say it's kerry cork because kerry half ass it and it means the game has little value. cork are going to win and kerry will "regroup" in the qualifiers and then cork will think they're brilliant until they play kerry again in croker and the cycle will repeat itelf. i think either sligo-mayo or armagh-monaghan was the biggest game because there was real desire showed in them matches

galballygael23 (Tyrone) - Posts: 235 - 10/06/2010 16:20:10    673365

Breffni39

673055 To be fair Kerry v Cork is the biggest game these days

If going by last weeks game there not as it was one of the worst games this year . On tyrone v down i feel down might catch us this time around again but hope not.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/06/2010 16:57:15    673419

Tyrone to win but Down will give them a rattle.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 10/06/2010 17:15:20    673442

Mourneman5stars
County: Down

673174 omaghredhand - Coming from a blue blood I find this a touch ironic!! Apparently youse are that hard to listen to since the Donegal game that even the Armagh lads are supporting Tyrone next week!

Tpical Tyrone arrogance yet again. Down fans have been going about their business as normal without the all the hype etc following our victory in Ballybofey. We are looking forward to next Saturday's game with a good degree of confidence NOT ARROGANCE unlike you Tyrone lot. Jaysus knows there is no worse sight or sound that being anywhere close to Tyrone fans. They invented Gaelic Football and have suich a wonderful record of success in the past 126 years. Yeah right!!! Get some humility

A Down man accusing Tyrone supporters of arrogance,now that is funny.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 10/06/2010 17:22:21    673450

Tyrone will win well.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 10/06/2010 17:22:22    673451

Mourne5stars

Oisin2.7

671449 Please win Tyrone, silence all these Down one's, its getting unbearable down here in Armagh.

Straight from the horses mouth so to speak. As for the game, it will be tight. I have Down backed for Ulster so I will not be too disappointed if we get beat, safe in the knowledge that the trapdoor awaits

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 10/06/2010 18:49:57    673594

Tryone by 5. Down backs will leak goals to easy.

thetown (Laois) - Posts: 79 - 10/06/2010 19:52:54    673669

Two baldy men fighting over a comb. Ulster is very very poor this year, the province will be lucky to have one team in the All Ireland semi's.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 10/06/2010 21:43:16    673807

Down 5-8

Tyrone 0-12

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/06/2010 21:45:54    673813

Very specific, and somewhat optimistic, score for Down there Patrique!

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 11/06/2010 08:03:10    673855

Ulsterman

673807 Two baldy men fighting over a comb. Ulster is very very poor this year, the province will be lucky to have one team in the All Ireland semi's.

How did you know I was folically challenged Ulster??????

Mourneman5stars (Down) - Posts: 102 - 11/06/2010 08:47:21    673873

Down Exile quit living in 2008 on one match would ye lad!

They dont have a player who can mark o'neill

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 11/06/2010 10:19:56    673942