Impartiality of Commentators -Cork and Kerry

Aidan walsh cant be wrote off after one game and colm o neill should definetly start next week. As for kerry there defence is like what spillane calls "puke football"

corkrebel (Cork) - Posts: 105 - 07/06/2010 18:17:21    669975

Jaysus lads some of the cork wit on here is priceless. Some tremendous one liners. Hats off. Made me laugh anyway.

sneachta (None) - Posts: 414 - 07/06/2010 20:16:18    670152

O'Rourke's not as bad as Spillane and Brolly in fairness. Spillane and Brolly expect every team to play scintillating stylish football all the time! Even the best teams only do that occasionally. It's like expecting soccer teams to play like Brazil all the time. Personally, my favourite analysts are O'Cinneide, Davis and Tohill. They generally seem to give fair, accurate, intelligent assessment, not focus on negativity and personal agendas. As for the lads involved in the commentary team - hopeless! Canning and Morrissey haven't a clue and McStay and Carney are miserable to listen to.

lessbull (Kerry) - Posts: 177 - 07/06/2010 20:58:33    670201

First off walsh had a bad game, it doesnt make him a bad player. He was excellent in the league final and I have no doubt he will come back from this. For Brolly to say he wouldnt get on for kerry shows what a fool he is. Who was he marking there Joe? The sleek and skilful Michael Quirke! Im not having a go at Quirke, who is a also a good player in his own right, but he is there for his size, strength and fielding abilities, Exactly what brolly said kerry didnt do. Kerry have always picked a big man, or 'fear laidir' around the middle, so you have to wonder what kerry teams brolly has been watching.

What is most striking on here is the response from the cork lads, you would think kerry have already won the replay. For me this is a massive test of corks AI winning ability. They went into the game as favourites in many eyes but kerry showed that they are still very much a force. If they can turn around and beat kerry in the replay then the whole 'lacking mental strength' bit will take a battering and it could well be the catalyst they need to go on and win sam

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/06/2010 22:00:19    670323

lessbull

rarely do I see a post that I agree with so whole heartedly. O'Rourke the best of a bad lot - Spillane is almost permanently angry anymore and Brolly.. well the less said the better.

Other than that I'm pleased enough with the commentary - Cork were talked up too much prior to the championship- the inaccurate nonsense on Sunday does at least have the merit of redressing the balance in that regard.

To be honest I'd say that Cork fans are displeased more because of the manner in which the ref gave those 2/3 non frees the closing minutes rather than any feeling of the team having shot their bolt in Killarney. Bring on the replay I say!

rebels abu!

CorkieInKerry (Cork) - Posts: 93 - 08/06/2010 12:21:29    670612

I thought the most harsh comment was that on Maher before he even kicked a ball. Personally I thought that he had a great game and that point he kicked off his left was sublime!! However, I must say that I enjoy the panel but think that Marty Morrissey is a poor commentator, may have only been covering for Canning because he sounded sick in the Louth game and also the yesterday at the Waterford game.

throw_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 769 - 08/06/2010 12:58:07    670677

I am not too worried about the referee giving frees. Kerry were coming back into the game and we got a handy free ourselves when Marc O Se was adjudged to have picked the ball off the ground. I remember we also got a few handy ones like that against Tyrone last year. These things balance themselves out. This thread is about the ridiculous analysis by the three boys.

Spillane a couple of months ago wrote an article about faceless people coming on sites like these giving out about players. He made some valid points as I do not like the idea of insulting lads or calling them useless. However, are we any worse than a guy that earns tonnes of money and passes sly remarks with little or no lateral analysis (something they acuse Cork of).

These guys, in their defence, may claim that they analyse what they see. To me this would not be an argument. Things are analysed in context or things are not analysed at all. Proper analysis (something alien to the 3 that are on the Sunday Game live and Anthony Davis, Kevin McStay and Martin Carney) is done in wider context.

People like Anthony Tohill and Dara O Cinneide (as somebody else pointed out earlier) are BY FAR the best analysts in my opnion.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/06/2010 16:51:35    671123

aidan Walsh did a lot of things right in his midfield play, which was positive for his debut and it is harsh to give out about such a young lad. However his nerves were very evident and it gave away a lot of possesion early on and missed vital scores (which cant be ignored just because he is a young fella) I would like to see how he fairs on sunday, i imagine he will have a bit more confidence and be less hesitant on the ball

Jimbo88 (Cork) - Posts: 18 - 09/06/2010 11:18:39    671732

Yes I agree with the comments here re Marty Morrisey. He really annoyed me during this game. He reels off stats about players ad nauseum while the ball is in play he uses well worn cliches about hand passing and doesn't seem to see the bigger picture. i.e. the reason for keeping possesion when confronted by a blanket defence and waiting for an opportunity to find a man in space. Most knowledgeable supporters accept this and see it as part of the game. Although in my opinion, radio commentator BRIAN CARTY is 20 times worse to listen to. he never leaves a silent second . It's as if he was told you must keep talking ALL the time.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 09/06/2010 12:07:11    671791

s goldrick

671791 Yes I agree with the comments here re Marty Morrisey. He really annoyed me during this game. He reels off stats about players ad nauseum while the ball is in play he uses well worn cliches about hand passing and doesn't seem to see the bigger picture. i.e. the reason for keeping possesion when confronted by a blanket defence and waiting for an opportunity to find a man in space. Most knowledgeable supporters accept this and see it as part of the game. Although in my opinion, radio commentator BRIAN CARTY is 20 times worse to listen to. he never leaves a silent second . It's as if he was told you must keep talking ALL the time.

Of course he is told! Its radio, dead air is the ultimate no-no. It can't be easy though and few perfect it ie Michael o Muircheartaigh.

Morrisey is annoying, he just reads off the players birhtdays and number of championship appearances and talks about much-heralded and obvious players, "I saw him play last week/month/year and he is quite a talent" as if he has the inside line. Sheehans frees were top class on Sunday but talk about going overboard....!!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 09/06/2010 12:35:47    671850

Must say that I think all the hurling analysts are fine. They tend to point out the obvious at times, but I guess that's just part of the job.

Like a few other posters, Tohill and O'Cinneide strike me as the fairest of the football guys. It seems like they try harder to offer a more constructive critique than some of their colleagues. However I would guess that RTE probably feel that this kind of reasoned and rational analysis may not be as entertaining?

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 09/06/2010 12:55:38    671889

Thunderstruck

669391 I think O'Rourke, Brolly and to a lesser extent Spillane have become very boring and predicatable on the Sunday Game. I was actually enjoying the Armagh and Monaghan match yesterday until the half-time analysis, alright the refereeing was average but they go way over the top with their critising of the referees, these guys are trying their best. Did any of these guys ever referee a match of this standard and realise how hard it is....maybe I have a different understanding of the rules but to me Mallon elbowed Rory Woods into the face which is a straight red, end of arguement it was unquestionable in my opinion, instead O'Rourke and Brolly start berating the referees decision

Yes i agree o,rourke and brollys comments on the ref where a utter disgrace as the red card was 100% correct and he went with the elbow . Those pair are the worst pundits i have ever seen .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 09/06/2010 17:12:40    672331

roundball
County: Tipperary

Thought Walsh did good in midfield, came across as the main midfielder for a lot of the game. Scalon had a poor game by his standard and Quirke did not perform well after getting the belt to his eye (his eye was completly closed at half time but regardless, Quirke has a lot to prove and isn't the most moblile of midfielders). Maher did make some mistakes but came into his own once he settled into the game and Galvin came on. Brolly in the last few years was all Tryone, his comments on Walsh were appalling and unfair. While he can be controversal which at times is humerous, he can be so blinkered and annoying.... I am surprisred that he came across so pro Kerry-traditionally he is not. Spillane, well some of his comments can be funny and far out but like Brolly, he too, can be blinkered. O Rourke is about the fairest and has a grounded, less egotistical analysis of the game

Reckon Cork have learnt lessons from last years championship-I was impressed with their improved points from distance-Kissane being the standout guy here. Marc O Se did a good enough defence (not his best mind you) and did three good blocks which made a big difference to the game.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 10/06/2010 10:30:18    672852

bennybunny

669330 Worse were the comments after the game. Brolly said that Aidan Walsh would never be picked on the Kerry team as he was too unstylish. That is game where, in his debut as 19 year old, he was the best midfielder. They call this expert analysis?! They try to be funny...after yesterday, the joke is on them.

Spot on. Cos Seamus Scanlan and Michael Quirke are so stylish ha ha!
Brolly and Carney are so up kerry back sides its embarrassing.

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 10/06/2010 11:23:05    672914

I find listening to Joe Brolly quite painful!!

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 476 - 13/06/2010 16:25:01    675603

Is it only now you find that as i can't even look at him !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/06/2010 16:32:20    675610

I have to say out of RTE, TV3 and BBC Colm O'Rourke is about the only pundit worth listenin to but the rest are all trying to be like George Hook... controversial with sweet damn all substance

aberdeen_cmx (Monaghan) - Posts: 52 - 13/06/2010 17:23:20    675675

Yep Cavan_Slasher I couldnt quite figure out why I have been in such a bad mood for the last few Sundays, I was putting it down to the effects of alcohol but I didnt go out last night and I am nearly sure now that its Brolly that has been the cause of my bad humour!!

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 476 - 13/06/2010 17:30:42    675686

Jack O Connor reckons Galvin will get off Scott Free, surely not as the analysis show him mouth gouging

Kieran (None) - Posts: 118 - 14/06/2010 13:40:42    676668