Impartiality of Commentators -Cork and Kerry

Thomas Clarke..................... I dont know what game you were watching but Walsh was woefull.... His distribution was chronic and if you look back you will see for yourself...Leaving his mishit goal chance aside id say he wont start the replay.. Lets wait and see... And furthermore there is no need to make comparisons to any Tyrone player on this thread because luckily this thread is not about Tyrone.......Most threads have to be turned into mentioning Tyrone for some reason??....They are an average side who beat Antrim in the first round.......get over it

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 07/06/2010 12:41:37    669502

sneachta..............What i meant is the standard of commentating is crap... we dont need to listen to it, after all if we at a match we dont get commentry,,,so i perfer to watch with the sound down rather than listen to ppl telling me whos birthday it is next week

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 07/06/2010 12:55:25    669521

Good man Richie.

Last week you were moaning that there are no good footballers anymore, that the rules are awful, that nobody can kick with 2 feet. This week it is a scathing attack on just about every commentator and analyst ('this one is crap, that one is a joke, turn the sound down'), and also having a vicious go at a young lad who played well on his championship debut.

I think Greengrass is right - you just seem to hate everything, and I wonder why you even bother watching games, unless, of course, it is to moan about them. Try looking at things positively - something, anything - and you might find that there are things to enjoy out there.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 07/06/2010 12:58:28    669522

Seems to be a debate on here about Aidan Walsh.

He's a good fielder of the ball but his distribution is absolutely cat. How much ball did he give away? He looks like a good athlete but he doesn't look like a footballer. He might grow in to a footballer but for now I'd say he'd be best advised to lay the ball of once he hits ground and avoid shooting, he hit about 1-3 wide. Cork are going to have to add a little more subtlety to the pace and power.

On another note Kissane is a great addition for them. In my opinion the reason they didn't win the All Ireland last year was because their midfield and wing backs couldn't punish Kerry's cordon defence by shooting from distance like Tyone can with Jordan and Harte. Kissane hit three points from distance and can use either foot. That could prove usefull come September as defences will be forced to push up on him leaving more space for Goulding, O Connor, Kerrigan et al.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 07/06/2010 13:21:19    669552

richiej
County: UK

669502 Thomas Clarke..................... I dont know what game you were watching but Walsh was woefull.... His distribution was chronic and if you look back you will see for yourself...Leaving his mishit goal chance aside id say he wont start the replay.. Lets wait and see... And furthermore there is no need to make comparisons to any Tyrone player on this thread because luckily this thread is not about Tyrone.......Most threads have to be turned into mentioning Tyrone for some reason??....They are an average side who beat Antrim in the first round.......get over it

Another poster who would be a fine addition to a Kiddies Corner. I thought it was pretty much a luckless debut for the young Walsh lad but at the same time, he acquited himself very well in the face of much adversity. Certainly, the foundations to be a top class midfielder in time were there for all to see. He got through a trojan amount of work and was instrumental in Cork's dominance round the middle third of the pitch in the first three-quarters. Richiej's prediction that he won't start the replay dosen't hold much weight when we notice that he was actually the only midfielder to complete the seventy minutes. How can Richiej explain that one?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 07/06/2010 13:22:42    669555

Jaysus lads get over it..............have I actually read this thread correctly? Yous are complaining bout the commentators?!

The most successful team will always get talked up by commentators - look at any sport. Deal with it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 07/06/2010 13:26:56    669562

no way that last free should have been given

the gooch put his head down and ran into the cork players. you cannot touch the lad!

mau_mau (Westmeath) - Posts: 75 - 07/06/2010 13:39:06    669577

Actually what annoyed me more was Marty Morissey constantly calling Donaghy 'Star'. Fair enough, that may be his nicname to friends/family/team mates but it was really grating when every time he got the ball Marty's voice went up an octave and says 'Star with the ball now'. He is the only commentator that does it

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2480 - 07/06/2010 14:03:45    669620

have to agree with the adverse comments re the rte co-commentators and studio analysts. the BBC NI panel are much better. (of course only the ulster championship is covered there0
bryan sheehan scored 3 frees and a wonderful point from play in the first half yet michael lyster insisted he scored 4 frees and also got the half time score wrong.
brolly comes out with sweping statements and is obsessed with percentages of kickouts won and lost. one other thing that hasn't been mentioned here is the propensity for referees to give colm cooper easy frees. all he has to do is gather the ball and tumble to the ground and its a free. kerry use this tactic any time they are in trouble.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 07/06/2010 14:15:26    669635

Aw, you're so right. Was thinking the same yesterday. Morissey and McStay were druelling over Marc O'se in the first half, and in all honesty he was getting skint. He made one good block but only after his man skint him who he then blatantly fouled by pulling him back.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 07/06/2010 14:39:18    669666

Redfoot

669338 Kerry propaganda dominates all media, if you speak out youre sent to a Dingle gulag!

I know gaelscoils can be tough, but that's harsh!

(Also my understanding was that any dissent resulted in an evening in the company of Jackie Healy Ray...)

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 07/06/2010 14:39:35    669667

I find morissey is like that alot though. The Kilmacud vs Cross AI final a few years ago was the most biased bit of comentary i've ever heard, only for Marty towards the end to admit that he was actually in the Kilmacud changing room prior tro kick of and had heard the managers motivating speech.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 07/06/2010 14:41:51    669671

Very poor commentators on R.T.E. and always afraid to criticise any blatant refereeing mistakes which must be a policy. They need a clear out !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/06/2010 15:14:19    669710

Morisey is awful, he always gets angry and moans when players handpass. He made snide bitchy comments yesterday about handpassing and said something along the lines of "Football, if that's what they can call it with all this handpassing going on" in a very angry voice. Does have his favourite teams and I don't think there are too many Ulster ones there.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9837 - 07/06/2010 15:22:42    669720

What do you expect from RTE. I believe there is a phrase our northern brethern use namely " a cold house" RTE is a cold house as far as GAA is concerned. They are consistantly negative highlighting at the yellow card rather than the high fielding/goals/good defending (other than Marc O Shea). They complained when there is too much "pulling and dragging" and now that referees clamp down they still complain. I agree with the poster who said he was enjoying the Kildare/Louth match until he heard the half time analysis. Agree also with the cavan poster who said the commentary and analysis particularlt Jarleth Burns is street ahead. RTE ATTITUDE all wrong.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 07/06/2010 15:48:20    669767

Roundball

You said Paudie Kissane is a great addition for Cork and that Aidan Walsh is "cat" (or his distribution is "cat"). A couple of points on your statement.

Paudie Kissane (who is a really sound lad) is 30 years of age. He has been on the panel for years. He started against Kerry for the first time yesterday. He has had years to get used to inter-county football. Aidan Walsh on the other hand is 19. It was his debut. We all saw that he missed chances. I could see the confidence drip out of him (in terms of shooting) but what I admire, and as I tell the under 14s that I coach, if you don't kick the ball at the posts, you won't score. Failure is not failure to score, its failure to shoot. Walsh kept trying and that is highly admirable. He has a lot to learn, granted, but you will be hearing a hell of lot from Aidan Walsh. I can't recall if Dara O Se (the greatest midfielder possibly ever was as dominant in his debut against Cork at 19 years of age).

A couple of years ago when Cork footballers were playing, we had 14 players that wanted to pass the ball to Colin Corkery. It was like the sport of netball where we had a designated scorer. You would see ridiculous things like players soloing past Corkery with the ball, getting closer to the goal than he was, having no confidence to shoot, turn around and despite Corkery being marked by two or three players, pass it to him anyway.

Cork have come along way from that. Granted Daniel Goulding and Donncha O Connor might not have been outstanding yesterday, however, the cheap analysis is to call them bottlers like Spillane did or one could have looked at the facts and he would have saw that 4 of Cork's starting six forwards scored from play (Goulding, Kerrigan, Pierce O Neill and Paddy Kelly) Donncha O Connor kicked a few frees and Colm O Neill came on and also scored a great score from play. Cork dont have marquee forwards like the Gooch. We have a different system. Cork's scores are spread. If we scored 0-15 against Kerry a few years ago, Corkery would have had 0-12 of those. Now it is different. The lads, Goulding and O Connor gave their all and then went off and other guys come on. How many teams go through such high intensity championship games without using 3 or 4 subs these days? Very few. Maybe Brolly and O'Rourke might do some research and tell us. They will probably stick to their infantile name calling I imagine though rather than say something interesting.

They also said they did not rate Anthony Maher as a footballer. when did they see him to rate him? Probably never. Give the guy a break.

It seems these analysts do no research. If they do it is appallingly amateur.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/06/2010 16:18:15    669804

brilliant speech bennybunny!
you've inspired me!!!!!!!

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 07/06/2010 17:41:25    669927

Totally agree with the point about the 3 dinosaurs on RTE. They are actually beginning to wreck my head. Brolly talks some garbage and its all about how good Kerry are. I think everyone hates Cork. Calling us bottlers and that Aidan Walsh is rubbish. What a load of rubbish. You would never see any Kerry person on the hoganstand saying this about Cork cause they know that their is nothing between the 2 sides. We have a young team and aint far away from All Ireland success.

As far Aidan walsh. His distribution wasnt great but see how many balls he won in mid field. He was the best mid fielder on show. He can only get better. The boy is only 19. Drawing with the All Ireland champions in Killarney is no bad fate. I wish people would stop writing Kerry off. Their a class outfit as much as i hate to admit it.
They have so much history in football and continue to produce a greatest of talent.Only 3 teams can win Sam. You decide for yourself who they are.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 07/06/2010 17:45:35    669934

I don't think kerry exactly pick on style. Micheál Quirke is hardly the most stylish footballer.

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 07/06/2010 17:48:34    669937

Usually take the commentary and analysis with a grain of salt but yesterday was the first time it seriously bugged me. I found it innacurate, disrespectul and downright negative. It hindered my enjoyment of the match. Please somebody tell me that Marty Morrisey was a one off and Cork fans wont have to endure that opinionated, self-righteous, over-emotional oaf anymore? If so, the sound is going down and the radio is going on!! Thank God the replays in Cork! From Martys tantric multiple orgasms everytime 'gooch' and 'star' touched the ball to Brolly angrily dismissing Goulding as a 'flop' despite a stunning point from play and two well-taken frees. He wasnt great yesterday but I thought that Brollys 'analysis' was overly harsh. Also Marty whining about Corks slow lateral approach when Kerry had a 12-man blanket defence (not having a dig at Kerry who can play pure football better than Cork) and then watching as the segment of play he was whining about culminated with a score from play shortly after. Bring back Ger with his attempt at fair and positive commentating on what are, after all, AMATEUR players. And get the three wise men some prozac to cheer them up a bit or better yet mix and match with the McStays, Davis', Tohills etc. I'm sick of that angry, multiple-agended Brolly with his perpetual black storm-cloud hovering over his head. Rant over... :-)

findra (Cork) - Posts: 41 - 07/06/2010 18:04:56    669959