Impartiality of Commentators -Cork and Kerry

I watched the game yesterday and the drooling by the commentator, Martin Carney, about all things Kerry was at least irritating if not nauseating. I would have thought RTE commentators should be impartial rather than acting as cheerleaders. It was even more annoying that he was at his worst when Cork were on top.

As a Tyrone supporter I have no reason to stand up for Cork but fair is fair.

Sparrowhawk (Tyrone) - Posts: 107 - 07/06/2010 09:27:42    669266

Worse were the comments after the game. Brolly said that Aidan Walsh would never be picked on the Kerry team as he was too unstylish. That is game where, in his debut as 19 year old, he was the best midfielder. They call this expert analysis?! They try to be funny...after yesterday, the joke is on them.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/06/2010 10:49:22    669330

Kerry propaganda dominates all media, if you speak out youre sent to a Dingle gulag!

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 07/06/2010 10:56:20    669338

Best way to watch these games is to turn the sound down on tv..If you were at the game ther would be no commentry and the standard is crap... Ger Canning must know everybodys birthday cos thats all he can talk about.. Mc Stay ??........we he something else..states the obvious 4-5 times and this year has a few new words..............turnovers??Then we hav others who use words like....striker??........ reserve keeper??...Brolly slated Christy Cooney over the lack of physical contact so watch him get his marching orders soon.....McHale was on last nite.......what a joke he is... according to him all Mayo problems hav stemed from their last 3 games,.... I think he meant 3 decades............

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 07/06/2010 11:02:46    669342

Aiden Walsh was brutal yesterday....Whether it was his debut or not..And im not just talkin about the goal chance he missed....

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 07/06/2010 11:04:57    669345

i was watching the sunday game inside in a pub in kerry and even the kerry people were saying that the highlights they showed was mostly kerry being good and it made kerry look a lot better than they actually were.

i agree with bennybunny...
it was aidan walsh's first senior championship and he was the best midfielder and for people to give out about him is just stupid.

also i thought the other lads who made their debut (sheehan and jamie o sullivan) did very well.

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 07/06/2010 11:06:59    669352

ye should try listening to radio kerry, they'd give them all run for the money for their complete bias

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 07/06/2010 11:15:04    669366

I think O'Rourke, Brolly and to a lesser extent Spillane have become very boring and predicatable on the Sunday Game. I was actually enjoying the Armagh and Monaghan match yesterday until the half-time analysis, alright the refereeing was average but they go way over the top with their critising of the referees, these guys are trying their best. Did any of these guys ever referee a match of this standard and realise how hard it is....maybe I have a different understanding of the rules but to me Mallon elbowed Rory Woods into the face which is a straight red, end of arguement it was unquestionable in my opinion, instead O'Rourke and Brolly start berating the referees decision.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 476 - 07/06/2010 11:40:08    669391

richiej
County: UK

669345 Aiden Walsh was brutal yesterday....Whether it was his debut or not..And im not just talkin about the goal chance he missed...
--------------------------------------------------------------

This is total nonsense. Walsh was the best midfielder on the pitch, and it was only when he tired (and Galvin came on) that Kerry began to dominate midfield. He turned over some ball and missed a great goal chance, but he never stopped working and was on the ball probably more than anyone else. Counihan was obviously happy enough, as he was the only midfielder to play 70 minutes.

As I said on another thread, it is like Kevin Hughes for Tyrone. Gets slagged constantly (mainly by some Tyrone fans) for missing chances, yet gets no credit for the mountain of work that he does to get into those positions in the first place.

Walsh will be fine. He has a good attitude (as was shown by the way he bounced back after his tough opening 10 minutes), size, and a good engine. He is a good prospect who had played well yesterday. I wouldn't mind having him on the Tyrone panel, and for Brolly to say that he wouldn't make the Kerry team, well, he played Michael Quirke off the pitch yesterday.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 07/06/2010 11:42:21    669394

I think this whole comment about the Sunday Game panel brings up a more serious issue about the way football is getting a lot more softer and players getting booked and sent off for any sort of a physical challenge. For the past few years we've had every 50/50 tackle or collision re-played and looked at in detail on a Sunday night and we end up with players suspended because of the agenda set by the Sunday game panel, the GAA has reacted to this by telling ref's to clamp down on all physical contact and now these former players are giving out about the game getting softer-can they not see they have set these agendas.From the way the hurling has started this year we are heading the same way-at the end of the day we all like to see the hard tackles and the knocks in our sport and the great players rise above this to produce a moment of skill which can be appreciated even more if its in the heat of a tough battle.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 905 - 07/06/2010 11:54:04    669414

With regard to Radio Kerry I would have no problem with their being over the top regarding their own. I would expect that as we all see our team through rose tinted spectacles. However when a supodedly neutral commentator is so in awe then it is hard to take.

Sparrowhawk (Tyrone) - Posts: 107 - 07/06/2010 12:00:36    669424

Aidan Walsh will develop into an outstanding player, don't have any doubt at all about that. This guy has got what it takes.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 07/06/2010 12:05:53    669431

Look walsh did well in the midfield role...but the amount of wides he wasted was a cardinal sin. If my midfielder was coughing up the ball like that I'd lose the rag. Granted Scanlon did not play well yday BUT this is the kind of role walsh should be told to play. Scanlon can't really kick the ball so he hand-passes the WHOLE time.

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 07/06/2010 12:10:45    669439

Thomas ignore richiej. He can see nothing good and say nothing good about the game today.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6192 - 07/06/2010 12:12:15    669442

Talk about blanket defences - Feck me, Kerry's blanket defence was so bad they almost covered Alan Quirke's kickouts. I think they could now be reclassified as the Kings of Boring football. They sucked the life out of the game.

Mourneman5stars (Down) - Posts: 102 - 07/06/2010 12:12:42    669444

Come on lads, Walsh was absolutely woeful. However he is young and showed signs that he can be a good inter-county midfielder. I agree with the main point though, the commentary was sickening. Better scores were taken in the Monaghan - Armagh game that weren't met with the same gushing praise

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 07/06/2010 12:12:48    669445

Bernard flynn and tommy lyons were much better on the saturday game, i much rather much them with o'rourke. spillane is annoying. brolly is much more annoying to put it nicely.

patmcgee (Longford) - Posts: 520 - 07/06/2010 12:16:51    669453

yeah i agree. the standard of refereeing is poor but their critism is pointed by and large in the wrong direction..for me, the most annoying thing about the GAA is every few years a bunch of "old men" decide and draw up new rules that are way out of touch with the way the game is played...the panel should be pushing this issue and highlighting it.it always makes me laugh when the GAA spokesperson comes out to justify new rules and they never work out in reality.the game should be allowed to be physical, hard but fair...the tackle is undefined and really needs to be sorted out..that free for the gooch yesterday in the last minute was crazy.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 07/06/2010 12:25:28    669466

richiej, your point about if you were at the match it would be crap?? im a little confused on that one.

I have to agree, that the commentary is a bit ridiculous. I watched the game between louth and kildare again on the rte player. The game I was at in the terrace was non stop an frantic with long range points from louth and kildare and two top drawer goals.

However (being from louth and being biased) ger canninngs reaction to ray finnegans goal was a boring monotone, "great goal". This was possibly so far goal of the season. If I was a commentator I would have busted the mic off the cameraman or something.

Ger Canning also managed to call Peter Fitzpatrick "the great army man".............what? He works for Eastern Electrical in Dundalk and McStay managed to say we have a chance to getting to a leinster final for the first time since 57.......again 1960 when we lost to offaly. Surely they should be doing some sort of research before the match.

I did in fact turn the volume down on the tv and put rte radio on but it was about 5 seconds behind the tv which was a bit annoying. Joe Brolly is indeed a certified mad man with his comparisons between a loyalist parade and the refereeing in armagh monaghan game and saying something like "nobody wants to see that". Its just beyond belief what is spouted out betimes.

Are these guys actually paid to make intelligent comments on a game or to make random comments? I think we're all of the same view on this one

sneachta (None) - Posts: 414 - 07/06/2010 12:38:02    669489

aidan walsh is an example of much of the cork team: big, strong, powerful but not the most skilful of footballers. He had a good game yesterday apart from his shooting but he will develop into a very good player in the coming years. the manager will probably have a word with him during the week and in the replay you will see him laying those balls off for the likes of daniel goulding to shoot

lazyfootballer (Wexford) - Posts: 70 - 07/06/2010 12:38:19    669491