Babs Keating hitting out at Tipp

Richieq

I think some Tipp boys thought they were gauranteed to get to another All Ireland final this year after coming so close to winning last year and took the eye of the ball, or sliothar, a bit. One thing for sure if Babs was there he wouldn't allow that happen.

Munster Final 1990? Nearly a mirror image of Sunday Past.

Ok, the lads might have taken the eye off the ball the other, Cork were better on the day. We can go on.
But Babs was not perfect. He should be the first to acknowledge that.

premierfan (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 01/06/2010 15:11:37    664372

Think you better check that one out Slayer - we beat them but not with a last minute goal as you suggest. I remember Eoin Quigley scoring a great point and I think we were 4 up at that stage. But could be wrong!

Wouldnt listen to Babs Keating either or value his opinion.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 01/06/2010 15:24:32    664393

you could be right Pinkie, but I thought Damien Fitz smashed home a 21 yard free like he also did V's us in the 2001 quarter final?

Was there a point scored after that?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 01/06/2010 15:28:33    664405

Slayer, it appears I am indeed as I suggestd wrong! Fitzy scored a 21 yard free which was originally further out the field but was brought up for dissent. We were 2 points down at the time. He came up and buried it. Quigley then scored a point to put us 2 ahead and we won the game.
So to sum it up I got half the story right but you got the other half right!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 01/06/2010 16:04:50    664477

Culchie- Absolutely agree with you. Hag is being rather hypocritical on the princial of, on one hand Sean Og speaking out in the media, and he criticises this. On the other hand Babs speaks out and its fine1 Double standards methinks!

TheGlensman (Antrim) - Posts: 123 - 01/06/2010 16:08:13    664485

slayer that was "Redhot"

Those times are ancient history as far as I and most Cork people are concerned. What concerns us is the next step, which is Limerick.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 01/06/2010 16:17:50    664495

Cheers Redfoot.

I think the current Limerick panel will battle you for maybe 20-30 minutes of this game but will ultimately be no match for Cork. It could be anything from a 6 to 25 point defeat. I don't think Cork will want to destroy us like Tipperary did to us last year, it's not something Cork teams really do, they tend to win the game and maintain that winning lead without massacring sides. Maybe just conservation of energy or something.

Babs has had plenty to say about Limerick over the years too, so we know how it feels.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 01/06/2010 16:25:20    664504

Redfoot, Glad somebody is looking to the Limerick game. People think all Cork have to do is turn up!

I expect Cork to win. However, I think Limerick could be capable of giving it to them plenty hard for 50-60 minutes. If Cork don't treat Limerick with respect, they will be beaten - simple as.

Afterall, I assume you are now looking at a Limerick intermediate team? This would be their second string, as I assume nobody bar the 20 odd guys from last years panel are refusuing to play? A second string Limerick shouldn't be taken lightly. If Cork seniors played Cork intermediates, and didn't take it seriously, there are some handy enough hurlers playing intermediate and they could easily rattle the seniors.

This is Limericks All Ireland final. They'll feel they've a lot to prove. They'll throw the kitchen sink at Cork. If Cork perform they should weather the storm and win pulling up, however if they think they only have to tog out, then they should think again. I was perhaps the only person on this forum who tipped Cork to beat Tipp. So as I'm going well, I'll try another prediction. I expect Cork v Limerick to be much tighter than people think, and it will be tight for at least 50 minutes. Worth checking out the spread betting methinks.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 01/06/2010 16:31:47    664522

Afterall, I assume you are now looking at a Limerick intermediate team? This would be their second string, as I assume nobody bar the 20 odd guys from last years panel are refusuing to play? A second string Limerick shouldn't be taken lightly. If Cork seniors played Cork intermediates, and didn't take it seriously, there are some handy enough hurlers playing intermediate and they could easily rattle the seniors.

It's very hard to know if you can call them our intermediate team. A lot of the 2008 intermediates are not on this team, I imagine some for age reasons (Ciaran Carey & possibly Mark Keane) but others for all sorts of reasons. Some of our hurlers are from junior clubs and are great men to try, but do not have it at this level. Most Limerick folk will struggle to predict the starting XV now even.

There's also the fact of going to Cork to play this game. Our previous wins in championship down there was with 2 very experienced bunches of players (96 & 01) and I expect nerves to be a factor too. Cork won't have any nerves.I expect the Limerick nerves and youthful hunger will produce a few big hits early on but I expect a barrage of points from Cork will win the game. Due to other commitments I don't even know if I will be going to the game and I'm sad to say for the first time in years that doesn't really bother me.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 01/06/2010 16:40:58    664536

Thats the worst excuse ive heard so far.Tommy Barrett Tipp county board

"Tipp did too much training!".

endofstory69 (Cork) - Posts: 97 - 01/06/2010 16:42:53    664540

"You will not say a bad word against Babs because you love that he speaks his mind"

To be honest I find it funny at times but the difference is I don't try to argue and support the points babs makes.... I'll take it with a pinch of salt, I've met the man my uncle played with him in 71 and he brought tipp out of the dark times also put structures in place for tipp hurling future initially had a lot to do with the setting up of the supporters club i think. He's ould school and detached from the current setup so let him off If he was involved i'd have issue with what he says.

Also granted he made decisions the last time he was manager and himself and johnny leahy mightn't have had the full support of the team but even when the likes of kelly and cummins were dropped they stayed on the panel.... His methods didn't work then so granted it was time to go.... he did get terrible treatment but a minorty of players on the panel who no longer play for tipp many people would have heard the stories of one player which I tought was disgusting.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 01/06/2010 16:45:03    664546

endofstory69:

Maybe what he was trying to say is that they may have done too much physical training and conditioning as they were very slow and flatfooted at times, The sort of training in my view is to combat kilkenny but cork blitzed them with pace, and pace was why tipp did so well last year..... I don't know that's just my take on it, people are looking for answears but one of them is cork were just better on the day.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 01/06/2010 16:49:28    664556

Give it up Tipp. Babs is right! 10 points!

PROC_Hurler (Cork) - Posts: 203 - 01/06/2010 17:15:31    664604

Hag are you not just after doing a missive U-turn on this forum in the past couple of days! I taught you were somewhat opposed to media interaction yet this Tipp mans slanderous comments about your own, and his own, county appear to sit well with you? Im not trying to start an argument and I think your one of the best hurling posters on this site but this has me wondering about your views, the consistency seems to be waining!

I don't agree with him in what he says as this may be Tipps only bad year at the office this year and thus it is better to have now. It may give them the required kick up the **** and hopefully they can get it together again as this now has the makings of the best championship in years.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 01/06/2010 17:55:35    664707

listen i've nothing but respect for babs.he was a topp class hurler and footballer in his dat and he was a great manger durind the late 80s early 90s.he does annoy me with his criticism but he made some valid points granted they weren't all valid but in some areas i agreed with him

bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 01/06/2010 19:00:09    664834

Babs record speaks for itself but I find him to be very grudging in his comments on players - including his own! And very dismissive of others. He is invariably totally negative about Dublin for some reason. There is also no doubt that he has little time for a lot of the current Tipp panel and you would almost get the impression that he was pretty pleased about what happened to them last weekend!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/06/2010 08:24:49    665080

tj09:

Not at all I'd perfer that he didn't say them but he is not a player that's where I draw the difference he's a pundit.... I have been critical of players in the tipp team interaction with the media.... also a lot of what babs said i don't fully agree with but it some can be taken as constructive criticsm. Now if one of the tipp players came out in the media directly speaking about babs comments i would have an issue with it the way to silence these is on the pitch which again is the place for it.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 02/06/2010 11:40:12    665217

Babs is a bit like the hurling version of Pat Spillane: "everything was better in my day".

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 02/06/2010 11:50:15    665227

Personally I think this is a nothing story really. Indo runs a back-page spread with MCGRATH BLAST as a heading.Then you read the article and realise that in the course of a frank yet dull interview on Newstalk, McGrath responded quite calmly to criticism from Babs and the former county secretary Tommy Barrett who, apparently from the way he's portrayed in the media, is now the voice of Tipp officialdom. The most 'scathing' thing he said was his appeal for pundits and critics to 'think twice'.
Hardly newsworthy. Everyone knows that Babs is just a loaded gun ready to mouth off whenever he gets the platform to do it. Great hurler, Tipp legend, but a total WUM if ever I saw one. As for former secretary Barrett, who is this guy? I mean, who cares what this guy has to say? Lets just get on with the championship.Thats where the real headlines are to be found.

Trenchman (Waterford) - Posts: 114 - 02/06/2010 11:53:25    665233

Babs was part of that great Tipp team of the 1960s and they have won only a few AI since then. Tipp have way behind Cork and KK , so I can understand his anger. They should have done better.

oricelt (USA) - Posts: 207 - 02/06/2010 12:00:39    665243