Kerry v Cork

Conor52

I remember that picture it was as bad as I seen...Brendan Jer O' Sullivan was the player in question.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 476 - 14/06/2010 11:20:55    676407

dtsuction...if you watch Cooper live, he targeted off play every game, fellas hitting and shouting at him when the ball is up the other side of the field. He was taken down twice going though on goal!

Canty, caught cooper by the leg when he got sent off. Whether he meant to do it or not is IRRELEVANT. He made contact and denied a clear goal scoring opportunity, second yellow, simple as.

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 14/06/2010 11:29:56    676422

People can look at it anyway they want but eye-gouging is a disgusting and thuggish act, if the best players in Ireland are at it; soon enough it will filter its way down to all levels. Just imagine if you or a family member was playing a match and lost/damaged your eye due to such an incident. No person can condone this act by saying that other players were also misbehaving and that this has happened before....eye-gouging is for the lowest of the low. Dont get me wrong Paul Galvin is an outstanding player and one i admire in many ways, his bravery and skill are up there with the very best in the game but I do feel that he has got enough chances and the GAA need to issue a season ending suspension.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 476 - 14/06/2010 11:31:05    676426

I am disappointed with Paul Galvin. A few years ago I would have quite disliked the player but I watched him almost single handed drag Kerry through the qualifiers last year until they won the All-Ireland. He was without question the player of the year in 2009. His play when he came on on both Cork games was excellent and Kerry would be in the back door now without him. I find his play a joy to watch, he is Kerrys Dooher. Unfortunantely Kerry cannot do without him but he has (and not for the first time) tarnished Kerrys reputation. Young fells watching on TV should not see a school Teacher of all people leading by this sort of example.

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 14/06/2010 11:49:30    676452

I think say what you like Kerry supporters and people.......which you normally do anyway.......BUT Cork were robbed in both games...in Kerry the ref was determind to give you a draw and handed it to you with some of the softest frees i have ever seen.....Then yesterday....to see the Great Gouch Cooper diving all over the place trying to win frees and getting them because the ref was awful......say what you like Cooper dived.......Gaelic in being ruined by these stupid decisions..........Kerry got at least 4 handy frees that were never a free yesterday including the winning score.....and what about at the end....when Cork were clearly fouled 20 yards out......but Kerry are amazing and showed spirt and fighting blah blah blah......Kerry and the Ref won the game yesterday....which was like a soccer match with players diving around.

IrishRover (Fermanagh) - Posts: 488 - 14/06/2010 11:55:59    676465

I'm not sure blu. It is hard to explain why a man who has achieved so much and has so much talent loses the run of himself so often. And don't believe the propaganda machine coming out of Kerry that it's all Corks fault that they know how to rise him. He has plenty of history of violent conduct in club matches in Kerry too but you don't hear about it nationally as the KCB have a habit of brushing it under the carpet.

So you are trying to tell us that Cork don't try to rise him,give it a rest please they never stop at him and how gooch keeps the head against Cork is unhuman.
Cork do not have the same raw natural flair as Kerry and they try to compensate this with a certain level of cynical stuff. I was delighted to see the better footballers win yesterday as for Galvin it's a shame but in his defence i don't think there was full blown attempt to gouge, it was half hearted and if studied properly i think it will show it was more of a scare tactic than real dirt.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/06/2010 12:05:02    676490

nok02
County: USA

676398 Galvin should have seen the road. The most influential footballer in Ireland at the moment does not need to keep doing such things. Cadogan is no angel either let it be known. Paul should know by now that Cadogan targets him as do most teams.

Why didn't Gould see the road either for hitting Declan O Sullivan when he was on a yellow?

Now in fairness O'Sullivan dipped the head down whilst trying to go round him. Don't think there was much intent there in this case. Galvin should have walked, no doubt, but there were at least 2 if not 3 Cork men who could have made the same journey as Canty

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 14/06/2010 12:10:30    676496

Ulsterman

675959 This is set up for a Tyrone comeback. Many of the good teams will pick each other off in the qualifiers and if Tyrone win Ulster they are in the AI quarters. If the draw is then favourable for them it could be 2008 all over again because when they get the bit in Croke Park they can become a different animal. They were poor last year but they never are good the year after they win SAM. The sniff of Kerry could tempt them again.

Thanks for the backing, but I think we'll worry about Down first

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 14/06/2010 12:26:42    676526

Galvin will be done, and not just because the GAA love picking on him,but because he continues to put himself in these crazy positions.
Why ,oh why does such an exceptionally talented player have to behave in such idiotic manner? Hes not a fool & thats what makes it all the harder to understand.
He seems to revel in this bad boy persona hes created for himself, but surely he can see that its only costing him & Kerry in the long run.
Its a short enough career, too short to be spending summers suspended.
They may well throw the book at him this time
Jack O Connor must be getting tired defending him too,regardless of what he says publicly.

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 14/06/2010 12:28:27    676530

Agree John Boss.

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 14/06/2010 12:28:41    676531

You say what you like too Irish rover.... ;)

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 14/06/2010 12:34:06    676546

Totally agree that refs have to cop on the the diving of some of the kerry forwards. The last free given against Cadogan yesterday was a joke, while Gooch falls SO easily. Granted, he is a super player, but that aspect of his game certainly should be copped by referees at this stage.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 14/06/2010 12:46:56    676572

Cmon he can hardly get suspended for that u would worse things than that @ every club match across the country.People never act without being provoked and a cork player shouting abuse in your face deserved what he got, maybe if he got on with the game they might have won . What about all the special treatment cooper gets off the the cork lads. Cork seem to love tryin to wind up galvin. Maybe galvin should take a leaf out of cork people attitude and go on strike because he is gettin treated unfairly.

ballaghmen (Mayo) - Posts: 318 - 14/06/2010 13:16:36    676630

With a blindspot like yours ballaghmen is it any wonder your county team have a problem finding the goalposts. Who cares if it happens up and down the country gouging and general thuggish play should not be tolerated. Some people are forgetting that Cork players were being punished by the ref with yellow cards, yet Galvin escaped scott free. Pat McEnaney is around long enough to know that theres no smoke without fire as far as Galvins concerned. When Galvin comes on as a sub he immediately throws a dig at whoever marks him, and it doesn't have to be a Cork player either.

anihel (Cork) - Posts: 30 - 14/06/2010 13:45:08    676681

There has been a lot of talk about Cork and why they didn't win, they didn't have the bottle or the forwards or they weren't aggressive enough, the fact is Canty didn't foul and that would mean Kerry shouldn't have got that piont from the free and donaghy kicked the ball over the end line but the umpire gave a 50 which resulted in a piont, Galvin should have been sent off and Cork should have had a free in front of the posts in the last minute. If the ref had performed to his usual standard Cork would have won by a couple of pionts and we'd be making up reasons why Kerry just aren't good enough this year.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 14/06/2010 14:56:56    676805

Sam57 you dont half talk rubbish. You think the CCCC has nothin better to do than pick on poor defenceless Paul Galvin. Wise up.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 14/06/2010 15:15:16    676850

Louth Gael
County: Louth

676805 There has been a lot of talk about Cork and why they didn't win, they didn't have the bottle or the forwards or they weren't aggressive enough, the fact is Canty didn't foul and that would mean Kerry shouldn't have got that piont from the free and donaghy kicked the ball over the end line but the umpire gave a 50 which resulted in a piont, Galvin should have been sent off and Cork should have had a free in front of the posts in the last minute. If the ref had performed to his usual standard Cork would have won by a couple of pionts and we'd be making up reasons why Kerry just aren't good enough this year.

...and the Cork goal should have been disallowed for grabbing the ball out of the Keeper's hands and etc etc......

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 14/06/2010 15:23:01    676876

And Cork got a 45 in the first half when Goulding shot wide without Kealy or Tom Sullivan touching it.

And Ciaran Sheehan was clearly standing in the square when the ball came in for his final point.

And Canty should have got a straight red for deliberately going about 5 yards out of his way to attack Galvin

We could go on and on all day...

Twisted_Menace (Kerry) - Posts: 113 - 14/06/2010 16:00:46    676932

Thunderstruck

People can look at it anyway they want but eye-gouging is a disgusting and thuggish act, if the best players in Ireland are at it; soon enough it will filter its way down to all levels. Just imagine if you or a family member was playing a match and lost/damaged your eye due to such an incident. No person can condone this act by saying that other players were also misbehaving and that this has happened before....eye-gouging is for the lowest of the low. Dont get me wrong Paul Galvin is an outstanding player and one i admire in many ways, his bravery and skill are up there with the very best in the game but I do feel that he has got enough chances and the GAA need to issue a season ending suspension.

He didnt go at his eyes ffs. Just trying to stir it up even more. Next thing will be that Galvin pulled a knive outta his shorts and started threatening Cadogan. He out his fingers in his mouth and pulled at his cheeck/gums. To say that he went pulling at Cadogans eyes is complete bull$hit

Twisted_Menace (Kerry) - Posts: 113 - 14/06/2010 16:05:20    676938

nok02
County: USA

676422 dtsuction...if you watch Cooper live, he targeted off play every game, fellas hitting and shouting at him when the ball is up the other side of the field. He was taken down twice going though on goal!

Canty, caught cooper by the leg when he got sent off. Whether he meant to do it or not is IRRELEVANT. He made contact and denied a clear goal scoring opportunity, second yellow, simple as.

Canty yes deserved second yellow but galvin was a disgrace and should be banned and he keeps doing these sort of things and gets off.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 14/06/2010 16:12:19    676955