Kerry v Cork

What is the situation re gouging in GAA?

Very clear in rugby but have never heard much of it in football or hurling .... until today.

Does it all depend on how the GAA pundits see it?

Now if he was from Leitrim or Carlow we would have great pontification and talk of the need to clean up the game, make an example etc etc

And as for previous !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 13/06/2010 19:59:29    675899

Ulsterman,
What are you raving about? You and your kind was hardly reference to your geographical location, it was used as a generalization for people like you that come up with negative comments about pure class natural gaelic footballers. How anyone could accuse Gooch of rolling round the ground in an actor type roll is simply horse shit. The man is constantly pulled out of, dragged, kicked and tripped but he if anything just gets up and gets on with it. Greatest footballer of our generation without doubt. If we had a proffesional foul rule in Gaelic football like soccer, gouchs markers would be sent off on a regular basis.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 13/06/2010 20:01:14    675905

Cork are a very cynical team today proved it once again Canty should have been suspended for the All Ireland final last year ! well done to Kerry thought they showed great spirit and have class written all over them .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/06/2010 20:06:41    675925

What a result, standing in the city end at one stage, i thought the nails were being driven into coffin....but boy o boy, copper and galvin answered the rallying call. Copper was taken down cynically numerous times!

Well done, boys, Honestly thought ye didn't have it...but please oh please...keep proving me and most outside kerry wrong!!

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 13/06/2010 20:08:23    675928

really annoyed! trust them in kerry. fair play to them though, they never give up unlike cork.
i thought that when aidan walsh went off injured early it made a difference he WAS kicking balls straight into the full forward line but when he went off that stopped and the cork players were running around in circles and not getting the ball into the forwards quick enough.
i play u-16 ladies football but i reckon if we did that we'd nearly be shot!
i also think that the management team have so many good subs to bring on they dont know who to bring on and often get their choice wrong.

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 13/06/2010 20:11:36    675934

This is set up for a Tyrone comeback. Many of the good teams will pick each other off in the qualifiers and if Tyrone win Ulster they are in the AI quarters. If the draw is then favourable for them it could be 2008 all over again because when they get the bit in Croke Park they can become a different animal. They were poor last year but they never are good the year after they win SAM. The sniff of Kerry could tempt them again.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 13/06/2010 20:21:41    675959

As a big follower of the Cork team for many a year I must say the better team won...The loss of Aidan walsh didnt help,he started well but was so early when he went off you cant really judge..Corks Goal was lucky in fairness...
After 20 mins kerry brought galvin in too help win the breaks as cork were cleaning up..Galvin did very well.Gooch was the unreal...he was taken out off it so many times by the cork backs.We could not stop the man..he is one of the greatest players the game has had..Kerry were the better team and deserved to win
How the Cork mgt left jamie o suillvan on gooch for so long?he was like a child chasing a ballon...they then switched him to bj keanes side and he kicked 2 points...
We brought on derek kavanagh..off again..kevin machmanon on,gould on..these guys have been tryed so many times and havent done the business so why are they been used again...
God sake they used k o connor last year an left cadgon on the line and again today he should have been brought on when gooch was on fire...

The mgt were terrible today...lets be honest

colin (Cork) - Posts: 233 - 13/06/2010 21:25:36    676056

Gouging cannot be tolerated in Gaelic Football and if he did that on the street he'd go to prison. I may be wrong but didn't Galvin do something to Eoin Cadogan ( the same player) in the league meeting this year which left Cadogan needing surgery on his tooth. He has continued to get involved in these incidents because he is not getting bans which are long enough.

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 13/06/2010 21:50:05    676123

Fair dues to Kerry, they have the experience needed to win tight games. Cork must learn to keep cool under pressure!

Donnacha had a free with 90 seconds left, he should have played it short and handpassed it around to see out the game, instead he ballooned into the air and kerry came down the field and equalised, the ref blew up on the next kickout.
Will he learn?

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 14/06/2010 09:33:53    676221

As a Kerry supporter I for one am tired of Paul Galvins antics and hope the GAA throw the book at him this time. What he did yesterday was unacceptable. In my opinion what he did yesterday was far worse than the famous book slap incident with Paddy Russell a few years ago. He could have caused Eoin Cadogan serious injury yesterday as replays clearly show that he went for Cadogans eye as well as mouth. And the fact that he was accused of the same offence on the same player only a few months ago that led to the Cork player having reconstructive surgery would suggest that there was premeditation involved.
And before I get attacked left right and centre from my fellow Kerry folk, yes I am from Kerry. And please people take off the green and gold tinted glasses for 2 seconds and put up the hands and admit that eye/face gouging has no place in gaelic games. And please don't start the "poor Paul" campaign. He brings it all on himself. In all my days watching football I have never seen tv footage of a player trying to gouge another player in the eye before yesterday, just as I had never seen previous tv footage of a player swiping the notebook out of a referees hand before either. What's the common denominator? Paul Galvin! He continually drags the good name of Kerry football down which is a shame cause he is an exceptionally talented footballer. But I'm afraid the GAA should be left with no choice but to give him a lengthy ban as this kind of conduct has no place in our beautiful games.

tim_bucked_two (Kerry) - Posts: 25 - 14/06/2010 09:48:34    676252

Well done Kerry on a great win - Cork will be back later on in the championship.

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 14/06/2010 09:52:57    676263

only saw the gouging incident now and i think its horrible!
paul galvin is one of the best players in the country but he lets the red mist descend too often. he was ommitted from a man of the match nomination for doing this.
he did the exact same to cadogan in the league match and cadogan needed work done to his teeth!

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 14/06/2010 10:08:13    676293

tim I originally decided not to get heavily involved in the latest "Galvin controversary" as I felt I would only be branded as a sore loser. However having read your post which 100% reflects my own views I have decided to make a post on it. I have been following the GAA for almost 55 years and I have seen some real hardmen play, most of the names that spring to mind are Meathmen, Collier, Lyons and McEntee to name a few. These lads were tough but they were men, eye gouging and fish-hooking was never part of their armoury. If this creeps into our games then I for one am out.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 14/06/2010 10:14:21    676305

The real truth!

Paul Galvin was one part of two wrongs involving an incident with Eoin Cadogan yesterday but once again he alone has been singled out. There were many incidents far worse than what Paul Galvin did in both Cork V Kerry games this year involving other players. How many times was Colm Cooper assaulted by Cork players in these games? Yet nobody in the media, especially RTE, is looking at a video trial of those nasty incidents? What about the violent attacks by many Cork players on Paul Galvin as soon as he entered the field both in Killarney and in Cork? Not a word - no video trial?

Derek Kavanagh can clearly be seen holding Colm Cooper by the throat with violent intent on the RTE camera in the replay! Why no comment in the cowardly and biased media about this?

Of all the incidents, I personally thought the cowardly surrounding of Colm Cooper by a number of Cork players providing cover for Derek Kavanagh's thugish attack on Cooper was disgusting.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 14/06/2010 10:15:58    676310

tim_bucked_two

What is it with Galvin? He is a great player, would improve any team in the country with his enthusiasim, drive & skill, but has he got a screw loose? Some of the things he gets involved in like the gouging yesterday are just mental! Why does he need to do this & not just concentrate on playing the game, winning games & awards like 'Player of the year' & All Stars?

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 14/06/2010 10:34:09    676335

The real truth!

Paul Galvin was one part of two wrongs involving an incident with Eoin Cadogan yesterday but once again he alone has been singled out. There were many incidents far worse than what Paul Galvin did in both Cork V Kerry games this year involving other players. How many times was Colm Cooper assaulted by Cork players in these games? Yet nobody in the media, especially RTE, is looking at a video trial of those nasty incidents? What about the violent attacks by many Cork players on Paul Galvin as soon as he entered the field both in Killarney and in Cork? Not a word - no video trial?

Derek Kavanagh can clearly be seen holding Colm Cooper by the throat with violent intent on the RTE camera in the replay! Why no comment in the cowardly and biased media about this?

Of all the incidents, I personally thought the cowardly surrounding of Colm Cooper by a number of Cork players providing cover for Derek Kavanagh's thugish attack on Cooper was disgusting.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 14/06/2010 10:39:57    676349

to be fair. this isn't the first time there has been a gouging incident in Cork Vs Kerry games. I seem to remember Seamus Moynihan being on the recieving end of a similar incident some years back. Wasn't caught on tv but was caught rotten by a newspaper photographer. Can't remember who the culprit was. Anyway, not defending Paul, he deserves a lengthy ban. I'm dissapointed as kerry fan.

Conor52 (Kerry) - Posts: 11 - 14/06/2010 10:56:36    676372

You may be right with the above comment but i have no time for Colm Cooper anymore. for such a talented player why does he resort to drawing fouls. like 3 times yesterday he checked inside and then the first touch of contact and he does down. It really annoyed me to see. I agree that galvin does get singled out a bit but he is the only kerry player. Going on the reasons behind Dermot Molloys cccc suspension last week every player who is seen goin at someone wit intent should be banned. That involves a few of both cork and kerry players and others throughout the country

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 14/06/2010 10:56:55    676373

I'm not sure blu. It is hard to explain why a man who has achieved so much and has so much talent loses the run of himself so often. And don't believe the propaganda machine coming out of Kerry that it's all Corks fault that they know how to rise him. He has plenty of history of violent conduct in club matches in Kerry too but you don't hear about it nationally as the KCB have a habit of brushing it under the carpet.

tim_bucked_two (Kerry) - Posts: 25 - 14/06/2010 11:12:56    676394

Galvin should have seen the road. The most influential footballer in Ireland at the moment does not need to keep doing such things. Cadogan is no angel either let it be known. Paul should know by now that Cadogan targets him as do most teams.

Why didn't Gould see the road either for hitting Declan O Sullivan when he was on a yellow?

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 14/06/2010 11:13:37    676398