Kerry v Cork

Ah what a team, what a game, i hope Kerry win this now, better football team imo. Cork are good but a bit cynical in their defence, cooper had them skinned a couple of times there only to be brought down, i hope he bursts the net in the second half.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 13/06/2010 15:35:21    675560

Cooper was fouled twice in the last 10 mins but his reactions were embarrassing. He must have rolled over half a dozen times in a best supporting actor role even though he was only tapped on each occasion. He is becoming better known for this than his play and ability. Cooper was like one of those cowboys falling off the top of the saloon after being shot.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 13/06/2010 15:35:43    675564

There you go again, cooper pulled. Are you for real Ulsterman, you and your kind should not be let near gaa.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 13/06/2010 15:44:48    675567

Sick of the sight of these two teams I hope neither of them get near sam this year!

francie81 (Louth) - Posts: 250 - 13/06/2010 15:52:23    675574

i agree cork are very cynical in defence. ive been very impressed with the sheer acuracy of paces by kerry,they really do make it look so easy! cork seem very laboured sometimes. marc o se's point was unreal,kerry should kick on in extra time now

catch_it_wil_ya (Galway) - Posts: 541 - 13/06/2010 15:58:11    675577

Sick of the sight of these two teams I hope neither of them get near sam this year!

I'd watch them every week.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 13/06/2010 16:09:34    675589

Cooper was fouled twice in the last 10 mins but his reactions were embarrassing. He must have rolled over half a dozen times in a best supporting actor role even though he was only tapped on each occasion. He is becoming better known for this than his play and ability. Cooper was like one of those cowboys falling off the top of the saloon after being shot.

Dont talk rubbish.
Have a bit of respect for a truely class act who takes dogs abuse every time he takes the field.
Cooper is fantastic player. An example to any young fella anywhere of to behave and perform.
He doesnt whinge or 'roll around'.
He never hogs the limelight, just plays super stuff year in year out for Kerry, going about his business in an unassuming manner.

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 13/06/2010 16:13:25    675594

A hard one to take, again a bit of bad luck prevented Cork winning. However it does show Counihan a few vital points for the future, not a disaster to loose at this stage. Well done Kerry, I think they will be in another AI final this year. Pat McEnaney was a huge help to Kerry today but on balance I think Kerry's composure meant that they just about deserved their win but again its controversial.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 13/06/2010 16:25:09    675604

Woke up this morning feeling very sick, I can assure ye I feel a lot sicker now. There is no doubt that Kerry are still a quality team and will no doubt now be justifiable favourites for the All-Ireland. I know a lot of posters will trot out the usual line that Cork bottled it but I don't think its as simple as that. The fact is that very few if any team in Ireland would draw twice with Kerry and end up losing by a point after extra time. Kerry are again the team to beat this year and unless Tyrone ressurect themselves its hard to see who can do it. As for Cork well the door to the All Ireland is still open if they are good enough. At least we are spared the heartache of beating Kerry in Munster only for them to turn the tables on us in Croke Park. Who knows maybe we can do it to them this year, a tall order I know but hope springs eternal.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 13/06/2010 16:36:03    675613

The desire for battle, the ability to dig deep and the will to win after so much previous success is what impresses me most about this current Kerry team. I really expected Cork to improve from last week and beat us this week but fair play to the lads, they battled back in the second half and Cork seemed a bit demoralised in extra time. I really think Kerry will have to have an off-day for anyone to beat them before the end of the championship. An Riocht Abu!

lessbull (Kerry) - Posts: 177 - 13/06/2010 17:28:10    675683

Unbelievable team Kerry, the greatest i have ever seen, they are now 7/4 to land sam again and who would lay them?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 13/06/2010 19:02:04    675792

Great win by Kerry today. Gooch was a class apart. Galvin was outstanding too but I'm afraid we might have to plan without him for the summer now. Just watching replays of the gouging incident in slow moition now and he very clearly tries to gouge the eye first before gouging the Cork players mouth. Surely Croke Park will throw the book at him. This sort of behaviour is not tolerated in rugby never mind gaelic football. You can get up to 52 weeks of a ban in rugby for gouging. And he only has himself to blame. Will surely take the gloss off a great win.

tim_bucked_two (Kerry) - Posts: 25 - 13/06/2010 19:19:30    675822

Defeat is never sweet but Cork will live to fight another day: This Cork team are far off and should be there in the semi finals at least, and Cork and Kerry will probably have another go around before it's all over. look at it this way ..losing today could be the best thing to happen to this Cork team, as they will have a few extra games to set things right.

oricelt (USA) - Posts: 207 - 13/06/2010 19:20:29    675823

Very Honest and honourable admission by Tim bucked two. Galvin is very important to Kerry but is no addition to gaelic football I hope they throw the book at him!!!

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 13/06/2010 19:27:09    675834

It was about time canty got send off in 2nd half, should have seen red for of the ball incident in first half with galvin, strike on face, if that was galvin he would have been given a red card and everyone would be calling him,(what happened in national league against cork with galvin sending off, which wasnt as bad as canty today) this incident proves that a players reputation can count against you

lookback (Kerry) - Posts: 185 - 13/06/2010 19:44:33    675868

51longago

"You and your kind". It has a ring of "coming over here and taking all our jobs" about it. Mask slip there a bit did it? Maybe Cowen should just build a big wall around the border to keep "me and my kind" out. That would make you happy wouldn't it? No more big bad Nordies to ruin the beautiful game and Kerry can win it ever year. For the record Cooper is an excellent footballer and is great to watch and I stated that they WERE two fouls but Cooper's over reaction and rolling about the ground was ridiculous and he is getting a reputation. The subject has been brought up before mainly by Cork people and others. It's your fawning we are not worthy attitude that ensures Kerry keep slapping teams like Mayo about like rag dolls. Don't think Kerry were the greatest in 2002, 2003, 2005 and 2008. Ulster sides actually give them a game, including Antrim last year, and from what I have seen already this year it looks like an ageing Tyrone team will be the only one that can stop them.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 13/06/2010 19:47:07    675874

I don't think he'll ever learn. It's a only a few months since he was accused of gouging the same Cork players mouth which led to Cadigan having reconstuctive surgery on his teeth. This was never proven as video evidence was inconclusive. But surely after today it adds weight to the argument that he was guilty of gouging on that occasion too. Why does such a talented player lower himself to such gutter tactics? Football can do without that sort of behaviour and like I said he only has himself to blame if he gets a lengthy ban which he probably will.

tim_bucked_two (Kerry) - Posts: 25 - 13/06/2010 19:50:41    675881

Ulsterman

He is becoming better known for this than his play and ability. Cooper was like one of those cowboys falling off the top of the saloon after being shot.

Like Brian McGuigan in 2003?

And people rave about him.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 13/06/2010 19:52:43    675885

Kerry still have the two best forwards in Ireland, and the rest are not far away either.

If Cork survive the back door, you wouldn't look too far past these teams for this years winner.

But we knew that before the game. The only question now is do Cork still have the belief to see them through the qualifiers?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 13/06/2010 19:55:23    675890

lookback Galvin has been called a lot of things on here but to the best of my knowledge he has never been called----. Anyhow I reckon he is in trouble again, no doubt in the world he has great ability and a great engine but he keeps leaving himself and Kerry down when it comes to behaving himself.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 13/06/2010 19:58:05    675896