Kerry v Cork

Cork I feel played well below their best and yet should have won that game. Kerry with Galvin starting will be a different team but if Cork can put in any bit of a performance next weekend then I feel they should win.

Did anyone else think that Colm Cooper dived for that free he was awarded (not the final free, this happened around the 50th minute ish). I can't seem to find a replay of it but from what I can remember of it I taught it was blatant enough, maybe he tripped himself up but at the time I taught it was more of a dive!!

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 07/06/2010 17:31:26    669912

sam2008

You really dont have a clue about munster rivalry and how neither team gives a inch. How the hell did we bottle it? The ref gifted Kerry the draw. Even my Kerry friends admitted it. All he was short of doing was kicking the winning point. It was Corks 1st championship outing and had a few chapionship new comers. I think we did really well. What people are forgetting is that Cork had 10 of last years all ireland team playing while Kerry had 11.

Look how close Tyrone and Armagh have been down through the years. Kerry are even stronger then last year and are 100% focused on trying to get through the front door. I think Tyrone people think they know everything about football cause they won 3 all irelands. Where a hurling county and we have even more football titles then you boys.

Your also forgetting Tyrones collapse against a mediocre Antrim team. They just about hung on and judging by Monaghan yesterday you boys wont be winning ulster this year. I actually dont even know why you think Ulster is the strongest province.Sure its Cork and Kerry who contested last years final and 2 yaers before that aswell. Outside of Tyrone in Ulster its a pretty poor standard of football.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 07/06/2010 17:32:45    669917

I agree with your sentiment Rebletrev and hate to see posters using the term ,'bottlers'. I dont for one second think Cork shrank from pressing their advantage home yesterday. I do however feel that ( similar to Colm O'Rourke ) they lack the craft that the Kerry players have. Whilst Kerrigan fired over some gutsy scores , he still didnt do enough for me and allowed Marc O'Se to bottle him up too easily. If that was Gooch , he'd be drawin the foul every time , just a bit cannier. I think Cork can win Sam , but dont believe they possess the marquee players to be viewed as a class side , like Tyrone and Kerry. Still , would love to see them do it.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 07/06/2010 17:58:41    669945

rebelsrock

2: the ref was doing a grand job for the first half but after about 10 mins in 2nd half he did lean towards kerry IMO. he gave a free to gooch for falling over himself when in fact in should have been a free to cork as gooch touch the ball on the ground.

As a cork man im not surprised you feel that way, the ref gave cork their first two scores when they were struggling to break through the kerry 45. The first was an even softer free than the one given on the gooch, the second came from a cork man hand passing the ball to himself

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 07/06/2010 18:02:56    669952

yes it was a v.soft free

People seem to forget or are ignoring a few minutes before that, kerrigan was very cynical in pulling back one the kerry backs jerseys blatantly to stop them from going forward, he KNEW what he was doing. I saw him around cooper when he got the free, and my thought was good enough for you after what you did.

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 07/06/2010 18:04:38    669957

in fairness to brolly, i think he made a crucial point after the game. Cork feel that they need to be absolutely dominating the middle third for a whole 70 mins just to beat kerry. If they put a few more forwards to goal and were just positive instead of all this lateral passing stuff, they'd be unstoppable because they have forwards who can definitely score!!

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 07/06/2010 18:31:18    670004

rebeltrev

You really dont have a clue about munster rivalry and how neither team gives a inch. How the hell did we bottle it? The ref gifted Kerry the draw. Even my Kerry friends admitted it. All he was short of doing was kicking the winning point. It was Corks 1st championship outing and had a few chapionship new comers. I think we did really well. What people are forgetting is that Cork had 10 of last years all ireland team playing while Kerry had 11.

Look how close Tyrone and Armagh have been down through the years. Kerry are even stronger then last year and are 100% focused on trying to get through the front door. I think Tyrone people think they know everything about football cause they won 3 all irelands. Where a hurling county and we have even more football titles then you boys.

Your also forgetting Tyrones collapse against a mediocre Antrim team. They just about hung on and judging by Monaghan yesterday you boys wont be winning ulster this year. I actually dont even know why you think Ulster is the strongest province. Sure its Cork and Kerry who contested last years final and 2 yaers before that aswell. Outside of Tyrone in Ulster its a pretty poor standard of football.

First of all rebeltrev could you save your bile and stop ranting about Tyrone and Ulster this thread is about Cork/Kerry. Were Cork not favourites for this game? From reading earlier posts in this thread the majority of people gave the game to Cork. Every GAA punndit on TV and in the Press I heard or read gave the game to Cork. What are you going on about the ref, he was just as bad over the course of the game to both sides - a team of Corks ability should not have to blame the ref! A Kerry team without O'Shea, Walsh and Tadhg Kennelly, (the three men who had most influence in your AIF defeat last year) were there for the taking.

Cork should have laid down a marker yesterday for the rest of the summer and they failed to do so. If yea had of been playing Monaghan yesterday yez would have got stuffed.

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 799 - 07/06/2010 19:45:48    670107

Thought it was a good hard game of football. Some brilliant stuff, some poor stuff but worth the admission fee I would say. Thought Marc O'Se and Kerrigans battle was brilliant. Up and coming youngster with pace and skill to burn against the old timer who knows all the tricks and skills of the game. Couple of good scores from Kerrigan and two fantastic blocks by O'Se. Two good teams who will have plenty to say about the destination of Sam at the end of the year. Cork I though shaded it but Kerry showed true spirit and guts to come back into it. Yes there was a couple of handy frees at the end, but I thought Cork got a couple earlier in the game. It normally evens itself out. Thought the ref did ok, but maybe got a wee bit picky in the second half.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 07/06/2010 19:58:11    670125

sam2008

First of all rebeltrev could you save your bile and stop ranting about Tyrone and Ulster this thread is about Cork/Kerry. Were Cork not favourites for this game? From reading earlier posts in this thread the majority of people gave the game to Cork. Every GAA punndit on TV and in the Press I heard or read gave the game to Cork. What are you going on about the ref, he was just as bad over the course of the game to both sides - a team of Corks ability should not have to blame the ref! A Kerry team without O'Shea, Walsh and Tadhg Kennelly, (the three men who had most influence in your AIF defeat last year) were there for the taking.

Cork should have laid down a marker yesterday for the rest of the summer and they failed to do so. If yea had of been playing Monaghan yesterday yez would have got stuffed.

If we where playing Monaghan yesterday we would got stuffed???? What a stupid statement. 1st of all they where playing Armagh who are no where near the standard of Cork and Kerry. Also they had 14 men for part of the game which helped Monaghan stretch their lead. Monaghan are a good side but how the hell can u make a statement like that. 2 different games and Kerry are All Ireland champions. Think this is what your forgetting.

We where favourites yesterday but on what evidence where we made favourites? Cause we won a league title against Mayo. We didnt exactly have to play 2 well that day to win. Kerry are a total different kittle of fish. Where the biggest rivals in Gaelic football. Its like when Dublin play Meath. No matter how bad 1 of the teams is their always close games. Same as Cork and kerry.

We didnt win yesterday but are we out? No i dont think so. Start making a valid point will ya besides trying to knock Cork. Your obviously not over last year when we beat you boys with 14 men.
I dont see anyone calling Kerry bottlers when they lose to Tyrone? A team they have failed to beat in 2 ALL IRELAND finals. Tyrone aint beaten us in championship football. Twice we have met and twice we have won.
I will say what i like about Tyrone and Ulster cause as far i can see from your trends you have no problem criticising our lads. All your 453 posts. Bit of a mourner with nothing else to do i reckon.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 07/06/2010 21:02:58    670209

Great Game - we were lucky. Cork will be very hard to beat next Sunday. I should have gone with my instincts and put money on the draw!

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 08/06/2010 09:49:44    670386

Booo Kerry!

That soft free at the end cost me my Louth/Limerick/Cork treble!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 08/06/2010 10:16:48    670419

Love him or hate him, I thought this article by Hayes in Sundays Tribune wasn't too far off from what actually happened on Sunday

http://www.tribune.ie/sport/gaelic-football/article/2010/jun/06/football-analyst-liam-hayes-sorry-cork-but-your-dr/

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 08/06/2010 11:14:04    670501

Colm Cooper's 2 soft 'frees' (or dives depending on your viewpoint) were the difference in the end. I don't think Pat McEnaney would have given those. Looking forward to the replay. Aidan Walsh got a baptism of fire. He's only 19 and future looks good for him. Does anyone else think Donaghy constantly whinges to the ref?

choctaw (Cork) - Posts: 274 - 08/06/2010 14:12:43    670836

Not that it makes a huge difference but with regards the exchanges between sam and rebeltrev, Kerry were in fact slight Favourites with Bookies, 11/10 on. I do accept that Cork got a couple of soft frees early on but for the last 10 minutes or so the Ref gave absolutely everything to Kerry. Anyhow its all water under the bridge now and all that matters is next Sunday. The reality is that Cork will have to learn how to deal with Kerry there is no point in slipping them by a point or two down in Munster and then get hammered later on in Croke Park. Accordingly next Sunday affords us another opportunity to face them down and prove we are a better side then them. If we are not up to it then so be it, I believe we are but the lads have to prove it on the field, roll on next Sunday.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 08/06/2010 15:56:10    671008

One thing I learned from this game is that Graham Canty and Colm Cooper appear to get the benefit of the doubt at all times.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 08/06/2010 16:34:46    671088

Cork lack a sean cavanagh, colm cooper or stephen o'neill, a real score getter... they have some 7.5 or 8/10 inside forwards but no 9 or 10s... Col o'neill has potential but not sure, sheehan was totally anonymous, which is bad considering big things are expected of him, but yet its only one game into the championship...

What about James Masters not so long ago he was up there with the best of them...

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 08/06/2010 17:25:36    671192

Sheehan was making his debut in fairness, and being played out of position. C O Neill has to start on Sunday, we'll see come the end of the year what marks out of 10 our forwards deserve. Sean Cav and Stevie O Neill would struggle against the Kerry blanket defence too in fairness.

As for Liam Hayes, he's a wind up, always at it, what makes me laugh is he seems to rate Meath up there with Kerry when it comes to All Ireland winning nous. There hasn't been many warriors in Meath football this last decade either Liamo.

dowchabiy (UK) - Posts: 204 - 08/06/2010 17:44:27    671217

Recent history shows we lose in the Pairc.

I'm finding it hard call it, thought we honestly be beaten last Sunday as I thought and still do think cork are better than us. I came out happy, we played crap and still managed a draw. When we went looking for scores in the last ten mins, cork looked scared and we looked confident that we would get them.

I think we'll be beaten. And for the first time not reach a quarter final unless we recieve favourable home draws. One of the GAA's greatest ever teams could just be ending.

Still...maybe like last year...theres a still life in the old dog. I thinks its imperative for us to win and take the easier route to Croker. Like last year though, this team seem to change my views from week to week

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 12/06/2010 11:44:14    674842

the loser of this game might the winner come September after using the back door to peak at just the right time.

Bigapple (Kerry) - Posts: 495 - 12/06/2010 12:13:17    674872

Whats with the Big Clown tent behind the ground? is it were the 30 clowns on the field go to after the game?

LesBleus (UK) - Posts: 102 - 13/06/2010 14:54:19    675544