Disrespect by Tipp and Cork supporters.

You could hear it loud & clear on the TV, personally i think its a disgrace that people wont even stay quiet for a minutes silence. I was in Portlaoise for Meath & Offally & there was a minutes silence for one of our minors who was killed on the saturday night & you coould hear a pin drop!! As for the drunk fans..the Garda should be stopping these muppets going into the grounds. a small group of drunken teenage girls from Kerry ruined last years football semi final for myself & the wife!!

brianfantana (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 31/05/2010 21:59:01    663784

Ok, mixed response here. I was just saying that it was the worst observed minute of silence i had ever heard at a GAA match. Yes i agree it was only a few people, but it seemed that these people were constantly at it for the majority of the minute. Whoever was sitting/standing beside these people shoulda hit them a belt, drunk or not if the people around them turned on them with just a dirty look they'd shut up fairly quick. The Munster hurling comment was NOT meant for the minute silence, it is always well respected. That was directed towards the anthem and i stand by this. I think the fans cut the anthem shorter than at any other game, sure the players even walk off before its over. The anthem is just a pet peeve of mine, rewatch the start of the Donegal v Down game, not a peep outa anyone till the end of the anthem.

mozsyh (Kildare) - Posts: 172 - 01/06/2010 08:33:11    663799

It was a disgrace alright but look at the positives, the match was brilliant and by far the best sporting spectacle in Ireland this year. It's great to see the Munster Hurling Championship in full swing and to me it is the epitomy of the GAA.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 01/06/2010 09:29:00    663823

It was all drunken young Tipp lads from what I could hear and see with a few Cork lads telling them to shut up.

PROC_Hurler (Cork) - Posts: 203 - 01/06/2010 17:16:27    664606

I hate when us Dubs go down to the Munster championship and dress up in jerseys and do this!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 14/06/2010 16:45:30    677032

Difference is snuf none of us condone it.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/06/2010 16:53:39    677054

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

677054 Difference is snuf none of us condone it.

Rubbish.

No one condones screaming and shouting during a minutes silence Hag... its got nothing to do with booing a teams performance. What tripe are you coming up with here...?? Completely different set of circumstances.

Mr Morals and his ham sandwiches....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2010 18:23:43    677221

Not so vocal here HAG...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2010 20:36:53    677425

PROC_Hurler

It was all drunken young Tipp lads from what I could hear and see with a few Cork lads telling them to shut up.

that would explain the massive "gwan ye rebels" roar alright!!

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 14/06/2010 21:01:24    677473

PROC_Hurler

664606 It was all drunken young Tipp lads from what I could hear and see with a few Cork lads telling them to shut up.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
They call that Rebel Goggles.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 14/06/2010 21:19:46    677517

True Jimbo but maybe it's because I'm not comming out in support of these few tipperary yobs.....

Maybe i should argue the way you do???

I wouldn't shout out in a minutes silence but can see why others do.... and no that not what i believe i think it's disgraceful, You didn't notice the few shout out during the munites silence in the dublin wexford game then no?

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/06/2010 21:34:11    677536

i think i heard 4 or 5 wex and dublin fans sneeze and cough....darn them all to hell.

Dubsfan08 (Dublin) - Posts: 619 - 14/06/2010 21:50:24    677568

I experienced the minutes silence for Adrian Freeman (who was killed in a road accident in Australia) both in Nolan Park before the Galway v Wexford game and at the Sligo v Mayo game. It is very impressive tribute when observed by all as was the case in both venues.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 15/06/2010 11:43:51    677817