Its all Ulster's fault

Why should this new stupid handpass rule come in for everybody else? Just because Ulster lads dont want to kick the ball? Worst brand of football in the country

wildrover (Carlow) - Posts: 242 - 29/05/2010 17:17:32    661660

WUM to the highest degree, that may of been acceptable a few years back but its played out, Get up and move on with the time, Wise up

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 29/05/2010 17:44:06    661682

move on with the times you say, does that mean sitting down on a sunday to watch absolute crap for 70 mins when rte shows an ulster match?

wildrover (Carlow) - Posts: 242 - 29/05/2010 18:04:37    661702

go on ya boy ya

proteuspal (Laois) - Posts: 423 - 29/05/2010 18:07:13    661705

terrible carry on isn it laois man?? these ulster boys eh?

wildrover (Carlow) - Posts: 242 - 29/05/2010 18:20:37    661711

Zzzz

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 29/05/2010 18:25:50    661716

wildrover.
did ye not get your pocket money 2 day .... ahh its allright wee man.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 29/05/2010 18:36:04    661726

I agree at least in the two leinster championship matches last week all 4 teams tried to play football, a lot of not very good football, but at least they tried to play football.The same with kerry and tipp. What these ulster team seem to be forgetting is that it wasnt the ''blanket defence'' that won tyrone and armagh their all- irelands during the last decade but the fact that they had some of the finest players in the game, canavan, cavanagh, mcgeeney, stevie mcdonnell etc.

the next thing ya no they'll be trying to play the offside trap just cos barcelona do...

patmcgee (Longford) - Posts: 520 - 29/05/2010 18:37:38    661729

To be fair its not just Uster teams who use it now, its almost everybody. The funny thing is that no team has won anything of merit using it apart from Trone and Amagh. In Tyrones case especially they evolved over the years to help them win their second and third all irelands, they basically use a blanket defence and blanket attack and they also kick the ball more than most teams in the game. But as a previous post sayed - you need the quality players aswell as a system to beat big teams and tyrone and armagh had these players.

So please any team who is thinking about playing this way, dont! You might as well go out and give it a lash because getting beat by twenty points or one point dosnt matter, you were still beaten either way.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 929 - 29/05/2010 18:52:02    661739

The myth that Ulster football is dominated by an excessive use of hand passing is very amusing. The great Tyrone team of 2003-2008 gave the finest display of quick and accurate mid-range foot-passing in their counter-attacking demolition of Dublin in the quarter-final of 2008 that has been seen in many years. Nor do the exciting teams currently in Armagh and Down suffer from this vice so what is the so called Wild Rover dribbling on about? I think he is perhaps confused with Mayo. This empty and unthinking anti-Ulster bias is really quite something to behold, and I am not even an Ulster man.

On a totally separate point how does the Wild Rover get away with using the word "crap" on this website. I have no problem with the word but an entry of mine was recently censored by whoever runs this site when I attempted to describe Meath goal-keeper Paddy O'Rouke has having a "gangling" frame and in describing his effort at a save from Brian Connor last Sunday as "embarrassing". "Embarrassing" was changed to "poor" and the deeply offensive "gangling" dropped entirely. But "crap" is apparently okay. Perhaps the censor can come online to explain him/her-self?

Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 29/05/2010 18:59:08    661743

This oul handpassing, down with that sort of thing.

proteuspal (Laois) - Posts: 423 - 29/05/2010 19:28:54    661759

careful now

wildrover (Carlow) - Posts: 242 - 29/05/2010 19:51:57    661765

And there was i thinking we hadn't had an anti-Ulster thread for the calendar month of May!

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 29/05/2010 20:07:28    661769

so wild rover is ulster to blame for kerry using 105 hand passes in their game against tipperary??,,,what about the "great" kerry and dublin teams of the seventies and eighties..handpassed the ball to death..suppose that is ulsters fault..contrast this with the armagh and tyrone game of recent years...armaghs game based on the long diagonal ball to clarke and mcdonnell...and the tyrone game based on the 30-40 yard kick pass at pace on the counter attack...i would suggest you bring yourself more up to speed in your knowledge of the current game

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 30/05/2010 11:53:28    661958

Don't take the bait!

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 30/05/2010 12:02:04    661967

mayotyroneman

the tyrone game based on the 30-40 yard kick pass at pace on the counter attack

Ha ha, when exactly do they do this? When no-one is looking?

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 30/05/2010 12:08:00    661978

whiterbananas....so tell me are mayo great exponents of the kick pass...i don't think so...game based around moving the ball from hand with runners...just like many ulster teams...are ulster to blame for mayo's current tactical plan?

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 30/05/2010 12:14:44    661980

i never mentioned mayo, mayotyroneman. But i do take issue with you re description of the tyrone game plan! 30 and 40 yard kick passes?! Ye havent seen one of them in tyrone for about 10 years!

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 30/05/2010 12:44:49    662020

whiter bananas obviously you were absent during last weeks display against antrim...?..the 2008 quarter final against dublin..greatest display of kick passing in recent times..last years quarter-final against kildare...all-ireland final against kerry in 2008, last years ulster semi-final against derry...need i go on?..tyrone are renowned for their kick passing and running game unlike some other counties...the original post refers to the perception that ulster teams are responsible for the proliferation of the handpass..my response to you indicates that it is not just ulster teams who use the handpass, and indeed not all ulster teams..can you address that issue?

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 30/05/2010 12:54:15    662032

i saw all those games you mention mayotyroneman. They all followed a similar pattern. Defending in packs. Turn the ball over and then handpass it to death until you get a shooting opportunity. If tyrone kick-passed the ball more than 5 times in any of those games i would be stunned

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 30/05/2010 13:29:40    662069