Our Nations Capital

Snuffy,

Just like Our Lord on the cross, who would you release from prison to make room for the rest ?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 31/05/2010 21:12:13    663711

31/05/2010 20:42:17

tomaoo7County: Dublin

Omar i find your post hard to believe...Its funny how jimbodub can walk around the city and see fo_k all..And you stoll down from cavan and see so much misery in 10 mins...Can't say i have ever seen so much carnage either in such a short walk through the city..

May be your watching to much of fair city..or a scene from hill st blues..

This is your second personalised attack on my opening post this time you are accusing me of being a liar.
I have all ready gone to the trouble of responding to you a point which you choose to ignore. Wether you believe me or not I don't really care. Its my country too, its my capital, I'm a taxpayer and I am disappointed with the way things have changed.
Its not about me coming down from cavan or not being a Dub. Its about being Irish and what is happening in our society.
This is the reason for the post and thankfully every other poster on this forum seems to be willing to engage on this point.
I haven't seen Jimbos post to which you refer where he took the same walk,Though he has made two posts above which address the topic from two different perspectives, I agree that Stephens Green, a stroll on Grafton Street, or a walk along the canal are very pleasant places to be on summers day, however I was referring to the cities main thoroughfare.

For the fourth time I'm not trying to insult anyone from Dublin, if you feel you need to read that into this, well then that is your problem not mine. I'm talking about last thursday evening, I was in Dublin I saw what I posted. In the interests of being balanced I also had a pleasant meal on Hannover Quay, a few pints in the Ferryman and enjoyed a good show in the excellent facility that is the Grand Canal theatre all without any unpleasantness. As regards the programmes to which you refer don't watch either to be honest, HSB is before my time, the other one well each to his own.

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 01/06/2010 09:24:44    663820

Cavan Slasher,

What do you mean "who would I release from prison to make room for the rest?".

You are making it out like I would house them all in an normal Irish prison/holiday camp! You are making out like as if sub-humans should have human rights!!

My prison is the way a prison for these subhumans should be, and hence even if we have 10,000 prisoners serving 30 years in prison they will serve every single yeat of that sentance!......How?.....Because there is lots of room on the open Curragh plains where the prison would be!.....Cheap too!.....Prisoners are given a shovel to dig their own hole in the ground and construct their own bamboo cage inside the hole open to the elements! A warden shall then ride shotgun on horseback, on guard over the lot!

These filth are a useless drain on our society!....Do you think if they served six months in Snuffys prison they would be eager to commit a crime and go back there again?.......Correct!.....Not a chance they would!.....Now cant you see that Snuffys prison/correction is 100% effective!......Tell me if its not!.....Tell me what part of the threat of living in a hole in the ground for 6 months open to the elements for a second time is not enough to deter a person from commiting crime!.....and now look at the repeat offender flith we have doing holiday stretches every few months in our existing prisons/holiday camps!

One more point by the way, to reinforce what ta32 says!.....A story goes that some years ago in a tough suburb of Dublin, the local politician was told to 'clean up the area' by his constituents who were sick of the junkie filth in their area!.....This was duly done!....Now, you can argue that one terror simply replaced another but the bottom line for the locals was: "better the devil ya know than the devil ya dont!". The locals simply wanted their area cleared of filth and were happy to turn a blind eye to what Im sure was probably not a nice method of getting someone out of an area!....but hey.....they are gone now so.....Result!!
The simple fact here of what this proves is this!.....leaving things to the proper authorities achieves nothing!.....unorthodox methods will always achieve 100% success!. Absolute truth!

Our Cavan friend can rest assured that if my solutions were enacted, he could walk down any street in the country with diamonds hanging out of his pockets and he would be as safe as houses!
And let me also state: Why would people be against my solutions?....If your not a criminal then you have nothing to fear yourself!

For lads like Patrique!.....Grow a pair!....Keep on being a victim lad!.....The filth you pander too, are laughing up their sleeve at you lad!!

"Make crime history!......Abolish human rights for sub-humans now!"

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 01/06/2010 15:04:29    664354

i hope that also includes the developers the bankers and the corrupt police and politicians snuff

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 01/06/2010 15:30:08    664409

Snuffy,

You should have more time for your poor unfortunate county-men !! Your solution is not what any civilised country does, "what you do to the least of mine, you do also to me" !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/06/2010 15:36:23    664428

hipster,

Flith....covers collars of all colours who commit crime!....No distinction made!

Always reminded of one of my favourite poems by James Shirley called 'Death the Leveller' that you may remember from your leaving cert whose lines go:
"Sceptre and Crown, must tumble down, and in the dust be equal made, with the poor crooked sythe and spade!"......Absolute Class!!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 01/06/2010 15:36:47    664430

Omar.d

You picked the wrong street Omar... My second perspective was based on a lot of sensationalist posts that followed yours... which do not represent the truth of the situation.

O'Connell Street needs to be cleared, Marlboro St needs to be cleared... Abbey Street from the Theartre needs to be cleared.

Thers'e no question that these sites are bad but by some of the horror posts above you'd swear the City was descending into Chaos it's far from it... I had a great weekend showing guests around the city, no trouble, no unpleasant begging, no one tried to sell us drugs... Why? As I knew the streets not to take them down... we enjoyed our weekend North and South of the river...

You walked down the wrong road... unfortunately it's the hub for street dealing in the city centre... and the cops know about it... they know them by their first name.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 01/06/2010 15:45:22    664445

01/06/2010 15:45:22

664445 Omar.d

You picked the wrong street Omar... My second perspective was based on a lot of sensationalist posts that followed yours... which do not represent the truth of the situation.

O'Connell Street needs to be cleared, Marlboro St needs to be cleared... Abbey Street from the Theartre needs to be cleared.

Thers'e no question that these sites are bad but by some of the horror posts above you'd swear the City was descending into Chaos it's far from it... I had a great weekend showing guests around the city, no trouble, no unpleasant begging, no one tried to sell us drugs... Why? As I knew the streets not to take them down... we enjoyed our weekend North and South of the river...

You walked down the wrong road... unfortunately it's the hub for street dealing in the city centre... and the cops know about it... they know them by their first name.

Fair enough Jimbo - Fully agree that there are a lot of good sides to Dublin - The areas you mentioned plus there are areas that are much nicer than they were 20 years ago Smithfield, The Beer market at Georges Dock, Hannover Quay etc

All cities are going to have their rough areas its just a shame that Dublins is so central and in areas that should attract tourists, so there should be a focus on driving it out of this part of town, I appreciate that it is probably just moving the problem but it would be better for the city.

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 01/06/2010 15:57:21    664466

its definitely not just limited to marlboro, abbey, parnell , the boardwalk & all the "known for it" areas anymore though, you're likely too see this **** anywhere in the city

mac21 (Leitrim) - Posts: 677 - 01/06/2010 15:58:58    664467

MaC
ounty: Leitrim

664467 its definitely not just limited to marlboro, abbey, parnell , the boardwalk & all the "known for it" areas anymore though

It's only recently that these areas have become so bad... it's due to the luas line.. hop off, buy drugs, hop on Gone... I've seen this first hand their using the luas as a quick escape.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 01/06/2010 16:51:25    664558

Cavan Slasher,

Biblical quotes are all fine and dandy, but the problem with them is that the bible in this regard is the biggest contradiction in the literary world! For an example of which, let me retort to you like this, and if you are familiar with a certain cult movie you will recognise the lines (a mix of various biblical quotes).

'The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides with the iniquities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he who in the name of charity and good will shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness, for he is truly his brother's keeper and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon those with great vengeance and with furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know that my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee.'

Or the classic from the Boondock Saints vigilante boys (not a bibilcal quote mind you): Wish we had them here!

"Now you will receive us.
We do not ask for your poor, or your hungry.
We do not want your tired and sick.
It is your corrupt we claim.
It is your evil that will be sought by us.
With every breath we shall hunt them down.
Each day, we will spill their blood till it rains down from the skies.
Do not kill, do not rape, do not steal, these are principles which every man of every faith can embrace.
These are not polite suggestions, these are codes of behavior and those of you that ignore them will pay the dearest cost.
There are varying degrees of evil, we urge you lesser forms of filth not to push the bounds and cross over, into true corruption, into our domain.
For if you do, one day you will look behind you and you will see we three. And on that day, you will reap it.
And we will send you to whatever god you wish.
And shepherds we shall be, for Thee, my Lord, for Thee. Power hath descended forth from Thy hand, that our feet may swiftly carry out Thy command. So we shall flow a river forth to Thee, and teeming with souls shall it ever be.
In nomine Patri.
Et Fili.
Spiritus Sancti."

So you see from the top quote that biblical quotes work both ways!.....The classic being 'Eye for an eye.......'

Pandering to filth is just not an option for me Cavan Slasher!.....Cos thats what has the filth running amok like they do in the first place!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 01/06/2010 16:52:20    664560

SNUFFY.
fantastic , bravo , bravo, more like snuffy i say . good man.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 01/06/2010 17:01:29    664579

Snuffy:

Who decides who's "sub-human?"

These people are humans just like you but they haven't had the advantages that you've had.

Its easy to sit pontificating and ranting about the under priveleged from you're safe distsance making blanket statements. There are huge problems in Dublin's inner city and to be honest mate you haven't a clue about it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 01/06/2010 18:11:26    664750

Snuffy,

Thats alright if everyone has been given an equal chance in life. People do not choose to be brought up in poverty and filth brought upon them by lack of education, mental health issues, alcoholism etc. We are lucky to have avoided a life like that as many have not. I work with one particular young girl who was loaned out for sex at the age of five by a mother who was a drug addict. Did this child deserve this ? Is she as guilty as her mother ? Does she deserve to be locked away in your "prison"? Another young lad found his brother hanged in his back shed and later his father also took his life. He did not even get counselling and he was only seven when the first incident happened. He is now a drug addict who is in care and he does not get to see his remaining sister and brother in case they have an adverse reaction. Do we lock him up too or wipe him off the face of the earth like you suggest. What about the sick and the elderly have you a suggestion to do away with them too ?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/06/2010 18:37:35    664792

There is a famous prison governor in Georgia or Alabama who has stolen your thunder snug. He makes his prisoners wear pink, sleep in tents in the open and because by law he has to let them have TV and read puts only baby cartoons on and gives them kids comics. He also makes the diet nutritious but totally tasteless and has brought back chain gangs so that the public can see the prisoners and shout and humiliate them. There was a documentary about him on SKY recently.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9829 - 01/06/2010 19:04:55    664845

Omar = Madasbutter WUM...You are flying through your user names.....

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 01/06/2010 21:28:35    665012

Omar.d

660692 I lived in Dublin for a while in the late 1990's and held fairly good memories of my time in our nations capital though as a single male in his early twenties with a few pounds in his back pocket at that time I would have held a different perspective on life.

Since then I probably go to Dublin 6/7 times a year usually through work to some office block in the IFSC or Dublin 2, or to see a game in Croker (as a neutral before someone states the obvious) , so the parts of town I see are fairly limited.

Yesterday afternoon I had occasion to be in the city centre. Was up to see a show and for a spot of grub before hand. Myself and Mrs. Omar landed up nice and early and Mrs. Omar being Mrs. Omar decided she wanted to spend an hour in Arnotts in advance. I had parked in the IFSC in a mates workplace so we took a walk from there past Busaras, along Abbey street and O Connell street to Henry Street.

It's quite a few years since I've walked this track but I have to say that in any city in any part of the developed world I have never witnessed such abject misery. I passed more Winos' Alcos, Drug addicts, Beggars, loiterers and general society drop outs than I did normal "citizens. This was at 4 pm in the afternoon and within 50 yards of each other on O Connell Street I saw two men fighting in front a LUAS, A drunk banging on the window of a taxi. A woman lying in front a car and two drunks being dragged out of a shop by garda. It was liek being in Harlem or somehwere In addition the area around opposite Arnotts which once had stalls and discount butcher shops is now dominated by "mobile phone unlocking, Massage, Head shops, €2 braiding salons etc.

Now I appreciate that all large cities have areas where this happens but typically this is in suburbs or near train stations etc rather than right in the middle of what is the main thoroughfare. To be honest I can't understand what would draw any tourist to Dublin when one looks at most other European capitals.

Has it always been like this or have things got worse over the last number of years ?

Omar there was nothing personal in picking up on your posts..its just it looked like utter rubbish from the opening post...

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 01/06/2010 21:55:45    665058

Snuffy get with the real world. If we were to adopt your suggestions we would become international pariahs, international trade would be non-existent and we'd have a human rights record that Idi Amin would be ashamed of.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9913 - 02/06/2010 09:57:07    665125

I stayed in a hotel on the bottom end of o'connell street with the lady a couple of years back (cant remember the hotel name, think its closed now) but i didnt notice anything like you's talk about.

Maybe im just naive, but think Dublin is a lovely city.

Maybe it comes from living on the Lower Ormeau Road in Belfast though.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 02/06/2010 10:38:07    665168

Cavan Slasher I have sympathy for the children you refer to but the underclass has created itself, not society. Some people choose to live like this and they are well looked after by the state. They get cheap accomodation - often as 'single parents' even though their boyfriends live with them - and all sorts of payments that working people are not entitled to. People I feel most sorry for are the decent WORKING people (including those genuinely out of work) who have not only to put up with these yokes as neighbours but who have to pay mortgages and tax for the privilege of it, and contribute to their upkeep. I would be on Snufs side here and would also lock up the Anglo and property speculators.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/06/2010 10:44:08    665177