Our Nations Capital

Lockjaw

Those things arent Dubs in my opinion... They are their own species. They have no pride in being a Dub or in fact Iirsh. They are mutants...

So please dont insult me by calling them Northside Dubs.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/05/2010 17:02:03    661048

CORK= the real capital!

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 28/05/2010 17:18:02    661063

Hillstreetblue

660914 Yew Tree you are correct to a point but the Gardai cant be everywhere at once. I mean think if the amount of Garda Sataions we have in Dublin 1 and 2 alone...its huge. Yet they are the worst parts of the city.
And with the recruitment embargo on Public Servants, we cant get anymore Gardai.
I dotn blame foreigners Navy, I do think there are way too many of them, I make no apologies for that, but I dont blame them for the mess Dublin is in right now. I blame drugs. Heroin/Crack/Meth have destroyed Dublin and lads, ye're cities and towns are next. Do something lads, i dont know what, i dont have the answers, but do something. Because before ye know it, Cork, Limerick, Galway, ye will all be the same as we are now.
I am actually genuinely emotional writing this. My town is destroyed. If I could get 2 mins in a room with the dealers, the glorified gangsters in the Sunday World and a machine gun.......

I genuinely feel sorry for the way your area has gone Hillstreetblue. Its a regrettable situation. So what can we do? I personally think vigilantism is the way forward. If things get much worse, local communities should be entitled to take the law into their own hands. Clearly the Gardai arent capable of stopping the scumbags. In South Africa, vigilantism is permitted in an effort to tackle the enormous drug problem. The death penalty should also be brought back. Its a waste of money keeping a person with 70 or 80 previous convictions in prison. Have our politicians not learned that prison is not a deterrent for criminals?

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 28/05/2010 17:36:49    661078

Hurlingdub:

Sorry man I should of clarified my point further. My only problem with zero tolerance is that the problem could end up being pushed further into the already struggling communities. A Zero tolerance policy would work but only if implemented everywhere. What could possibly happen is that such prominent areas close to the city centre become no go areas for pushers, muggers etc but that less prominent areas are not policed as vigilantly. This leads to further problems in already neglected areas. You are right though, I do not like the idea of locking up 'disadvantaged' people as you put it. It shows that we've already failed. Why are people from certain areas more likely to commit crime than others? When someone from an upper or middle class area commits a crime, society asks why could this happen and what lead them to it? However when someone from a disadvantaged area commits the same crime the response is decidedly different. Its a case of 'Well what did you expect of someone from that area?".

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 28/05/2010 17:44:17    661082

its baffling that on irelands main street that those s**m opposite easons are there, day after day, beside the eveing herald stall. walking down lower abbey steet is a joke altogther, and i had to walk there every day, when i was in college in the area

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4199 - 28/05/2010 18:31:09    661110

The Yanks regretted not repealing prohibition before the Mafia/mob became super strong.

Sounds as though legalising drugs in 30 years to late for Dublin.

And it all could have been avoided.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/05/2010 18:41:54    661128

moore street seems to have turned into irelands answer to china town

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4199 - 28/05/2010 18:47:33    661130

Scruffy2Donut - vigilantism? i would would love to hand out rough justice to the thugs, vigilantism will never work in a civilised country. people would get carried away with themselves.
i was just thinkin there of all the islands of our coast, what about re opening spike island and build a super prision on it, that way da scum are furthar away from us all.

zero tolerance again i say must be enforced. is there an elected official who can get things done in our capital city? what does the mayor of dublin do besides smiling for the camera. someone needs to shake things up, i really do shudder at the thought of this country in 20 years time.

when good people do nothing....evil wins

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11700 - 28/05/2010 21:35:19    661248

Thankgod i live in Antrim

williejohn (Antrim) - Posts: 22 - 28/05/2010 21:47:20    661266

yew_tree

yew_tree,
Let me introduce you to Rodrigo Duterte. He is the mayor Davao city in the Philippines which at one stage had the highest crime rate in the country. Since he took over he has allowed extrajudicial punishment. Davao city is now regarded as one of the safest and most peaceful cities in South East Asia. He supports a vigilante group called the Davao Death Squad which kills suspected drug lords. He has been criticised severly by left wing groups, human rights groups and Amnesty International. But at the end of the day, despite the criticism and harsh measures, his streets are free from scumbags, and his people feel safe. This is the lead Ireland must follow.

And I take your point about a superprison on a remote island. Its not a bad idea, but it would be costly.

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 28/05/2010 21:53:41    661273

It was liek being in Harlem or somehwere

New York City guide: Harlem lights

New Yorkers no longer think Harlem a no-go zone, so tourists shouldn't miss its live jazz, great architecture and soul food

Benandonner (Antrim) - Posts: 459 - 29/05/2010 10:16:58    661324

Yew Tree,

When Spike Island was opened it was used as a detention centre for so called "joyriders" and they burned it down in the famous riot in the 1980's !! I was on it once visiting a young lad who was an orphan and who got in with a bad crowd (later killed in a stolen car). It was a real old type prison which was once a naval base. I remember i had to wait three hours to get the boat out to it.
Whether drugs are ever legalised or not we will always have the problems that go with addiction. What we should be concentrating on is building centres to target the problems of the youth and at the minute this Government is actually cutting back on this so the problems will continue to increase. In our schools less and less time is being given to C.S.P.E. and Social Studies because of the need for points subjects. C.S.P.E. stops at Junior Cert.
The way to tackle the problem of addiction is when the children are in Primary School, 4th or 5th class and carried on throughout 2nd level. I actually take groups of children 14 to 17 year olds to prisons and get addicts to talk to them. The children get to spend time in prison cells talking to them. Many of the addicts are in "recovery" so they have stories to tell which shock the young people and they speak about the damage they caused to their own lives, health, families, relationships and on society in general. This has more of an impact on the young people than any text book and is a great preventative measure. I cannot see why it not part of the curriculum for schools except to say that school is now all about "points".

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/05/2010 11:40:01    661369

Omar,

Before you go knocking Dublin, Let's not forget you 'earn' your living from stealing from the Barksdale Organization in one of the most disadvantaged places in the developed World. Justify your actions please!

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 29/05/2010 14:42:58    661532

Its worth noting that new york city was like this in the 80's until mayor guilanni cleaned up the streets. something similar could be done if the will is there...

Forced sterilisation to stop the reproduction of scumbags is a possible alternative

There seems to be alot of evidence that the legalisation of abortion in 1973 was the key factor in new yorks crime rate dropping in the 1990s. Scumbags stopped just having loads of children, absolutely neglecting them/abusing them and turning them into violent drunks/criminals...etc.

Its really terrible to see the amount of kids hanging around on the streets outside pubs well into the evening as their parents get hammered inside spending every penny they have. Unfortunately these kids have no chance in life, its really sad and seems to be comon place in ireland

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4657 - 29/05/2010 16:37:40    661626

I'm not too fond of walking around the streets of Dublin, espcecially not around O'Connell's St. I was going in to visit my sister in Boyers one day before I met up with my cousin in there and I got half way down the street, saw the people around the entrance and turned straight back around. It's a horrible feeling to be walking around the capital of your country and not feel safe, even though most Dubliners are lovely people there's people around the inner city who just bring the whole place down.

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 29/05/2010 17:01:47    661645

dublin is like most cities around the globe it attracts all types who leave their backward towns in search for adventure , some get jobs and live decent lives others just fall into the abyass and by the grace of god it can happen to anyone of us

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 29/05/2010 17:38:47    661679

the young twits no more than 12 years of age who throw blocks of motorway overpasses, are they coked up? i doubt it. parents have alot to answer for in the area of underage crime. kids should be taken of them. there are even some people who should be banned from having kids.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11700 - 29/05/2010 17:54:36    661687

rebelsrock

661063 CORK= the real capital!

In your dreams yeah!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 29/05/2010 18:00:59    661701

patrique.
i do not think legalising is going 2 solve this.
not that i have the answer , but legalising drugs would only make matters worse. bad move.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 29/05/2010 18:31:28    661724

As a Dubliner I've been in and out of the City Centre on a regular basis for a lot of years now, I've seen the good and the bad.
The walks through Stephens green on a sunny day, or through Trinity College, the buzz in temlpe bar on a friday and saturday night, the craic around the city when there's a big game on, the buskers on Grafton St, Pints in O'neils, Dame Tavern, foggy dew, Bruxxells, the flowing Tide, Brogans to name but a few, fish and chips in the Del Rio on a saturday afternoon, happy days.
Then I've seen all the things Omar spoke of, also fights outside and inside the fast food shops, the drugs dealers in broad daylight, the unprovoked assaults, and even recently have been a victim on unprovoked assault myself.

But that said, I love this City, every inch of it, warts and all.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 29/05/2010 19:00:13    661744