Our Nations Capital

I lived in Dublin for a while in the late 1990's and held fairly good memories of my time in our nations capital though as a single male in his early twenties with a few pounds in his back pocket at that time I would have held a different perspective on life.

Since then I probably go to Dublin 6/7 times a year usually through work to some office block in the IFSC or Dublin 2, or to see a game in Croker (as a neutral before someone states the obvious) , so the parts of town I see are fairly limited.

Yesterday afternoon I had occasion to be in the city centre. Was up to see a show and for a spot of grub before hand. Myself and Mrs. Omar landed up nice and early and Mrs. Omar being Mrs. Omar decided she wanted to spend an hour in Arnotts in advance. I had parked in the IFSC in a mates workplace so we took a walk from there past Busaras, along Abbey street and O Connell street to Henry Street.

It's quite a few years since I've walked this track but I have to say that in any city in any part of the developed world I have never witnessed such abject misery. I passed more Winos' Alcos, Drug addicts, Beggars, loiterers and general society drop outs than I did normal "citizens. This was at 4 pm in the afternoon and within 50 yards of each other on O Connell Street I saw two men fighting in front a LUAS, A drunk banging on the window of a taxi. A woman lying in front a car and two drunks being dragged out of a shop by garda. It was liek being in Harlem or somehwere In addition the area around opposite Arnotts which once had stalls and discount butcher shops is now dominated by "mobile phone unlocking, Massage, Head shops, €2 braiding salons etc.

Now I appreciate that all large cities have areas where this happens but typically this is in suburbs or near train stations etc rather than right in the middle of what is the main thoroughfare. To be honest I can't understand what would draw any tourist to Dublin when one looks at most other European capitals.

Has it always been like this or have things got worse over the last number of years ?

Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 28/05/2010 12:32:06    660692

Omar i basically live in the city centre all my life and I whole heartedly agree with your post. The whole place is a kip. There has been no effort to clean it up. I have been to many cities in europe and I can honestly say you definitely wouldnt see the stuff that goes on in Dublin in these cities, at least not in the heart of everything. I dont think it has got worst tho. It has always been like this as long as i can remember. Then again im only 21.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 28/05/2010 12:56:01    660724

It is very bad and a sign of the times and of the Governments inability !! Expect it to get worse as the recession bites even more !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/05/2010 13:03:35    660734

Its worth noting that new york city was like this in the 80's until mayor guilanni cleaned up the streets. something similar could be done if the will is there.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11700 - 28/05/2010 13:07:46    660740

Omar.d

You picked the worst possible part of the city to walk down... it's famous for drug dealing around there but only in the last couple of years has it become so visible, Most of the s**m along there are on first name basis with a lot of Gards, simply because they've been arrested so much along that stretch! Kind of shows that the sysytem is a pile of poo to be honest.. We're losing the battle with drugs. Big time.... to be honest I think we lost it years ago.

They all hang around outside the Abbey Theatre screaming at each other all day, everyday!! and all the way along Marlboro street (I dont think I spelt that right, I tend to stay well clear of it) It's a hub for s**m bags around there... It's a terrible sight alright but what can you do about it... the place is regulary patrolled by the Gards but as soon as they leave, the s**m are back out again and sometimes they just continue selling while the Gards are around...I've seen this first hand.
It's also the same on the board walk along the liffey which is only a stone through from the Abbey Theatre/Marlboro st... it's getting completely out of control in this area...!!

I know a girl who was assaulted along Marlboro st... one of them broke her nose! and just walked off to leave her bleed.

Drugs are rampant in this City and throughout the country... you see the poor on the street scagging off their heads... while the middle class horse into Coke in the trendy night clubs 7 days a week!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/05/2010 13:15:43    660749

I also agree. O'Connell St looks well from above but once your on it...different story. There is a gang of what i can only call "loiterers" that hang around the centra shop near the Abbey St Junction on O'Connell St, where the old Evening Herald van used to be. They are there 24/7 365, conststantly drunk, constantly high and constantly arguing and fighting loudly amongst themselves. Very intimidating for passers by. Walking down by the Custom House you are always accosted by some ignorant drunk who doesnt ask you for money, he demands it. Parnell St is a minefield. Where all the chinese resturants are/were there again are constantly aggressive drunks and hobos. The large number of chippers on O'Connell St doesnt help either. The GPO is another haunt for them.
And within a one iron of O'Connell St up towards Dorset St or Marlborough St, again, haunted with petty criminals, drunks, hobos and thieves.

Ring a ring a rosy, as the light declines, I remember Dublin City, in the rare auld times.

Hillstreetblue (Dublin) - Posts: 163 - 28/05/2010 13:47:13    660796

Your senses did not deceive you Omar. Place is going down the tubes. Pubs I go to around town that used to be grand spots are now having to deal with junkies and all sorts of dangerous yokes every hour of the day. If you stand outside for a smoke you are guaranteed to be hassled agressively for money/smokes/drugs or just straight up mugged. Cops do have a presence but it seems to be ineffective or else they are only keeping lid on potentially much worse situation. Have been in lots of big cities and never seen any of them allow their city centres to become the way Dublin has.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/05/2010 13:53:34    660807

Sad but true Omar. When you make the walk from Grafton St over the Liffey to O'Connell street the difference is scary. The boardwalk along the quays is the druggy business centre. All along Bachelors walk you have some real dodgey characters, shame as its such a nice walk when we have good weather. Parnell street, Moore St is starting to resemble a ghetto.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 28/05/2010 14:11:24    660836

Yea the north inner city, around O'Connell Street needs to be sorted out big time. Its a disaster. But is the will to do it there.
Just across the river on the south of town everything seems grand enough. Why is the effort put in here but not around O'Connell St, which is supposed to be the countrys premier street

Lebowski (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 28/05/2010 14:19:36    660848

Ok lads, what in your opinion is the answer or at the very least a suitable response to sort out the mess?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/05/2010 14:41:12    660872

i have an uncle lives in san diego, has lived there 40 years now. He was home for the first time in 20 years or so last February. He was staying in the Clarion in the IFSC. He was so depressed at what has become of Dublin City. Literally broke his heart and shattered all his illusions oh the place he left behind. It was the first time I ever met the man. We had a hoolie in my mams place that evening. Rare auld times was sang and he was in floods of tears. Not in a good way. The man was seriously depressed by what he saw and what his town has become. Really hit home with me that night what has happened. Where is the city these people knew so well? Can it ever be reclaimed for the good decent people of Dublin and indeed Ireland? Its not just Dubliners city, its Irelands capital. We should all be proud of it. But whats there to be proud of? A city of junkies, alcoholics, foreign taxi drivers who don't know where Ranelagh is and a city full of misery.

Hillstreetblue (Dublin) - Posts: 163 - 28/05/2010 14:49:50    660882

Brend, there is no saving it. Drugs are the cause. And they are here to stay. Dublin is a city lost to Drugs. 90% of crime in Dublin is in someway linked to drugs. And they vermin passed out on the streets in broad daylight are just one tiny piece of the problem. Dublin City is just another infected cesspit of modern society.

Hillstreetblue (Dublin) - Posts: 163 - 28/05/2010 14:58:21    660888

brendtheredhand

660872 Ok lads, what in your opinion is the answer or at the very least a suitable response to sort out the mess?

more police patrolling the streets that actually give a toss.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 28/05/2010 15:00:43    660890

The boardwalk is a disgrace. Its such a great amenity and tourist attraction but you only have to be on it for 10 minutes and you will see heroin change hands. I'm not sure what the Garda strategy is on this but I've regularly seen guards walk straight by these transactions down around tara street. There is often plenty of them directing traffic (well shaping like they are) as well in the same place

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12464 - 28/05/2010 15:03:24    660891

Well bren, someone mentioned New York and that is the way to go. Lock them up instead of allowing them to run up dozens sometimes hundreds of charges before they go down. And that's no exaggeration, one of the people involved in the death of the two Polish lads had 75 serious enough previous charges and was out on bail. Lock them up for a few years and then give them detox and educational facilities but ordinary people should not have to put up with them every day as they go about their business. Someone mentioned girl being attacked on Marlboro Street. I saw a teenage girl beaten up at 5 o'clock one Friday and mugged by two characters who were still wandering around two hours later. And yes people did go to her aid and did call the Guards who did arrive but there they were still roaming about in their hoodies accosting people.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/05/2010 15:05:25    660892

I remember when I was younger, i'm 43 now, a trip south to Dublin was an event in itself and I couldnt contain my excitement. The last time I was in the city was in 05 for the replay with your goodselves so we didnt venture into town. Its sad to read these stories, especially coming form Dubs, rather than out of towners, it actually lends credence to whats really going on there, it really is a sad state of affairs.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/05/2010 15:11:00    660895

Not just drugs HSB. I rarely agree with Kevin Myers but I would agree with his assessment of the way we've made the same mistake that so many other country's have with the way foreign immigrants have come into this country. Instead of embracing their culture or taking them as the people they are, they are kept to certain areas, usually the poor ones. Usually these people are neglected by society and the majority are forgotten about. Ghettos start to form and before you know it you're a foreigner in your own country instead of making them feel as much a part of this country as everyone else is

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 28/05/2010 15:12:27    660897

brendtheredhand - i think we need zero tolerance. but a cop on every street and before someone says that will cost too much, how much will we save in the long run in crime, hospitals bills, free legal aid? one of the most depressing sights for me is when i arrive in heuston and take the luas into town. there is a stop at the courts. the amount of winoes and thugs drinking and laughing outside the courthouse ia appalling. no gives a ...... anymore. the law needs to change first and the rest will follow.
the underground of the city as hillstreet sais - DRUGS is the cause of 90% of crime. we had one big catch of the cork coast a year r so ago and we were lucky to get it. how mush is coming in every year unknown to us?
we have a highly skilled army who do terrific work abroad. is it not time to deploy the army to our shoreline and ports to stop this poision hitting our streets?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11700 - 28/05/2010 15:15:02    660900

I may be wrong on this, but I think a lot of the services for addicts are all around the same place around abbey st. so that leads to a concentration of them around the north inner city. They should be spread out and kept apart but nobody wants a methadone clinic in their leafy suburb

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12464 - 28/05/2010 15:27:46    660912

Yew Tree you are correct to a point but the Gardai cant be everywhere at once. I mean think if the amount of Garda Sataions we have in Dublin 1 and 2 alone...its huge. Yet they are the worst parts of the city.
And with the recruitment embargo on Public Servants, we cant get anymore Gardai.
I dotn blame foreigners Navy, I do think there are way too many of them, I make no apologies for that, but I dont blame them for the mess Dublin is in right now. I blame drugs. Heroin/Crack/Meth have destroyed Dublin and lads, ye're cities and towns are next. Do something lads, i dont know what, i dont have the answers, but do something. Because before ye know it, Cork, Limerick, Galway, ye will all be the same as we are now.
I am actually genuinely emotional writing this. My town is destroyed. If I could get 2 mins in a room with the dealers, the glorified gangsters in the Sunday World and a machine gun.......

Hillstreetblue (Dublin) - Posts: 163 - 28/05/2010 15:28:21    660914