Have Mayo any chance of Sam?

TyroneUltra

660034 I think Mayo have a chance of winning SAM this year their biggest problem seems to be a psychological one when it comes to playing big games at Croke Park they never seem to do themselves justice, as they certainly have the quality of player at their disposal.

I dont know where this myth came out of. I'll copy and post in what I said in another thread....Mayo are a good team but I cant think of 1 single class player they have. A player who could take an All Ireland by the scruff of its neck the way O'Se, Cavanagh, Gooch, Donaghy, McGeaney, Joyce, Giles, Fallon and Fitzgearld have done in the past. 15 good footballers, might make the semi's but haven't a hope of winning an All Ireland. Haven't got the class......Mayo fans are getting on John O Mahonys back, with no good reason. They seem to expect an All Ireland. He is not superman, he cant win it without the players. Mayo should aim for a Connacht title each year with anything that follows being an added bonus.

Onto the point about Connacht, Yes the Majority of those counties mentioned, bar Limerick, would be competitive in Connacht. But they would be competitive everywhere else too bar Munster. Aside from the big 3, there are a list of pretenders who are some way behind. Galway and Mayo are no worse than any of these pretenders, there is just less less of them in Connacht compared to say Ulster.

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 27/05/2010 15:53:28    660072

throw_it_over

659972 Kildare, Limerick, Down, Donegal, Meath and Derry wouldn't have a chance if they were in Connacht, i truly beleive that leinster is by far the weakest provice, its a monopoly there and theres not a sign of any thing different for the years to come.. Kildare are the most over-rated team in the country, couldn't even beat a poor dublin team with 14 men..... And remember that both galway and mayo beat the dubs this year when they were treating the league like the champo

Dubs beat Mayo this year in the league chump......wehwehwhoo

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 27/05/2010 15:54:47    660073

ConnollyDub

throw_it_over

659972 Kildare, Limerick, Down, Donegal, Meath and Derry wouldn't have a chance if they were in Connacht, i truly beleive that leinster is by far the weakest provice, its a monopoly there and theres not a sign of any thing different for the years to come.. Kildare are the most over-rated team in the country, couldn't even beat a poor dublin team with 14 men..... And remember that both galway and mayo beat the dubs this year when they were treating the league like the champo

Explain. In what way did Dublin approach/play the league differntly to Galway?

They played 14 men behind the ball in most games, hardly a sign of a laidback team... Meehan was also gone AND Deccie meehan was sent off yet...

Ulsterman

You are having a laugh throw it. Football wise Connacht is a soft province mentally and physically, as Mayo continue to prove, and your 'Championship' is a walk in the park. Galway's recent All Irelands are now a memory and really a blip in what is a dreadfully poor province football wise. The teams you mentioned would be contesting Connacht finals every year at the expense of bad Mayo and Galway sides who currently could put their ladies out and still qualify for finals there.

If Connacht had more counties it would be one of the strongest.. I admit - bar G & M and perhaps Sligo - its a bit weak but Antrim, sorry, Cunningham, wouldnt beat the galway minor ladies...

Breffni39

throw_it_over

I would be the type to be critical of Connacht football, but it is pushing it to say those teams "wouldnt have a chance". They'd have every chance!

Sorry, hyperbole!! Of course they would but G & M are stronger than them all.... Would like to see Connacht and Munster join together, similar to hurling.. That would be very interesting!!

throw_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 769 - 27/05/2010 15:57:25    660077

Never bet against kerry. I did twice last year and got me fingers burnt.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2929 - 27/05/2010 16:19:10    660115

I obviously meant "I would NOT be the type" sorry!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 27/05/2010 16:26:11    660126

Who is rating Kildare so highly? Apart from the article in the indo in January placing Kildare second in the race for Sam this year. Ridiculous! Kildare dud just beat Mayo in a challenge game and kicked 15 wides doing so!

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 27/05/2010 16:41:05    660152

NO

castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 27/05/2010 16:46:25    660160

jafallon

Mayo are a good team but I cant think of 1 single class player they have. A player who could take an All Ireland by the scruff of its neck the way O'Se, Cavanagh, Gooch, Donaghy, McGeaney, Joyce, Giles, Fallon and Fitzgearld have done in the past. 15 good footballers, might make the semi's but haven't a hope of winning an All Ireland. Haven't got the class......Mayo fans are getting on John O Mahonys back, with no good reason. They seem to expect an All Ireland. He is not superman, he cant win it without the players. Mayo should aim for a Connacht title each year with anything that follows being an added bonus.

Much as i hate to say it, you are spot on with that assessment jafallon. Plenty decent footballers in mayo but no stand-out stars that would be considered the best in their position in the country. The one player we had who was prob in the class of some of the players you mentioned above - mcdonald - was retired prematurely. We were told this was a good thing as we now were not reliant on any one individual. Now we're left with a group of players all around the same ability, who are good players, but nowhere near good enough to win an all ireland. Its cork's or kerry's with an outside chance for tyrone. mayo are just not in that class

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 27/05/2010 16:49:33    660165

Glad you can admit it GreenandRed. To be fair, you have been unlucky in that respect. McDonald was a top class player with behind the scenes problems. Another player who had the potential to be top class is currently living the dream in Australia.

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 27/05/2010 17:02:19    660187

Yes, Mayo have a chance of course. Sometimes i try to relate to where some of these posters are coming from with their constant bashing of Mayo, are they closet Mayo men maybe? There is no justification in slating Mayo to such a degree, the thing that amazes me like back in 04 or 06 which is not that long ago is that people that slate Mayo football do be very shy at coming forward when Mayo get to the big day, if we are so far off the mark why will there be no one that amazed if were in the 2010 all Ireland final, i guarantee if that were to happen that were not be an eyebrow raised across the media and punters a like only for every dog on the street to say" ah sure they could always get there, winning it is a different story".

We will be bashed untill the day we bring it back to Castlebar and by christ i for one will let every basher in the country know if that ever happens. Mayo will win sam soon personally i have no doubt about that, i really believe we are going to surprise a few this year but as usual we won't get credit for it. Why when talking about Mayo football over the last 10 years is it never mentioned the day we silenced the hill against the odds or our victory against a very fancied Tyrone team in 04, no its all the negativity that becomes focus. Up Mayo and *... the begrudgers.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 27/05/2010 17:12:51    660201

There is no point in silencing the hill and then falling flat on your face in the final 51long ago.Mikeynora, a limerick ma poking fun at any other county thes days is too daft for words!

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 27/05/2010 17:20:41    660207

There is no point in silencing the hill and then falling flat on your face in the final 51long ago.Mikeynora, a limerick ma poking fun at any other county thes days is too daft for words!

I see your point to a degree but on the other hand what you're saying is don't bother togging out if ya cant win sam. As i have said before i have no problem in admitting we were hammered out the gate in 04/06 finals, nothing to with bottle or any other daft term people come up with,simply beat by a superior team. 96 i will always maintain the best team in Ireland was Mayo, how we didnt win it is still beyond me.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 27/05/2010 17:39:25    660238

51longago

Pay no heed to anyone who's having a cheap shot at mayo. Let them off, there's plenty counties who never get near an all ireland quarter final, never mind a final. But realistically can you see us winning it this year? Personally i think we havent a hope. Could have a decent summer and on our day can prob beat any team. But to win the all ireland you have to have a number of really top performances. Just cant see us beating 2 of the top 3. Even if we avoided the top 3 teams and got to a final i wouldnt fancy our chances to win it at all. The really top teams up their game considerably in a final. I hate to say it but i would worry that we would get another hiding if we faced cork or kerry in a final

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 27/05/2010 17:48:13    660258

Mayo will be there or there abouts!

oh_aye (Down) - Posts: 71 - 27/05/2010 18:05:27    660285

Listen the main reason i made this account was to come on here and tell you all that Mayo will do their talking on the pitch and we don't need all this hype on here. It sickens me to the teeth to think that the likes of Limerick are being compared with this Mayo senior team who reached the national league final and although they put in a very poor performance, come all-ireland final day, we will be there. Thats my own opinion and i am open to suggestions as to why not?

I_agree (Mayo) - Posts: 58 - 27/05/2010 18:13:11    660293

They are not favourites by any stretch but of course they have a chance of winning Sam, they have alot of good players and a good manager. If they get on a roll in connacht they could surprise a few people. A few of their young lads like mcloughlin and the o'sheas could have big summers

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 27/05/2010 18:30:18    660312

Maybe if they get a Kerryman to manage the team.........

oricelt (USA) - Posts: 207 - 27/05/2010 19:15:19    660360

Allready tried that

mickobronx17 (Mayo) - Posts: 227 - 27/05/2010 19:25:29    660372

Mayo have a small chance but could just as easily be beaten by Sligo in the first round in Connacht.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 27/05/2010 20:07:29    660401

Id agree with jafallon, mayo dont have a team of superstar players who just fail at the final hurdle. They have a few good players mixed in with some decent players. He is also right about o'mahoney, the guy is doing pretty well if you look at what is available to him, but we have the ulterior motive brigade constantly talking on corners because a) they have differing political views, b) they are still sore about mcdonald (who for the record didnt turn up when he was asked to by the management). Dont forget mayo lost heaney and nallen this year and brady, mcdonald and o'niell in the previous two/three. That is the spine of the team. The championship squad has an average age of 23/24 so it is pretty obvious this is a building period for mayo. Tyrone (who would be considered to have a stronger squad than mayo) were missing a few senior lads for the league this year and got relegated so when you look at it like that, what mayo managed is quite an achievement. We wont win sam this year, just like 31 other counties, but we will be in the shake-up, how many others can say that? 5-6? Again, not bad for a transitional side. I have to laugh when I hear people slagging mayo. If we are so bad, then what does that say about the 99% of the rest of ye who's counties couldnt even outlast a bunch of bottlers? 'Oh we would have pushed kerry closer', well if ye hadnt gotten beaten in the earlier rounds (twice on most occasions) we might have been able to put that to the test!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/05/2010 21:24:34    660454