Four young country lads killed on our roads....

Breff... You've already had the final word

At the end of the day I can only try my best to create a thread man... I've already stated to you that I believe you to be wrong about your own assumptions regarding my wording. What exactly have you contributed to this thread Breff besides turning it into a pedantic argument? The stats are there to back up everything I've said…

The only other objection to my wording of this thread surrounded Donegal being a "hot spot" like many other "hot spot" regions for young road fatalities, which is absolutely 100% correct and I've supplied the back up to my Donegal statement…. this objection had nothing to do with your own opinions Breff. End of. So please don't use them to back up your own problems with this thread. Can you accept that?

I typed the initial thread with a lot of pent up sadness and frustration at seeing young Irish country lads dying on our roads… It was a "Shake some sense" post and there was bit of passion in it, I didn't proof read it… just bang, bang, bang…post. If I said "You" instead of "We"… does it really matter! It's a typo which I've since retracted… perhaps you missed that.

I opened my paper this morning and see the headlines that more young men are dying on OUR country roads and it made me angry! What a fecking mother fecking waste !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You are coming at it from an angle of a rural v City thing… and that frustrates me greatly. That isn't why I started this thread Breff and to be honest it's very deflating that I once again have to defend myself just because you alone have taken exception to my wording. Young Irish lads die in greater numbers on the country side roads. FACT.

You've already admitted to being pedantic on this thread… you admit to something but continue with the same purpose. It's a lot easier to be critical of someone's efforts Breff than perhaps under taking your own.

At the end of the Day Donegal is a HOT SPOT for young road deaths.... The country side roads are where a vast majority of young road fatalities take place...

Dublin is one of the safest capital cities in Europe to drive in. All the rest is just a country lad having a problem with a Dublin lad... and making statements like all the funding for such education programs are already being used to educate Dublin school children about drug abuse!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 17:36:59    659234

Rhodejim
County: Offaly

Dont worry about it man.... You only gave your opinion... It was actually Vice99 that turned it into a very childish thread. Donegal is a hot spot for young road deaths but only one of others around the country.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 17:40:55    659244

vice99

658673 Good idea Jim but sure all the money in the country for this is tied up trying to educate the young people in Dublin not to take drugs

Vice99 having a pop at me for my wording perhaps you should realise what a Hot Spot area relates to instead of making such comments as this... this was said with anger because I mentioned your own county, which is in fact a hot spot for road deaths. I've supplied the relevant details earlier in the thread.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 17:47:02    659253

Its not about having the last word, you are bringing that childish stuff in, not me. I'm just here to discuss things, which is what I'm doing. You are telling me I'm wrong and you're not saying any more about it. I have given you credit for setting up the thread etc but objected to certain elements of the post. What exactly do you want from replies? "You are right Jimbodub, great thread, you are brilliant"

Everyone is agreeing with you and some of us are objecting to finer details. You are disregarding objections and counter-points to "facts" and crowing about those who agreed with you. I'm sorry but get down off your high horse man.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12490 - 26/05/2010 17:52:19    659266

I've read my initial thread again and apart from the YOU instead of WE part I stant by it 100%

Please if when reading it again replace YOU with WE... I've made this point earlier in the thread which was missed but I seem to have to repeat myself over and over again.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 17:52:27    659267

Jim, per capita Longford, Cavan and Monaghan are all ahead of Donegal in trems of road fatalities and that is as recent as last year we may be even further down the list this year as thank God the numbers of fatal road accidents seem to have dropped to me recently. So instead of singling out Donegal in future you may want to mention the counties that are actually AHEAD of them on that list. A little bit of research goes a long way.

vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 26/05/2010 17:56:48    659277

Breffni39

659266 Its not about having the last word, you are bringing that childish stuff in, not me. I'm just here to discuss things, which is what I'm doing. You are telling me I'm wrong and you're not saying any more about it. I have given you credit for setting up the thread etc but objected to certain elements of the post. What exactly do you want from replies? "You are right Jimbodub, great thread, you are brilliant"

Everyone is agreeing with you and some of us are objecting to finer details. You are disregarding objections and counter-points to "facts" and crowing about those who agreed with you. I'm sorry but get down off your high horse man.

Breff I think it's you that's on your "high horse" but again what else can you add... Simply because everything I've stated is correct. You have to go down the tried and tested " HS High Horse statement" is that all you have to add... apart from the use of YOU over WE... whats your problem. Eveything I've said is factually correct.

It's not my fault if you have a (Excuse me while I use another tried and tested HS favourite) "Chip on your shoulder", I mean what else can I offer to this Pedantic argument but facts. Did I spell anything wrong earlier that you would also like to point out. You have taken this thread down your own road Breff.

One that it was never intented to go down... but please if you want to find anything unfactual about my thread please knock yourself out! but I wouldnt waste my time if I was you.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 18:05:36    659291

vice99

659277 Jim, per capita Longford, Cavan and Monaghan are all ahead of Donegal in trems of road fatalities and that is as recent as last year we may be even further down the list this year as thank God the numbers of fatal road accidents seem to have dropped to me recently. So instead of singling out Donegal in future you may want to mention the counties that are actually AHEAD of them on that list. A little bit of research goes a long way.

I never once stated that Donegal was number one on that list of fatal road accident counties... now come on did I.....!! All I said was that it is a Hot Spot for young fatalities...which it is. Which is sadly is.

Do you know the term hot spot when applied to traffic accidents... Or if you like a "Black spot" for accidents... and hey that's the way we'll just ignore your childish comment about possible educational programs. Good man...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 18:10:15    659296

jimbo, i only have a problem with people disrespecting the dead. lately there were two young plumbers who died in Laois... im just asking everyone to remember that speed isnt always THE factor.

Can we stop the bit of bickering for a few moments lads and give ideas of culling the huge number of young male drivers on the roads.
its neither here nor there there WHICH county has highest deaths on road. the fact remains in rural areas there have been a lot of deaths on roads. I said i think there would be fewer deaths if there were more garda checkpoints. maybe communities can come together and say "we'v had enough, next race in the town or village and we'r calling the gardai to come look on any particular evening". anyone any other ideas?

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 26/05/2010 18:11:26    659298

vice99

Thing is Vice... you've launched into one without understanding the term "Hot Spot" when applied to traffic accidents.

I'd apologise to you if I had anything to apologise for!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 18:13:10    659300

Jim you're a hard man to get through to. I'm not denying that Donegal is a hotspot (along with Longford, Cavan, Monaghan as I have already alluded to), I just took exception to that fact the you only named Donegal and not the other hotspots. Understand?

vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 26/05/2010 19:00:44    659353

Insurance companies and indeed the Government should insist that any newly qualified driver or any young insured person under 25 years old should have a speed regulator fitted to his/her car which prevents the car being driven at over 80 kph (50 M.P.H.) . If he/she is caught without it or in any other car doing more than that speed he should be banned for two years and made repeat the driving test. It is speed that kills and if we target that we can cut down the number of deaths. The age that is most at risk is 18 to 24 year olds as statistics tell us !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/05/2010 20:08:29    659410

you must be older than than 25 so cav slash?!!!

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 26/05/2010 20:43:52    659465

Rhodejim,

I am older than two of them !! But they are the age group that are being killed !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 27/05/2010 10:08:35    659618

It's happened again...

God bless those poor families...

Truly heart breaking news

Eight young men have been killed in a road accident in Co. Donegal.

The accident happened at around half past ten last night on the Buncrana to Clonmany road, when two cars collided.

It is understood the victims were all travelling in the same car.

The driver of the second car was seriously injured and has been taken to Letterkenny General Hospital for treatment.

The scene of the accident is closed for a full technical examination

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 12/07/2010 10:02:51    704536

very sad

maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 12/07/2010 10:35:32    704613

How in under of God was there 8 people travelling in one car? God bless them and the gentleman in the other car who was also killed

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 12/07/2010 11:55:53    704810

omaghredhand

704810 How in under of God was there 8 people travelling in one car? God bless them and the gentleman in the other car who was also killed

How many of them were wearing seat belts... can you imagine it? Truly horrific, God bless those families....

Something needs to be done. There's a pattern forming here....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 12/07/2010 12:01:24    704822

Alas Jim, I can't see anything other than a ban on drivers under 21. The legal age for someone to be able to buy drink is 18 yet someone can take charge of a high powered vehicle at 17!! How can we suggest that young folk can't handle a couple of pints unti they are 18 yet allow them to drive vehicles that can travel at 120-130mph at 17? I realise that there are restrictions but they can only be enforced to a certain degree. Draconian measures are the only way to stop this carnage

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 12/07/2010 12:20:21    704875

Shocking incident..... but it is very difficult to try to encourage younger people not to drive too fast, or not to try to impress those in cars with them or not to drive under the influence of drink or drugs. Feel so sad for the victims and the families of all involved!

Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 12/07/2010 12:54:52    704956