Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 2906
658779 Agree with Rhodejim and Vice99, the points are relevant but the unnecessary use of "country" in the the title and post is divisive and could possible be viewed as distancing yourself from the problem
I'm not removing it because the title is perfetly valid. Where were the poor lads from?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 14:22:35
Lockjaw County: Donegal Posts: 1252
658808 Sure it's like most other things up here. We're neglected in a lot of things really. No rail links, poor roads, relative lack of industry. There is definitely a boy-races culture up here though, seems to be a kind of a northern thing. Young lads barely able to order a pint can be seen flying about the place in wee noisy cars!
You can pass that comment onto Breff... It's a terrible sad thing and a problem wish is much more prevelant in the country side than in cities and all people can comment on is my wording for the title... truly mind boggling.
Breff If you want you can search all the stats yourself. Look at the number of road fatalities in Dublin compared to down the country over the last 10 years. It's a countyside epidemic.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 14:28:28
Actually jimbo, this quote gives you away "Whatever country boy-racer attitudes you have to driving is shocking to be honest!" You make valid points and fair play to you but you have a knack of being divisive and unintentionally sounding aloof.
The post would be a great post if you took out the references to the country and said "we" instead of "you".
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12490 - 26/05/2010 14:30:48
Everytime you hear of a death on the roads its awful. Especially as most accidents are avoidable.
In my opinion its not speeding that causes most accidents, its bad judgement. You see it so often. Im driving a thousand odd miles a week these days and the amount of near misses I see tells me that one lapse in concentration could be fatal. Add onto this however a sheer disrespect of the roads and other drivers by a minority and thats how you have your accidents. The younger generation think they are invincible and inexperience means they take chances they shouldn't be taking.
On another point. Im very surprised the meath match went ahead on sunday. I thought it should have been postponed out of respect instead of a "minute" silence.
Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 26/05/2010 14:33:34
Without knowing the specifics of these tragic cases there is no doubt that youth, speed and big powerful engines can be a lethal cocktail. We can't escape the fact that when many of our youngsters get behind the wheel common sense goes out the window and they lose all control and perspective. A young guy of 17 or 18 will not be able to control a motor with a 1.8 or 2 litre engine if he/she loses control at 70/80/90 mile an hour and it can be very easy to lose control. Once you are not in charge at those speeds it's a lottery what happens; either you kill yourself, your companions, other drivers or pedestrians. I was in Ayrshire last year and a young fella of about 20 drove straight at me and my cousin's car, on the wrong side of the road, on a mobile phone at about 70 mph. The cousin swerved and we ended up in a ditch, the guy had obviously lost total concentration. I would maybe raise the driving licence to 21 and above.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9838 - 26/05/2010 14:33:56
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 5596
658889 Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 2906
658779 Agree with Rhodejim and Vice99, the points are relevant but the unnecessary use of "country" in the the title and post is divisive and could possible be viewed as distancing yourself from the problem
I'm not removing it because the title is perfetly valid. Where were the poor lads from?
Ireland
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12490 - 26/05/2010 14:38:00
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 2907
658901 Actually jimbo, this quote gives you away "Whatever country boy-racer attitudes you have to driving is shocking to be honest!" You make valid points and fair play to you but you have a knack of being divisive and unintentionally sounding aloof.
The post would be a great post if you took out the references to the country and said "we" instead of "you".
I typed the post in a matter of seconds and posted it. I didn't proof read it... I agree with the "WE" as I have to drive the length and breath of the country with my work.... but I'm sorry the vast majority of fatal road accidents occur in the Countryside. Look at the stats… I have.
Why not focus the problem where it belongs.... It's a countryside epidemic. Yes we have road accidents in Dublin, we also have over a quarter of the population Breff and yet we have far fewer fatal road accidents. Yes it's due to our roads being of better quality, but surely having poor infrastructure (roads) in the countryside would encourage safe driving rather than this boy racer mentality. Sadly this is not the case... so that's where the problem lies.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 14:41:26
Aye lads stop being so feckin pedantic. Whether the stats say the lads are from Buncrana or Cabra the main point of the thread is that they're shocking statistics and something radical should be done about it.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9997 - 26/05/2010 14:44:13
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 2908
No Breff... they lived in areas of poor infrastructue, that's the important thing here. This is where the issue lies... unresponsible boy racers driving on substandard roads. This problem is far more common in the country side than it is in Dublin.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 14:44:50
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 5596
658555 4 Young Irish Country lads killed on our roads in the last week
What the hell is going on down the country lads....!! We had a Meath Minor Footballer killed last week... which is terrible enough!
But 2 more Young lads were killed in Donegal (A hot spot for young road fatalities) last night and another young lad wiped out when his car went into a tree! I can't remember the exact location. Terrible stuff, a complete waste of lives.
Whatever country boy-racer attitudes you have to driving is shocking to be honest! Flying around little country roads in the wee hours.... even with the joy riding in Dublin we have one of the best road safety stats in Europe. I think some serious investment is needed in schools down the country to try and educate some of these young lads before they get near a car! It's their attitude that is wrong…. And it endangers not only their own lives but puts the lives of innocent people at risk.
Don't get me wrong jimbo, fair play to you for creating the thread and discussing it but its a bit rich saying people are childish for making it a country v dub thing, when the opening post did exactly that
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12490 - 26/05/2010 14:46:06
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 2908
658901 Actually jimbo, this quote gives you away "Whatever country boy-racer attitudes you have to driving is shocking to be honest!" You make valid points and fair play to you but you have a knack of being divisive and unintentionally sounding aloof.
Breff... you're finding an issue where there is none. Unfortunately with this format ie Text on a screen, you can not hear my words or read my body language. If you could you would realise that I am not having some sort of childish pop at country people. If you take something else from my words than that is your problem.
I for one am only basing my comments on the facts of the situation.... There are far more road fatalities in on Country roads, and a higher percentage of these accidents involve young country lads.
Everything else is only an assumption that you have formulated towards me. There's many people agreeing with me Breff from the country side but really it's unfortunate that I have to validate myself on such a topic to be honest from unfounded accusations.
But I'm sure you'll continue on... feel free to do so. I've said all I'm going to say.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/05/2010 14:52:36
True jimbo
I spend a lot of time in Wicklow and the speeds that people fly around the country roads is crazy even at night. I stand at my sister's house on a hill and just watch some of these headbangers roaring away without a care. You haven't a chance if you clip a wall, gatepost, trailer etc at 70/80 etc. It only takes a small glance at those speeds to send a car 20 ft in the air into a tree or field AND there is no doubt that most of these young people are dying in the rural areas.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9838 - 26/05/2010 14:54:10
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 5598
I typed the post in a matter of seconds and posted it. I didn't proof read it... I agree with the "WE" as I have to drive the length and breath of the country with my work.... but I'm sorry the vast majority of fatal road accidents occur in the Countryside. Look at the stats… I have.
Why not focus the problem where it belongs.... It's a countryside epidemic. Yes we have road accidents in Dublin, we also have over a quarter of the population Breff and yet we have far fewer fatal road accidents. Yes it's due to our roads being of better quality, but surely having poor infrastructure (roads) in the countryside would encourage safe driving rather than this boy racer mentality. Sadly this is not the case... so that's where the problem lies.
Lads, apologies for being pedantic and I do not intend to undermine the intentions of the the thread, but jimbo this doesn't make any sense. You are grouping the whole countryside together and then saying that Dublin has over a quarter of the population? then it stands to reason they have less fatal road accident than the area of population that has the remainder.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12490 - 26/05/2010 14:54:27
I thinks it is partially down to the 'hard man' mentality.
An example of this was en route to a match a few years ago, when one of the players was in a passenger in a car which was passing out our bus. One of my teammates observed that he was wearing a seatbelt, in a dismissive tone, while another mused that he was a homosexual for using that safety devise and a few others concurred. I questioned their logic but I then received the same ridicule as the lad in the car!Most of those fells now fit into the 'Boy Racer/ Gormless fool cliché. Many country boy racer types (I have no idea about urban ones) are indeed clowns and a danger to their own and other people's lives.
JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 26/05/2010 15:25:21
The lower fatality to head of population point might have a more practical explanation that townie versus culchie or any variation in attitude, education or responsibility,
1. Many of these accidents happen late at night at weekends - this may just be down to availability of public transport. If you heading for a night out in coppers, Temple bar or wherever bringing the car is not the most practical option
2. Urban v Rural congestion. Clearly many serious accidents are caused by excessive speed. Whether or not I had the desire its not that easy to get my 1.2litre Corsa GTI with stripes up to 95 mph on O Connell Street
Omar.d (Cavan) - Posts: 1141 - 26/05/2010 15:36:17
Something needs to be done about this. I have felt the aftershock of these young people dying personally over the past few days as Liam Tolan was a pupil at my school and it is undescribable how saddened everyone is and it could all have been prevented. RIP lads.
Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 26/05/2010 16:07:29
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 5601 Breff... you're finding an issue where there is none. Unfortunately with this format ie Text on a screen, you can not hear my words or read my body language. If you could you would realise that I am not having some sort of childish pop at country people. If you take something else from my words than that is your problem.
I for one am only basing my comments on the facts of the situation.... There are far more road fatalities in on Country roads, and a higher percentage of these accidents involve young country lads.
Everything else is only an assumption that you have formulated towards me. There's many people agreeing with me Breff from the country side but really it's unfortunate that I have to validate myself on such a topic to be honest from unfounded accusations.
But I'm sure you'll continue on... feel free to do so. I've said all I'm going to say.
Thats disappointing jimbo, especially as you have stubbornly rejected any contributions I have made to this thread. Other posters have picked up on the tone of your post as well, whether we were wrong to or not I dunno, but you rejected it anyway and made some nonsensical population arguments. you are actually twisting facts a little, which I'm surprised at. Anyway we'll forget about it so.
Perhaps in future when creating a thread on something so sensitive, you might pay some attention to the wording of your post.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12490 - 26/05/2010 16:32:09
I'd agree with Breffini. A very important issue that you brought up Jim its just a pity the thread was so poorly executed.
vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 26/05/2010 16:39:13
sorry Jimbo, i didnt mean to help turn this into a childish thread. the thing we will all agree on is that its something that hopefully can be sorted out soon. ill go back to my original post and say a lot of this could be helped by gardai having checkpoints in rural areas.
*On a side note (ignore if your going to lash back calling me childish or something) all these crashes are seperate entities and every person that dies is a seperate person and not all accidents are caused by speeding. These people have mothers, fathers and friends so id ask all to stop branding them clowns. Listen, im not trying to nitpick and cause a fight because i think this is a good thread to set up. I just wish we could remember that these tradgies have upset a lot of people and just be a tad more sensitive to the nature of the thread.
Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 26/05/2010 16:42:47
And Jimbo, i hope you dont take the musings of meself vice and breff the wrong way. just a small bit of positive criticism. you can still call into the village for a Pint whenever you want mate
Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 26/05/2010 16:49:56